Scotsport and Sportscene memories

7 minutes ago, kingjoey said:

Talking about blood and snotters, I only made it to Boghead twice, in 1972 and 1974. On my first visit, on the way back to the station after the match, one of the guys I was with got a punch in the face from a Dumbarton fan, and in the depths of my memory it was on a wee bridge in a public park not far after leaving the ground. I could be totally mistaken about that though.

Possibly on the way to the train station you cross 'dumbarton common', playing fields before reaching and going under the railway bridge.

There was also a burn that ran around 1 side of Boghead, with little bridges on the pavements.

*apologies for the behaviour of the unruly Sons fan 😀

1 minute ago, Arch Stanton said:

Oh dear, only 1 minute in and the Hearts fans are up to their knees in F****n blood.

And in the Hearts/Dundee match in the original post, after Gordon Strachan’s goal, the few Dundee fans that are in Tynecastle are going to get their f*ck*ng heads kicked in.

2 minutes ago, Silverton End said:

Possibly on the way to the train station you cross 'dumbarton common', playing fields before reaching and going under the railway bridge.

There was also a burn that ran around 1 side of Boghead, with little bridges on the pavements.

I appreciate that. 👍

Watching that Dumbarton v Hearts match from the 80's, you tube had this classic in the wee videos alongside

Part-time Saints in the bottom division ragdolling European regulars Aberdeen at Muirton Park only to lose to a late sucker punch.  Classic blood and snotters cup tie with some old favourites to accompany the action

"Charlie Nicholas you're a w****r, you're a w****r" "Miller, Miller shut yer pus" and "you wot, you wot, you wot you wot you wot"

Willie Miller being pushed flat onto his back on the track by Doug Barron in the second half...

Magnificent stuff.

1 hour ago, Silverton End said:

Good 1.0 win tonight.

Here is the list of matches covered in season 1975/76. Sportsreel became Sportscene this season:

SCOTSPORT

16/08/1975   AYR UNITED 1 DUNDEE 1(LC)

23/08/1975   MOTHERWELL 2 RANGERS 2 (LC)

30/08/1975   HIBS 1 HEARTS 0

06/09/1975   CELTIC 4 DUNDEE 0

10/09/1975   RANGERS 1 QOTS 0 (LC)

13/09/1975   RANGERS 2 ST JOHNSTONE 0

20/09/1975   HEARTS 2 ABERDEEN 2

27/09/1975   CELTIC 2 DUNDEE UNITED 1

04/10/1975   HIBS 1 DUNDEE 1

11/10/1975   ABERDEEN 1 CELTIC 2 B&W

18/10/1975   MOTHERWELL 2 RANGERS 1

25/10/1975   RANGERS 1 CELTIC 0 (LCF)

01/11/1975   CELTIC 1 RANGERS 1

05/11/1975   CELTIC 3 BOAVISTA 1(CWC)

08/11/1975   HIBS 1 DUNDEE UNITED 1

12/11/1975   RANGERS 4 DUNDEE UNITED 1

15/11/1975   HEARTS 1 DUNDEE 1

22/11/1975   MOTHERWELL 2 DUNDEE UNITED 1 

29/11/1975   AYR UNITED 1 ABERDEEN 0 

06/12/1975   HEARTS 0 CELTIC 1

13/12/1975   CELTIC 0 ABERDEEN 2

20/12/1975   RANGERS 3 MOTHERWELL 2

27/12/1975   HEARTS 2 ST JOHNSTONE 0 

03/01/1976   ABERDEEN 0 MOTHERWELL 0

10/01/1976   RANGERS 4 ST JOHNSTONE 0

17/01/1976   HEARTS 3 ABERDEEN 3

24/01/1976   RANGERS 3 EAST FIFE 0 (SC)

31/01/1976   ABERDEEN 2 AYR UNITED 1 PLUS MOTHERWELL 2 HEARTS 0 (Sunday Mail)  Aberdeen Evening Express states just Dons V Ayr

07/02/1976   CELTIC 2 HEARTS 0

14/02/1976   RANGERS 4 ABERDEEN 1 (SC) 

21/02/1976   AYR UNITED 0 RANGERS 1

28/02/1976   MOTHERWELL 0 RANGERS 1

06/03/1976   DUMBARTON 2 KILMARNOCK 1(SC)

13/03/1976   ABERDEEN 0 DUNDEE 1 (Aberdeen Evening Express) NO TELEVISED SCOTTISH GAMES (Sunday Mail)

20/03/1976   HIBS 0 DUNDEE UNITED 1

27/03/1976   HEARTS 3 DUNDEE 0 

03/04/1976   HIBS 0 RANGERS 3

10/04/1976   DUNDEE UNITED 3 CELTIC 2

17/04/1976   HIBS 2 MOTHERWELL 0 

24/04/1976   BONESS 3 DARVEL 0 (JCF)

01/05/1976   RANGERS 3 HEARTS 1(SCF)

SPORTSCENE

09/08/1975  CELTIC 1 ABERDEEN 0 (LC)

16/08/1975  RANGERS 1 MOTHERWELL 1 (LC)

23/08/1975  HEARTS 1 ABERDEEN 0 (LC)

30/08/1975  RANGERS 1 CELTIC 0

06/09/1975  DUNDEE UNITED 1 HIBS 0

13/09/1975  DUNDEE 2 HEARTS 3

17/09/1975  HIBS 1 LIVERPOOL 0 (UEFA)

20/09/1975  RANGERS 1 HIBS 1

27/09/1975  MOTHERWELL 1 HEARTS 1

04/10/1975  CELTIC 3 HEARTS 1

11/10/1975  AYR UNITED 3 RANGERS 0

18/10/1975  CELTIC 0 HIBS 2 (MATCH ABANDONED DUE TO FOG)

25/10/1975  RANGERS 1 CELTIC 0(LCF)

01/11/1975  HEARTS 1 HIBS 1*

08/11/1975  MOTHERWELL 3 ABERDEEN 0

15/11/1975  CELTIC 0 MOTHERWELL 2

22/11/1975  HIBS 2 RANGERS 1

29/11/1975  DUNDEE UNITED 1 CELTIC 3

06/12/1975  ABERDEEN 1 RANGERS 0

13/12/1975  HIBS 1 MOTHERWELL 0

20/12/1975  HIBS 1 CELTIC 3

27/12/1975  MOTHERWELL 3 DUNDEE 2

01/01/1976  RANGERS 1 CELTIC 0

03/01/1976  HEARTS 1 RANGERS 2

10/01/1976  MOTHERWELL 1 CELTIC 3

17/01/1976  RANGERS 2 HIBS 0

24/01/1976  MOTHERWELL 3 CELTIC 2 (SC)

31/01/1976  DUNDEE 1 RANGERS 1

07/02/1976  HIBS 4 DUNDEE 0

14/02/1976  RANGERS 4 ABERDEEN 1* (SC) ALSO COVERED BY SCOTSPORT

21/02/1976  MOTHERWELL 0 HIBS 1

28/02/1976  CELTIC 4 HIBS 0

06/03/1976  MOTHERWELL 2 HIBS 2 (SC)

13/03/1976  HEARTS 0 HIBS 1

20/03/1976  RANGERS 3 HEARTS 1

27/03/1976  CELTIC 4 MOTHERWELL 1

31/03/1976  RANGERS 3 MOTHERWELL 2(SCSF)

03/04/1976  HEARTS 0 DUMBARTON 0 (SCSF)

10/04/1976  RANGERS 3 DUNDEE 0

17/04/1976  CELTIC 1 ABERDEEN 1

24/04/1976  DUNDEE UNITED 0 RANGERS 1

01/05/1976  RANGERS 3 HEARTS 1(SCF)

45 minutes ago, PauloPerth said:

Watching that Dumbarton v Hearts match from the 80's, you tube had this classic in the wee videos alongside

Part-time Saints in the bottom division ragdolling European regulars Aberdeen at Muirton Park only to lose to a late sucker punch.  Classic blood and snotters cup tie with some old favourites to accompany the action

"Charlie Nicholas you're a w****r, you're a w****r" "Miller, Miller shut yer pus" and "you wot, you wot, you wot you wot you wot"

Willie Miller being pushed flat onto his back on the track by Doug Barron in the second half...

Magnificent stuff.

Remember this well. The ASC at their peak, had around 900 of them running at us up the dunkeld road. Their buses were up at the Grammar and it felt like they kicked us all the way there.

1 hour ago, PauloPerth said:

Magnificent stuff.

It  was magnificent stuff. The epitome of a pitch being a leveller. 

In the 70s and 80s the BBC and STV used to avoid coming to Love St unless it was absolutely necessary because they hated the low camera gantry on the old Main Stand. While we very rarely won in Glasgow, we beat both halves of the b(h)igot brothers in Paisley on a regular basis and it always seemed to be when the cameras were absent.

By the time we installed the gantry in the North Bank it was the 90s and we were shite and lost to everybody, televised or not.

3 hours ago, kingjoey said:

Brilliant! And the Subway Loyal seem to have left even before the match started. What year was this?

God I remember that episode of Scotsport. I vaguely recall it was a big deal cos Celtic lost that day as well? Might just be my faulty memory though. There was a lot of stuff about Andy Penman after it as well. Think he was ex-Rangers.

My first game of football on a colour tv was England v Scotland at a neighbours house in 1973. I

50 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:

Classic on so many counts not least "bring on the dancing girls" at 4.46, a goal from Scotland manager Steve Clarke oh and the real reason the Watery Farts fucked up the league. Pity it's only the second half !

Definitely the real reason that Hearts fans are so pissed off at St Mirren that season.

Never ceases to amaze me how this thrashing is totally erased from their memory. Hearts lost the league by three goals yet it's never this thrashing they cast their minds back to.

Think we had done them 5V2 the end if the season before too.

1 hour ago, Woof Stramash said:

Here is the list of matches covered in season 1975/76. Sportsreel became Sportscene this season:

SCOTSPORT

16/08/1975   AYR UNITED 1 DUNDEE 1(LC)

23/08/1975   MOTHERWELL 2 RANGERS 2 (LC)

30/08/1975   HIBS 1 HEARTS 0

06/09/1975   CELTIC 4 DUNDEE 0

10/09/1975   RANGERS 1 QOTS 0 (LC)

13/09/1975   RANGERS 2 ST JOHNSTONE 0

20/09/1975   HEARTS 2 ABERDEEN 2

27/09/1975   CELTIC 2 DUNDEE UNITED 1

04/10/1975   HIBS 1 DUNDEE 1

11/10/1975   ABERDEEN 1 CELTIC 2 B&W

18/10/1975   MOTHERWELL 2 RANGERS 1

25/10/1975   RANGERS 1 CELTIC 0 (LCF)

01/11/1975   CELTIC 1 RANGERS 1

05/11/1975   CELTIC 3 BOAVISTA 1(CWC)

08/11/1975   HIBS 1 DUNDEE UNITED 1

12/11/1975   RANGERS 4 DUNDEE UNITED 1

15/11/1975   HEARTS 1 DUNDEE 1

22/11/1975   MOTHERWELL 2 DUNDEE UNITED 1 

29/11/1975   AYR UNITED 1 ABERDEEN 0 

06/12/1975   HEARTS 0 CELTIC 1

13/12/1975   CELTIC 0 ABERDEEN 2

20/12/1975   RANGERS 3 MOTHERWELL 2

27/12/1975   HEARTS 2 ST JOHNSTONE 0 

03/01/1976   ABERDEEN 0 MOTHERWELL 0

10/01/1976   RANGERS 4 ST JOHNSTONE 0

17/01/1976   HEARTS 3 ABERDEEN 3

24/01/1976   RANGERS 3 EAST FIFE 0 (SC)

31/01/1976   ABERDEEN 2 AYR UNITED 1 PLUS MOTHERWELL 2 HEARTS 0 (Sunday Mail)  Aberdeen Evening Express states just Dons V Ayr

07/02/1976   CELTIC 2 HEARTS 0

14/02/1976   RANGERS 4 ABERDEEN 1 (SC) 

21/02/1976   AYR UNITED 0 RANGERS 1

28/02/1976   MOTHERWELL 0 RANGERS 1

06/03/1976   DUMBARTON 2 KILMARNOCK 1(SC)

13/03/1976   ABERDEEN 0 DUNDEE 1 (Aberdeen Evening Express) NO TELEVISED SCOTTISH GAMES (Sunday Mail)

20/03/1976   HIBS 0 DUNDEE UNITED 1

27/03/1976   HEARTS 3 DUNDEE 0 

03/04/1976   HIBS 0 RANGERS 3

10/04/1976   DUNDEE UNITED 3 CELTIC 2

17/04/1976   HIBS 2 MOTHERWELL 0 

24/04/1976   BONESS 3 DARVEL 0 (JCF)

01/05/1976   RANGERS 3 HEARTS 1(SCF)

SPORTSCENE

09/08/1975  CELTIC 1 ABERDEEN 0 (LC)

16/08/1975  RANGERS 1 MOTHERWELL 1 (LC)

23/08/1975  HEARTS 1 ABERDEEN 0 (LC)

30/08/1975  RANGERS 1 CELTIC 0

06/09/1975  DUNDEE UNITED 1 HIBS 0

13/09/1975  DUNDEE 2 HEARTS 3

17/09/1975  HIBS 1 LIVERPOOL 0 (UEFA)

20/09/1975  RANGERS 1 HIBS 1

27/09/1975  MOTHERWELL 1 HEARTS 1

04/10/1975  CELTIC 3 HEARTS 1

11/10/1975  AYR UNITED 3 RANGERS 0

18/10/1975  CELTIC 0 HIBS 2 (MATCH ABANDONED DUE TO FOG)

25/10/1975  RANGERS 1 CELTIC 0(LCF)

01/11/1975  HEARTS 1 HIBS 1*

08/11/1975  MOTHERWELL 3 ABERDEEN 0

15/11/1975  CELTIC 0 MOTHERWELL 2

22/11/1975  HIBS 2 RANGERS 1

29/11/1975  DUNDEE UNITED 1 CELTIC 3

06/12/1975  ABERDEEN 1 RANGERS 0

13/12/1975  HIBS 1 MOTHERWELL 0

20/12/1975  HIBS 1 CELTIC 3

27/12/1975  MOTHERWELL 3 DUNDEE 2

01/01/1976  RANGERS 1 CELTIC 0

03/01/1976  HEARTS 1 RANGERS 2

10/01/1976  MOTHERWELL 1 CELTIC 3

17/01/1976  RANGERS 2 HIBS 0

24/01/1976  MOTHERWELL 3 CELTIC 2 (SC)

31/01/1976  DUNDEE 1 RANGERS 1

07/02/1976  HIBS 4 DUNDEE 0

14/02/1976  RANGERS 4 ABERDEEN 1* (SC) ALSO COVERED BY SCOTSPORT

21/02/1976  MOTHERWELL 0 HIBS 1

28/02/1976  CELTIC 4 HIBS 0

06/03/1976  MOTHERWELL 2 HIBS 2 (SC)

13/03/1976  HEARTS 0 HIBS 1

20/03/1976  RANGERS 3 HEARTS 1

27/03/1976  CELTIC 4 MOTHERWELL 1

31/03/1976  RANGERS 3 MOTHERWELL 2(SCSF)

03/04/1976  HEARTS 0 DUMBARTON 0 (SCSF)

10/04/1976  RANGERS 3 DUNDEE 0

17/04/1976  CELTIC 1 ABERDEEN 1

24/04/1976  DUNDEE UNITED 0 RANGERS 1

01/05/1976  RANGERS 3 HEARTS 1(SCF)

Motherwell getting good coverage back in the day

28 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:

Never ceases to amaze me how this thrashing is totally erased from their memory. Hearts lost the league by three goals yet it's never this thrashing they cast their minds back to.

Think we had done them 5V2 the end if the season before too.

It was the season before, although in terms of games played it was the last home league game before the 6-2. Cock Brown even comments during the 6-2 game "that it was a ,long time since the Hearts faithful had seen such a heavy defeat", the ill researched bawbag.. It was MacAvennie's last game for us 1st time around.  We qualified for the UEFA Cup.

It was also the day of the Bradford Fire.

Edited by Arch Stanton