The Official Farewell to President Donald J Trump Thread

NotThePars

Love the star spangled banner, the story behind it is pretty cool too. It takes a great singer to do it justice, the fergie attempt at the nba all star was amazing haha. I think its indicative of America as a country when someone tries to do the showy versions with vocal gymnastics. Easily the best version I ever heard was just some plain old cowboy hat wearing guy at a baseball game in Nashville, no gymnastics, heartfelt and good pipes. 

10 hours ago, Baxter Parp said:

He's a tremendously disappointing person in so many ways.

Grammer is one of the few celebrity Trump supporters I tend to give a bit of slack to. The boy has had a genuinely horrific life: his father was murdered in a home invasion, his sister raped and brutally murdered by a spree killer, and his brothers both killed in a diving accident. I can understand how he might develop into a pretty far-right hypocrite. However, what baffles me is his willingness and ability to play liberal, left-wing characters like Frasier Crane so sympathetically, and to appear in shows (early Simpsons) which ridiculed republicans and conservative values pretty heavily.

Incidentally, a few of the Cheers cast seem to have become extremist Trumpists (the sad mess that was Kirstie Alley, Grammer, and - really disappointingly - John Ratzenberger). Makes you appreciate Ted Danson, George Wendt, and Shelley Long even more. Former Cheers writer Ken Levine is a vocal anti-Trumpist and has pretty much skewered all those who came out in favour of him on his blog - repeatedly.

C7F821FD-8E69-41EE-96DB-9C3ADAE43F15.jpeg

11 hours ago, Antlion said:

Grammer is one of the few celebrity Trump supporters I tend to give a bit of slack to. The boy has had a genuinely horrific life: his father was murdered in a home invasion, his sister raped and brutally murdered by a spree killer, and his brothers both killed in a diving accident. I can understand how he might develop into a pretty far-right hypocrite. However, what baffles me is his willingness and ability to play liberal, left-wing characters like Frasier Crane so sympathetically, and to appear in shows (early Simpsons) which ridiculed republicans and conservative values pretty heavily.

Incidentally, a few of the Cheers cast seem to have become extremist Trumpists (the sad mess that was Kirstie Alley, Grammer, and - really disappointingly - John Ratzenberger). Makes you appreciate Ted Danson, George Wendt, and Shelley Long even more. Former Cheers writer Ken Levine is a vocal anti-Trumpist and has pretty much skewered all those who came out in favour of him on his blog - repeatedly.

Trump wasn't a politician? He was the fucking president. I assume she is still a rampant alcoholic.

This post does however bring back happy memories of Shelley Long in the early 1980s. 

6 minutes ago, Day of the Lords said:

Trump wasn't a politician? He was the fucking president. I assume she is still a rampant alcoholic.

This post does however bring back happy memories of Shelley Long in the early 1980s. 

There are so many of his supporters that say that, though. I know nobody likes politicians, but nobody likes dentists either, and you wouldn't let some toothless auld jake loose on your mouth with a drill just because he'd never been near a toothbrush in his puff.

I think it comes down to, "he's such an ignorant p***k that he makes me feel smart by comparison".

Look. He wasn't a politician when he ran. And people would do well to remember that. ESPECIALLY those who are most against Trump. Because to forget that is to potentially underestimate the next uppity TV personality that can eat into the hatred of a huge part of the population of the USA.

12 hours ago, Antlion said:

Also Woody Harrelson's dad killed JFK so there's that too

14 hours ago, Andre Drazen said:

Look. He wasn't a politician when he ran. And people would do well to remember that. ESPECIALLY those who are most against Trump. Because to forget that is to potentially underestimate the next uppity TV personality that can eat into the hatred of a huge part of the population of the USA.

Aye, folk say that a lot too, but I haven't seen anyone explain how you combat somebody whose big ideas are getting rid of the Muslims and Mexicans when a substantial number of the populace vote for that and say "aye, but what about the paedovampires?"

4 minutes ago, BFTD said:

Aye, folk say that a lot too, but I haven't seen anyone explain how you combat somebody whose big ideas are getting rid of the Muslims and Mexicans when a substantial number of the populace vote for that and say "aye, but what about the paedovampires?"

That's true, and the horse has bolted in that respect. But such a candidate can still be beaten at the polls. It's when people get complacent and simply think "LOL" about a candidate that things can get even more dangerous.

Just now, Andre Drazen said:

That's true, and the horse has bolted in that respect. But such a candidate can still be beaten at the polls. It's when people get complacent and simply think "LOL" about a candidate that things can get even more dangerous.

Yeah, there are some cracking YouTube compilations of people soiling their knickers with laughter at the notion of Trump becoming president. Even after it became clear that he was going to be the Republican candidate. To be fair, the only reason it isn't as funny now is that we've just had four years of the reality.

Not sure what they could have done in 2016, though. It's not like his opponents literally stood back and gave him a free run. America just has some fundamental societal problems that they've been incubating for a good long while. It's fertile ground for fascism, and the Year Zero style distrust of intellectuals has been building for a while now. I don't think that's fundamentally going to change, as there's no appetite for the introspection required to admit that maybe they don't do everything best.

3 hours ago, BFTD said:

Not sure what they could have done in 2016, though

I already alluded to her a few days ago but Donna Brazile's book on it is hilarious. She obviously shifts hunners of the blame but even inside the campaign there was some feeling that they'd picked a shitty candidate and that Robbie Mook's algorithmic campaigning meant they'd ignored key swing states which eventually went for Trump. 

Of course they also blame Sanders for even having the temerity to run against Hillary and ignore the tons of campaigning he did for her.

1 minute ago, NotThePars said:

I already alluded to her a few days ago but Donna Brazile's book on it is hilarious. She obviously shifts hunners of the blame but even inside the campaign there was some feeling that they'd picked a shitty candidate and that Robbie Mook's algorithmic campaigning meant they'd ignored key swing states which eventually went for Trump. 

Of course they also blame Sanders for even having the temerity to run against Hillary and ignore the tons of campaigning he did for her.

The worry is that it was always close, even if they'd picked a candidate with less baggage, without the air of a predetermined coronation. There are just so many people who not only voted for the man, but who love him like a God, in the same way that they worship people like Lincoln and Jefferson. You literally can't argue with people who think like that.

They don't deserve Bernie, and would never have voted for him. He's be too radical for any of the Westminster parties too, but maybe we could persuade him to retire to Scotland? I hear Vermont's a freezing shithole too  :P

2 minutes ago, BFTD said:

The worry is that it was always close, even if they'd picked a candidate with less baggage, without the air of a predetermined coronation. There are just so many people who not only voted for the man, but who love him like a God, in the same way that they worship people like Lincoln and Jefferson. You literally can't argue with people who think like that.

They don't deserve Bernie, and would never have voted for him. He's be too radical for any of the Westminster parties too, but maybe we could persuade him to retire to Scotland? I hear Vermont's a freezing shithole too  :P

I think he would've had a great chance of winning in 2016. It's important both not to underestimate how many people wanted change but conversely that Hillary still should've won but lost specific swing states that activists were stopped from travelling to!

I'm blaming and not blaming Hilldog here. Brazile specifically pointed the finger at Robbie Mook IIRC. She claimed that when the polls said it was locked they said "that's a wrap" and stopped campaigning whereas she apparently wanted to keep going. Always the benefit of hindsight ofc but it was brought up loads after the surprise loss.

Edited by NotThePars

7 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

I think he would've had a great chance of winning in 2016. It's important both not to underestimate how many people wanted change but conversely that Hillary still should've won but lost specific swing states that activists were stopped from travelling to!

I'm blaming and not blaming Hilldog here. Brazile specifically pointed the finger at Robbie Mook IIRC. She claimed that when the polls said it was locked they said "that's a wrap" and stopped campaigning whereas she apparently wanted to keep going. Always the benefit of hindsight ofc but it was brought up loads after the surprise loss.

Yes, I know, folk keep saying that too. Bear in mind that Trump just ran a fairly close election by starting a mantra that Joe Biden - Joe Biden - is an evil socialist. I don't think folk quite get the idea of how alien and hated "socialism" is with a large percentage of the American populace. And I put it in quotation marks, because most of them have no idea what it is, or that they already benefit from it in some ways, just like they'd no idea what Communism was. They just know it's literally evil, foreign and, worst of all, un-American.

There's obviously no way to say for sure, but not enough Democrats voted to make him their candidate, and he'd have been reliant on the youth vote to overthrow the Boomers, which is never a position you want to be in. I know there were a number of polls that made him the most popular of the Democratic candidates, but I'm also pretty sure that a number of the folk who participated would also have pretended to be shocked when he lost, because they absolutely voted for him, you betcha.

4 hours ago, BFTD said:

Yes, I know, folk keep saying that too. Bear in mind that Trump just ran a fairly close election by starting a mantra that Joe Biden - Joe Biden - is an evil socialist. I don't think folk quite get the idea of how alien and hated "socialism" is with a large percentage of the American populace. And I put it in quotation marks, because most of them have no idea what it is, or that they already benefit from it in some ways, just like they'd no idea what Communism was. They just know it's literally evil, foreign and, worst of all, un-American.

There's obviously no way to say for sure, but not enough Democrats voted to make him their candidate, and he'd have been reliant on the youth vote to overthrow the Boomers, which is never a position you want to be in. I know there were a number of polls that made him the most popular of the Democratic candidates, but I'm also pretty sure that a number of the folk who participated would also have pretended to be shocked when he lost, because they absolutely voted for him, you betcha.

I don't really buy into this "America will never vote for a socialist!!!!" stuff it feels like a massive copout for Dems and their supporters to offer f**k all to people. Sanders is personally popular and progressive measures that appear on the ballot have appeared to do quite well (California/ Night City withstanding). Even in Florida where the former plantation owner community allegedly swung it for Trump they voted to raise the minimum wage to $15. Fox News was polling on election night that a majority of Americans supported a government run healthcare plan that anyone can buy into. Again, people will argue the phrasing but I think it's important to note that people actually, if you have some fucking faith, might actually support some Good Shit.

It's too easy to be a doomer about this and after 2019 I've all but given up that we can do it but my pessimism isn't aimed at people (even if millions will vote for awful politicians and policies) but more that the supposed good guys and the institutions of our countries generally are just so heavily geared towards making people's lives get steadily worse. 

No doubt I'll end up as The Joker anyway.