Tier 4 - Restrictions.

If there are clubs looking to withdraw, there will still be enough left to keep the leagues going. You've then just got clubs looking to avoid punishment because of withdrawing. Hopefully the EoSFL avoid the same problems the WoSFL created for themselves when deciding the no promotion/relegation issue.
On Saturday we play kello who will need to travel through several Tier 3 and 4 areas to get to Linlithgow.

Even if players are allowed to travel - what about committee, who aren't as essential to a match.

Do they face potential penalties for travelling.

When the decision to start we were heading in the right direction. Now things are regressing and that has to he concerning.

Calling a halt for at least the next month would seem the most pragmatic approach.

19 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Well you've persuaded me. Let's get behind this unifying presence.

There is none - self interest prevails yet again.  Some clubs said they'd last 6-8 weeks without income at the gate, but the majority ignored that plea - a very poor show.

If the professional game continues, as it should do, clubs should have a fair idea if they can carry on financially - without fans, until the end of the season. All clubs at this 'pro' level should be getting tested regularly, with those above, picking up the costs if possible. Interesting times ahead 

4 minutes ago, Auld Heid said:

On Saturday we play kello who will need to travel through several Tier 3 and 4 areas to get to Linlithgow.

Even if players are allowed to travel - what about committee, who aren't as essential to a match.

When the decision to start we were heading in the right direction. Now things are regressing and that has to he concerning.

Calling a halt for at least the next month would seem the most pragmatic approach.

Because of 2 areas being in lockdown. Complete nonsense 

7 minutes ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

One defeat and a draw in last two games. Before that we beat Dunbar whitehill and penicuik so hardly relegation form. It's a tight league

2/3 wins against teams that have already changed manager, woohoo!! 

It should be a tight league its full of professionals!!

2 minutes ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

They could have withdrew. 

From the league?  Not without punishment / relegation - nobody was given that choice.

Instead, everyone must soldier on.  For some, potentially, into the abyss.   

The categorization of football as being 'professional' and 'essential' at this level is laughable.    I'd be surprised if there is a single professional footballer, using the actual dictionary definition of the term (and not simply because somebody gets £50 - £100 a week on a pro contract), in the whole of the East of Scotland League. 

Most likely only T1 and T2 clubs will employ professional sportsman, i.e. where that is their main full-time job and only source of income.  

16 minutes ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

One defeat and a draw in last two games. Before that we beat Dunbar whitehill and penicuik so hardly relegation form. It's a tight league

If Dunbar Whitehill and Penicuik withdrew would you keep yer points? 

Isnt there a clause in the LL where clubs can withdraw from the season ? 

49 minutes ago, Che Dail said:

From the league?  Not without punishment / relegation - nobody was given that choice.

What punishment did Eyemouth United receive for withdrawing from the 2019-20 season? Relegation is fair enough on paper but trying to implement punishes other clubs.

Edited by FairWeatherFan

14 minutes ago, FairWeatherFan said:

What punishment did Eyemouth United receive for withdrawing from the 2019-20 season? Relegation is far enough on paper but trying to implement punishes other clubs.

They started off in the bottom tier, which is where they were before they quit (on minus 3 points) and presumably this is what would happen to any club deciding to withdraw now, albeit in quite difference circumstances. 

This season it could have been the actual bottom tier along with new entrant clubs and I don't think anyone could have had cause for complaint if that was the case.  But instead the majority voted to have another bash at a further season of conferences, effectively scratching the previous season entirely.

The clubs being punished now by forcing them to play without normal revenue streams (eg the better supported Premier league sides) are the ones who operate as businesses.  They rely on income, and this is an entirely reasonable and normal expectation for anyone wanting to operate a business, or at least one that is sustainable.

It is these clubs that the rest of the members owe their collective status as 'professional' -  shoogly definition or not.  It would  be a travesty if any club was relegated to the bottom tier, alongside the aforementioned Eyemouth, for example, as a consequence of having to withdraw now.

38 minutes ago, Redondo said:

Majority of Clubs at that level are barely even able to cover expenses the now. 

Theyve bluffed there way into being able to continue to play. Theres no way they should be allowed to continue under the tier 4 restrictions.

So you want to cancel the season for 4 clubs 

46 minutes ago, newcastle broon said:

If Dunbar Whitehill and Penicuik withdrew would you keep yer points? 

Isnt there a clause in the LL where clubs can withdraw from the season ? 

All 3 of those clubs are in tier 2. But anyway if we lost the points so would the teams that have already played them aswell.

1 hour ago, Auld Heid said:

Everyone and their granny knew there would be a regression in the winter, so nothing has changed from when clubs voted in the first place. You are a record which keeps on sticking to the one line, so are you not getting your r mixed up with repetitive rut?? 

Pish.

Nobody was forecasting we would be regressing to a virtual lockdown situation.

Most clubs were looking towards some sort of return of supporters and that's not happened.