Scotsport and Sportscene memories

20 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

St Mirren had just won the league so cameras turned up to see what the top league would be getting. If I remember rightly Mark Cowan's goal, Airdrie's second, was 3rd in goal of the season.

I presume that was Jim Black scoring one of his few goals for Airdrie after returning from Hibs. I think in his first spell he only scored in a pre season friendly. Great to see football on a grass pitch in April ( would be good to see any just now mind you)  and Mark Cowan could be spectacular as here.

18 hours ago, Lurkst said:

Reminds me of my 40th birthday about a decade ago, my Honest Man boss 

the four words “my honest man boss” were so difficult to read (and I’m sure writing them you must’ve had doubts) that I couldn’t actually carry on reading the rest of your post.

1 hour ago, Lurkst said:

Arthur commentating on the 1985-86 Rangers v Hibs League Cup semi.

Presumably Jock Brown was at the other semi the same night.

I think this might have been the last ever Montford commentary?

Classic Super Cooper goal at 8:30 anyway.

I was there.

23 hours ago, kingjoey said:

Talking about blood and snotters, I only made it to Boghead twice, in 1972 and 1974. On my first visit, on the way back to the station after the match, one of the guys I was with got a punch in the face from a Dumbarton fan, and in the depths of my memory it was on a wee bridge in a public park not far after leaving the ground. I could be totally mistaken about that though.

That took me back so it did.

I was in Boghead around the same time, young, daft and absolutely blootered.

I walked through the home fans shouting obscenities and got a dull one on the coupon.

I remember stopping and staring at my assailant, totally stunned that someone would actually punch me as I thought I was untouchable.

Taught me a big lesson as I realised afterwards with a hangover and a sore face that it could have been much worse.

Those pesky Dumbarton fans eh? 

2 hours ago, Lurkst said:

Interesting, never seen this before. Did The Big Match in England feature a Scottish game too at the time?

At least 14 Scottish games were shown during the Big Match era(1968-83). Most involved the Old Firm but a 2-2 draw between Morton and Partick Thistle at Cappielow was featured in February 1979 only because just 5 fixtures survived the weather that day in England.

1976/77 season. Note that several league games were shown by both channels this season:

SCOTSPORT

14/08/1976   HEARTS 2 DUNDEE 0 LC

21/08/1976   KILMARNOCK 1 ST MIRREN 1 LC

28/08/1976   MONTROSE 0 RANGERS 3 LC

04/09/1976   HIBS 1 DUNDEE UNITED 2

11/09/1976   AYR UNITED 0 ABERDEEN 5

18/09/1976   ABERDEEN 2 KILMARNOCK 0

25/09/1976   RANGERS 4 HEARTS 2

02/10/1976   AYR UNITED 1 RANGERS 1

09/10/1976   ONLY 1 TOP FLIGHT GAME(COVERED BY SPORTSCENE)-Showed Notts Forest 6 Sheffield United 2(sunday mail) BORO V NORWICH (ABERDEEN EVENING EXPRESS)

16/10/1976   ST JOHNSTONE 1 DUMBARTON 2 (POSSIBLY PLANNED TO DUNDEE UNITED V KILMARNOCK WHICH WAS POSTPONED) Showed Liverpool 3 Everton 1 (Sunday Post)

23/10/1976   MOTHERWELL 3 RANGERS 1

30/10/1976   CELTIC 2 MOTHERWELL 1

06/11/1976   ABERDEEN 2 CELTIC 1(LCF)

13/11/1976   ST MIRREN 2 FALKIRK 0

20/11/1976   RANGERS 1 HIBS 1

27/11/1976   HEARTS 0 RANGERS 1

04/12/1976   ALL TOP FLIGHT GAMES POSTPONED.SHOWED ENGLISH GAME

11/12/1976   AYR UNITED 0 HEARTS 1

18/12/1976   KILMARNOCK 1 DUNDEE UNITED 0

27/12/1976   “MATCH REPORT” SHOWN THIS EVENING-KILMARNOCK 0 PARTICK THISTLE 0?

03/01/1977   ?

08/01/1977   AYR UNITED 0 ABERDEEN 0

15/01/1977   ALL TOP TWO DIVISIONS MATCHES POSTPONED-Showed Ipswich 2 Everton 0

22/01/1977   RANGERS 3 HEARTS 2

29/01/1977   ST MIRREN 4 DUNDEE UNITED 1(SC)

05/02/1977   CELTIC 4 HIBS 2 ALSO COVERED BY SPORTSCENE 

12/02/1977   RANGERS 2 DUNDEE UNITED 3 ALSO COVERED BY SPORTSCENE 

19/02/1977   AYR UNITED 2 CELTIC 4

26/02/1977   HEARTS 1 CLYDEBANK 0 (SC)

05/03/1977   ST MIRREN 3 CLYDEBANK 1

12/03/1977   ARBROATH 1 DUNDEE 3(SC)

19/03/1977   RANGERS 2 CELTIC 2   ALSO COVERED BY SPORTSCENE

26/03/1977   CELTIC 2 DUNDEE UNITED 0  ALSO COVERED BY SPORTSCENE

30/03/1977   RANGERS 2 HEARTS 0 (SCSF)

02/04/1977   MOTHERWELL 1 PARTICK THISTLE 1

09/04/1977   HEARTS 1 RANGERS 3 ALSO COVERED BY SPORTSCENE

16/04/1977   ABERDEEN 0 PARTICK THISTLE 2

23/04/1977   MOTHERWELL 1 ABERDEEN 3

30/04/1977   ABERDEEN 2 RANGERS 1

07/05/1977   CELTIC 1 RANGERS 0 (SCF)

SPORTSCENE

14/08/1976  MOTHERWELL 1 PARTICK THISTLE 1 (LC)

21/08/1976  HEARTS 2 MOTHERWELL 1 (LC)

28/08/1976  AYR UNITED 1 ABERDEEN 1 (LC)

04/09/1976  CELTIC 2 RANGERS 2

11/09/1976  HEARTS 0 PARTICK THISTLE 0

15/09/1976  RANGERS 1 FC ZURICH 1*(EC)

18/09/1976  HIBS 1 RANGERS 1

25/09/1976  DUNDEE UNITED 2 PARTICK THISTLE 1

29/09/1976  HEARTS 5 LOKOMOTIV LEIPZIG 1(CWC)-ALAN WEEKS COMMENTARY

02/10/1976  CELTIC 1 HIBS 1

09/10/1976  HEARTS 2 AYR UNITED 2

16/10/1976  RANGERS 1 ABERDEEN 0 

23/10/1976  ABERDEEN 2 CELTIC 1

27/10/1976  ABERDEEN 5 RANGERS 1 (LCSF)

30/10/1976  HIBS 1 HEARTS 1

06/11/1976  CELTIC 1 ABERDEEN 2(LCF)

13/11/1976  KILMARNOCK 0 RANGERS 4

20/11/1976  HEARTS 3 CELTIC 4

24/11/1976  RANGERS 0 CELTIC 1

27/11/1976  ABERDEEN 1 HIBS 0

04/12/1976  SHOWED ENGLISH GAME. ALL TOP FLIGHT MATCHES IN SCOTLAND POSTPONED

11/12/1976  ONLY 3 GAMES PLAYED IN SCOTLAND-SCOTSPORT COVERED ONLY TOP FLIGHT GAME PLAYED

18/12/1976  CELTIC 3 AYR UNITED 0

25/12/1976  NO PROGRAMME 

03/01/1977  KILMARNOCK 2 MOTHERWELL 2

08/01/1977  DUNDEE UNITED 1 CELTIC 2

15/01/1977  ALL MATCHES IN THE TOP 2 DIVISIONS IN SCOTLAND POSTPONED-SHOWED ENGLISH GAME

22/01/1977  HIBS 0 ABERDEEN 0

29/01/1977  MOTHERWELL 3 KILMARNOCK 0 (SC)

05/02/1977  CELTIC 4 HIBS 2 (ALSO COVERED BY SCOTSPORT)

12/02/1977  RANGERS 2 DUNDEE UNITED 3 (ALSO COVERED BY SCOTSPORT)

19/02/1977  RANGERS 1 ABERDEEN 0

26/02/1977  MOTHERWELL 2 ST MIRREN 1 (SC)

05/03/1977  ABERDEEN 2 CELTIC 0

12/03/1977  RANGERS 2 MOTHERWELL 0(SC)

19/03/1977  RANGERS 2 CELTIC 2 (ALSO COVERED BY SCOTSPORT)

26/03/1977  CELTIC 2 DUNDEE UNITED 0 (ALSO COVERED BY SCOTSPORT)

02/04/1977  HEARTS 0 CELTIC 3

06/04/1977  CELTIC 2 DUNDEE 0 (SCSF)

09/04/1977  HEARTS 1 RANGERS 3 (ALSO COVERED BY SCOTSPORT)

16/04/1977  RANGERS 5 AYR UNITED 1

23/04/1977  AIRDRIE 2 ST MIRREN 2

30/04/1977  CELTIC 2 AYR UNITED 0

07/05/1977  CELTIC 1 RANGERS 0 (SCF) LIVE COVERAGE 

Of course you'll all know that 25.12.76, Clydebank 2 St Mirren 2 was the last game played on Christmas day. My old boss never tired of telling me he was at it.

Eta, I distinctly remembered my Dad sloping us on Christmas day to go to a game, my research tells me it was 25.12.71, Airdrie 1 Clyde 1. I obviously didn't fancy it as I can remember being at plenty of games that season.

Edited by Sergeant Wilson

24 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Of course you'll all know that 25.12.76, Clydebank 2 St Mirren 2 was the last game played on Christmas day. My old boss never tired of telling me he was at it.

Eta, I distinctly remembered my Dad sloping us on Christmas day to go to a game, my research tells me it was 25.12.71, Airdrie 1 Clyde 1. I obviously didn't fancy it as I can remember being at plenty of games that season.

I never knew that and it's a pleasure to get your info.  It was a long time ago but I suspect we were at the game and the luxury Chicken ( No Turkey then) waited for us in Gartlea.  Am I correct in thinking that New Years day games were common-vaguely recollect a half bottle in my pocket ( Ah the good old days) 

6 hours ago, Lurkst said:

Arthur commentating on the 1985-86 Rangers v Hibs League Cup semi.

Presumably Jock Brown was at the other semi the same night.

I think this might have been the last ever Montford commentary?

Classic Super Cooper goal at 8:30 anyway.

That hibs top. 😍

Neds in the Dumbarton support?

As somebody that attended the old Boghead a number of times in 1970/80s the local neds must have very young or very old. My memory was the support was almost Junior. Plenty of granda and grandwains and feck all else.

Anybody that got a slap in Dumbarton must have been a complete dick.

12 hours ago, Chapelhall chap said:

I never knew that and it's a pleasure to get your info.  It was a long time ago but I suspect we were at the game and the luxury Chicken ( No Turkey then) waited for us in Gartlea.  Am I correct in thinking that New Years day games were common-vaguely recollect a half bottle in my pocket ( Ah the good old days) 

I remember being at Hibs v Rangers on Xmas day 1971. It was also common at that time to play 2 games in 3 days over New Year. Sometimes January 1 & 3, or December 31 and January 2 or whatever. 
ETA yes, I remember chicken being a luxury, it just tasted so much better than nowadays and I don’t think I’m imagining it.

Edited by The Mantis

20 minutes ago, The Mantis said:

I remember being at Hibs v Rangers on Xmas day 1971. It was also common at that time to play 2 games in 3 days over New Year. Sometimes January 1 & 3, or December 31 and January 2 or whatever. 
ETA yes, I remember chicken being a luxury, it just tasted so much better than nowadays and I don’t think I’m imagining it.

Aberdeen played Dundee at home on Friday 1st January 1971 and St Johnstone away on Saturday 2nd January. I was at both matches and there were 24,000 at Pittodrie and 21,000 at Muirton. The Christmas Day fixtures at the end of that year saw Aberdeen play at Falkirk but I couldn’t get to that match, so as we were staying in Dundee at that time I went to Tannadice to watch United play Dunfermline. That’s the last Christmas Day match that I have been to.

There was a game where Aberdeen beat Hearts at Pittodrie in the mid 90's. I'm sure the score was 1-0. Dean Windass scored the only goal from a free kick at the Merkland end and ran all the way to the RDS to celebrate. Missed it because I was having a pish. My old man told me it would be ok, I'd see it on Scotsport the next day.

Fucking missed it again and have never seen it since.

That's about my only memory of Scotsport. That and the mid ))'s revival when they'd do stupid shite like which player in the league can thrown the ball the farthest. The programme was on at around 11pm on a Monday.

x

16 minutes ago, kingjoey said:

Aberdeen played Dundee at home on Friday 1st January 1971 and St Johnstone away on Saturday 2nd January. I was at both matches and there were 24,000 at Pittodrie and 21,000 at Muirton. The Christmas Day fixtures at the end of that year saw Aberdeen play at Falkirk but I couldn’t get to that match, so as we were staying in Dundee at that time I went to Tannadice to watch United play Dunfermline. That’s the last Christmas Day match that I have been to.

So was I but I wasn't very well at the Dundee game, for some strange reason.

Games on January 1st and 2nd was common until the early 70s. The last time Saints were involved was the 70/71 season, Kilmarnock at home on the 1st, Morton away on the 2nd.

There were games on Xmas day in 1971, Saints drew 2-2 with Dumbarton.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1971&GameID=197112250

2 hours ago, Arch Stanton said:

Games on January 1st and 2nd was common until the early 70s. The last time Saints were involved was the 70/71 season, Kilmarnock at home on the 1st, Morton away on the 2nd.

There were games on Xmas day in 1971, Saints drew 2-2 with Dumbarton.

http://www.stmirrenprogrammes.co.uk/StMirren/STM_Match_Details.php?Season=1971&GameID=197112250

And Roy McCormack scored one of the best goals you'll ever see

3 minutes ago, Arch Stanton said:

I was there but as a six year old so don't remember too much about it. 

The return game at Boghead on the last Saturday of the season was filmed for Scotsport. Both clubs going for promotion with Saints winning 2-1 only to discover after the game that Stirling Albion had beaten Brechin 6-1 and so went above Saints and into second place on goal difference.