Dunbar United Season 20/21

On 21/09/2022 at 11:44, imho said:

We shaded the game. I enjoyed it nothing between the teams. Clach looked a young side but now back to the league. Having what now looks like a gentle introduction to this league,played 5 of the bottom 6 we now need to show if we have the tools to challenge and an EL derby against Preston is now the start of a run of big league games. Despite having a very good start to the season I still have concerns. Any news on 

Question answered, poor result. Next 2 games are must win even this early. We don't look like a team despite still being in the mix,for now. 

On 25/09/2022 at 15:00, imho said:

Question answered, poor result. Next 2 games are must win even this early. We don't look like a team despite still being in the mix,for now. 

Just wondering which teams that you've seen this year, actually do look like teams. I think it's still early with another 23 games still to be played in the league and at least another 3 matches in various cups. As I read it, there's only 4 points separating 9 teams or more specifically 2 points between the top 5.

From the current up to date league data available its apparent the Dunbar are clearly trailing in the goal scoring side of the equation at 1.7 goals per game, with the weighted average of the teams above them (excluding Luncarty, who will presumably break a goals scored record this season) of 2.36.

However, their strength appears to be in defence with only 1.29 conceded per game, which is only bettered by Nitten. So, on that observation, Brenan and the defenders seem to have their act in order. 

Maybe the bit between the middle and scoring roles needs to have more focus, which I no doubt will be resolved one way or the other.

The team are certainly in the mix at present. This weekend should see a change in league standings with DUFC v Luncarty and Kinnoull v Preston taking place, personally I don't see both of them ending all square, with on fire Nitten seemingly having an ideal opportunity to consolidate against Lochore. 

If's and but's followed by lies and statistics - I wouldn't like to forecast the end state of play this season except perhaps that Luncarty will take some beating.

It's entertaining and significantly different from the previous level of the various Conference leagues, what more could you ask for? 

On 30/09/2022 at 13:31, platform 19 said:

Just wondering which teams that you've seen this year, actually do look like teams. I think it's still early with another 23 games still to be played in the league and at least another 3 matches in various cups. As I read it, there's only 4 points separating 9 teams or more specifically 2 points between the top 5.

From the current up to date league data available its apparent the Dunbar are clearly trailing in the goal scoring side of the equation at 1.7 goals per game, with the weighted average of the teams above them (excluding Luncarty, who will presumably break a goals scored record this season) of 2.36.

However, their strength appears to be in defence with only 1.29 conceded per game, which is only bettered by Nitten. So, on that observation, Brenan and the defenders seem to have their act in order. 

Maybe the bit between the middle and scoring roles needs to have more focus, which I no doubt will be resolved one way or the other.

The team are certainly in the mix at present. This weekend should see a change in league standings with DUFC v Luncarty and Kinnoull v Preston taking place, personally I don't see both of them ending all square, with on fire Nitten seemingly having an ideal opportunity to consolidate against Lochore. 

If's and but's followed by lies and statistics - I wouldn't like to forecast the end state of play this season except perhaps that Luncarty will take some beating.

It's entertaining and significantly different from the previous level of the various Conference leagues, what more could you ask for? 

It was a just about deserved 1-0 win over Luncarty. If we had converted half of the chances created it would have been over long before the stupid sending off. Our defence coped well with the free scoring Luncarty . We are the lowest scoring team in the top half and it's clear to see why. Chances are being created but some of the misses on Saturday were embarrassing. A long way to go but we need someone to start scoring or new blood brought in. 

On 03/10/2022 at 10:43, imho said:

It was a just about deserved 1-0 win over Luncarty. If we had converted half of the chances created it would have been over long before the stupid sending off. Our defence coped well with the free scoring Luncarty . We are the lowest scoring team in the top half and it's clear to see why. Chances are being created but some of the misses on Saturday were embarrassing. A long way to go but we need someone to start scoring or new blood brought in. 

Hopefully a win for Dunbar with something to spare. Lochore have only scored one less than us but conceded more so the stats suggest we might win. Good luck to Dunbar. 

On 07/10/2022 at 19:54, imho said:

Hopefully a win for Dunbar with something to spare. Lochore have only scored one less than us but conceded more so the stats suggest we might win. Good luck to Dunbar. 

Well, it was another win, and they've somehow managed to get themselves to the top of the league table. It's very well done to the manager and the players. I think that Dunbar are at the top on merit. I'd agree that they still have a distance to go - I'm sure most supporters would also agree that they can make lots of improvement - but that's what it's all about - winning and improving. The team are doing both. 

I wonder how they'll play in the next two matches - Preston (Challenge Cup) and Uniy of Stirling (Scot Cup). Personally, it would great to win both. But without doubt the focus and priority has to be league matches. Threes also the postponed cup tie at Gretna to get through. I'm hoping none of these cup-ties prove a distraction to the league campaign. 

Well done guys, fair praise when its due,,,,,

2 hours ago, platform 19 said:

Well, it was another win, and they've somehow managed to get themselves to the top of the league table. It's very well done to the manager and the players. I think that Dunbar are at the top on merit. I'd agree that they still have a distance to go - I'm sure most supporters would also agree that they can make lots of improvement - but that's what it's all about - winning and improving. The team are doing both. 

I wonder how they'll play in the next two matches - Preston (Challenge Cup) and Uniy of Stirling (Scot Cup). Personally, it would great to win both. But without doubt the focus and priority has to be league matches. Threes also the postponed cup tie at Gretna to get through. I'm hoping none of these cup-ties prove a distraction to the league campaign. 

Well done guys, fair praise when its due,,,,,

Very good summary.

I think you have hit the nail in the head. The team are not the finished article but they must take credit for topping the table at this stage.
The young lad Goldie was a big plus today. Let’s not get carried away as he is only 17, but he offers something completely different to the rest of the front line.

The management team must take plaudits for taking a chance on the young lads. It would be easy to bring in an experienced journey man instead. 

It’s clear to see that there is a clear pathways now from 20s to first team. 

On 08/10/2022 at 23:57, #DUFC said:

Very good summary.

I think you have hit the nail in the head. The team are not the finished article but they must take credit for topping the table at this stage.
The young lad Goldie was a big plus today. Let’s not get carried away as he is only 17, but he offers something completely different to the rest of the front line.

The management team must take plaudits for taking a chance on the young lads. It would be easy to bring in an experienced journey man instead. 

It’s clear to see that there is a clear pathways now from 20s to first team. 

"offers something completely different" does that include speed 😀?

Not too bad result for Dunbar vs Preston yesterday.

A pretty positive outcome. 
The first hat-trick for a while, plus a lot of good work by the keeper - again!!

Dont know why, but I’m not seeing the same amount of comments/gloating that went on after the the previous match at the Pennypit. 
What goes around,,,,,, comes around 😀

4 hours ago, Man from the East said:

Not too bad result for Dunbar vs Preston yesterday.

A pretty positive outcome. 
The first hat-trick for a while, plus a lot of good work by the keeper - again!!

Dont know why, but I’m not seeing the same amount of comments/gloating that went on after the the previous match at the Pennypit. 
What goes around,,,,,, comes around 😀

Potentially a bit tongue in cheek, but when the defender took a bit of stick from the fans late on and clapped back, ‘your team is sh*te, we beat them 3-0’…………..

Aye, that’s all well and good, but your team were losing 4-1 at the time 😂.

Good win and performance. There was a bit of needle in the game, without going too far, which I enjoyed, and would expect from a local derby. 

3 hours ago, StraightOuttaEOS said:

60 thoosund budget a wiz telt at an ammy game yesterday is wit dunbar huv this season🤦🏻‍♂️🤦🏻‍♂️ shldny lose a single game wi that sort eh cash theyve goat tae chuck at bois but theyre makin hard work eh it

Aww it must be true then if you heard it there.

You won’t get any bites in this thread pal, I’d scurry off elsewhere. 

On 17/10/2022 at 08:25, StraightOuttaEOS said:

60 thoosund budget a wiz telt at an ammy game yesterday is wit dunbar huv this season🤦🏻‍♂️🤦🏻‍♂️ shldny lose a single game wi that sort eh cash theyve goat tae chuck at bois but theyre makin hard work eh it

Only 60 thousand,,, your source is mince. 
Honestly why do people write such utter pish? I suppose because they believe it. 

Cleary you know nothing and clearly you never will.

Guest Stevie 1969
1 hour ago, Man from the East said:

Totally and utterly deluded.

Some attention seeking traits being displayed….. or is it’s just simple envy?

His envy is probably as simple as he is. He's obviously bored or banned from twitter that he's spouting his garbage on here. 🤡 

1 hour ago, Man from the East said:

Think it’s a case of ‘Jimmy nae pals’

3 hours ago, Stevie 1969 said:

His envy is probably as simple as he is. He's obviously bored or banned from twitter that he's spouting his garbage on here. 🤡 

Keep biting. As long as he stays away from the WW page 😂