Serbia V Scotland - EURO 2020 Playoff Final ( Thursday 12th November)

greenockraver

6 minutes ago, Slenderman said:

Anyone else think that the fact we almost fucked it up & went through the drama of PKs made it 1000 times more emotional than winning 1-0 in normal time?

100%.

I kinda think we had to go through that way. We had to come so close and look as if we had fucked it, only to break the curse and win at the last possible moment. It's permanently destroyed the "Glorious Failure" narrative, and now this team gets to write it's own narrative.

It felt kinda like fate, in a way. Or maybe I'm just talking a load of shite.

3 hours ago, G51 said:

Try and see it from someone else's point of view then. If Walter Smith was still the manager last night and the Scotland account put out tweets referencing comments he'd made about beating Dumbarton, you'd probably be a wee bit annoyed by that.

It's the national team. We leave the club stuff at the door, that's how it works.

I agree. And whilst we are at it, and I realise some will not agree, can we leave the Yes/No stuff out of it too and let us ALL enjoy our team without trying to master the Old Firm trick of bringing politics into football.

Really good performance, didn't think they had that in them, and just dead chuffed we can get back to going to tournaments. France 98 was the last one I attended and never dreamt at the time it would be 2021 before I could go again. 

10 minutes ago, bennett said:

What was a great night for Scottish football and brought everyone together appears to have sadly descended in to the usual let's stick it too Sevco.  

Away ye go with that pish. Nobody was talking about Rangers until a Rangers fan asked for opinions on whether a tweet was a dig at Rangers or not.

13 hours ago, UAE1929 said:

Ooft, some of the replies. 

Lovely salty tears. 

3 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

Away ye go with that pish. Nobody was talking about Rangers until a Rangers fan asked for opinions on whether a tweet was a dig at Rangers or not.

That's simply not true, it was a Ross county fan who kicked it all off and the usual suspects joined in.

Translated from Serbian Football Forum, some points very familiar

Not surprising considering where we are as a country - especially for the last 8 years. Became officially the poorest nation in Europe. In terms of corruption I am not even going to waste time. We have a spineless slime of a president that besides destroying this country economically & morally - he wants to do the same to our sport by appointing his own former bodyguard Slavisa Kokeza as FA president. The same FA president that decided to remove certain players from the NT just because they had the audacity to point out his corruption & cluelessness.

The only "coaches" that would accept to work under those conditions are the likes of Tumbakovic, Pizon, Curcic, Krstajic etc. Scotland read through us with high pressure from the first minute. They knew we don't have the know-how to quickly pass the ball forward or have players that can dribble out of it. From the very first minute we f*cking parked the bus with all 11 players behind the centerline in middle of Belgrade against Scotland. We don't deserve to qualify for anything else, let alone this Euro. At least we won't get embarrassed again in front of millions.

Taking in count massive depopulation & smaller talent pool to choose from - we can expect in upcoming years to qualify once in a decade for a major tournament - if that. We have not qualified for two consecutive tournaments in over 20 years. Either we should ban football all-together in Serbia and focus the money/infrastructure on sports we are actually good at or send young coaches to Western Europe or S. America and learn from them how to pass & move the ball quickly out of tight/pressure situations. Also learn how to create proper midfield players that can stop, look around, control the ball and dribble with some creativity. Without that there is no hope, even if we had multiple prime Vidic's or Ivanovic's in same lineup

1 minute ago, John Lambies Doos said:

Not surprising considering where we are as a country - especially for the last 8 years. Became officially the poorest nation in Europe. In terms of corruption I am not even going to waste time. We have a spineless slime of a president that besides destroying this country economically & morally - he wants to do the same to our sport by appointing his own former bodyguard Slavisa Kokeza as FA president. The same FA president that decided to remove certain players from the NT just because they had the audacity to point out his corruption & cluelessness.

The only "coaches" that would accept to work under those conditions are the likes of Tumbakovic, Pizon, Curcic, Krstajic etc. Scotland read through us with high pressure from the first minute. They knew we don't have the know-how to quickly pass the ball forward or have players that can dribble out of it. From the very first minute we f*cking parked the bus with all 11 players behind the centerline in middle of Belgrade against Scotland. We don't deserve to qualify for anything else, let alone this Euro. At least we won't get embarrassed again in front of millions.

Taking in count massive depopulation & smaller talent pool to choose from - we can expect in upcoming years to qualify once in a decade for a major tournament - if that. We have not qualified for two consecutive tournaments in over 20 years. Either we should ban football all-together in Serbia and focus the money/infrastructure on sports we are actually good at or send young coaches to Western Europe or S. America and learn from them how to pass & move the ball quickly out of tight/pressure situations. Also learn how to create proper midfield players that can stop, look around, control the ball and dribble with some creativity. Without that there is no hope, even if we had multiple prime Vidic's or Ivanovic's in same lineup

Scathing

The video clips etc from the celebrations are fantastic. 

There's always been this nagging doubt that the players, or at least some of them, have seen international duty as an inconvenience but these guys seem 100% committed and together. 

Clarke appears to have got them tightly knit which is not easy to do during international windows and especially when our squad ranges from guys playing at the top in England to the likes of Shankland, Gallagher and Dykes who have spent a fair chunk of their careers playing outside the top level in Scotland. 

It's great to see. 

^^^ Spends too much time ready “Gibanica and Rakija” IMO

2 minutes ago, GordonS said:

Go fk yourself.

We're all locked down because of tossers like you. How many people have to die before you stop acting like a spoiled wean?

Don't bother replying cos you'll get nothing more out of me.

Why don’t you go and take your mewling nonsense to the coronavirus thread then you absolute fucking c**t?!

53 minutes ago, bennett said:

What was a great night for Scottish football and brought everyone together appears to have sadly descended in to the usual let's stick it too Sevco.  Over the years watching Scotland had became a chore and like most folk i started to get disillusioned with international games, it's been a while since I found myself getting excited for Scotland games.

This could be the first time that we get through the group stages, we don't have any superstars in the team but we've got a team thats organised/balanced and every player knows his role.

Don’t really want to get into it but which posters took the thread off track?