Cyberpunk 2077

Wardy

I've reached the point of no return in the main storyline so just mopping up the side quests, I assume everyone of any importance has already been introduced via the main story or otherwise?

Just so I don't have to go hunting for anything significant as I'm very unlikely to replay this. 

Think I've completed the quest lines for Panam, Judy, and Claire. Still have River, Bes Isis /Nancy and the wannabe mayor guys lines to finish off and have no interest in the bare knuckle fighting. 

1 hour ago, Fuctifano said:

I've reached the point of no return in the main storyline so just mopping up the side quests, I assume everyone of any importance has already been introduced via the main story or otherwise?

Just so I don't have to go hunting for anything significant as I'm very unlikely to replay this. 

Think I've completed the quest lines for Panam, Judy, and Claire. Still have River, Bes Isis /Nancy and the wannabe mayor guys lines to finish off and have no interest in the bare knuckle fighting. 

Once there's nothing indicated on the map, you're done. This wasn't the kind of game where you'd go exploring and randomly find people waiting to give you missions; everything just gets unlocked and marked on the map as you level up. Which I was a bit disappointed about to start with, but gradually became more relieved as the game went on, as the map's huge but not terribly interesting up close.

You've not missed much with the bare knuckle. Four fights, which you can repeat, then a final fight against a dude who can one-shot you even when you're maxed out and there's no rematch, plus I don't think you get anything much for doing it. I cheesed it by dropping a melee weapon in the ring beforehand and using that, and even then it was a chore. Doing it fairly would have taken about half-an-hour of gradually chipping away at the p***k while staying alert enough to avoid his massive swing. What an arseache.

5 minutes ago, Stellaboz said:

Has this been fixed for the PS4?

There have been bug and performance fixes, but I wouldn't advise anyone to buy it for the last generation consoles. When you see those versions side-by-side, it's like looking at Atari ST and Amiga versions of games that were written for the Amiga's hardware (they're not capable of running a decent version, for anyone too young to know what that means).

It's pretty obvious that the game should have been a next-gen exclusive, but CDPR had tied themselves in to a last-gen launch and just tried to make a decent fist of it. Pretty poor.

Can't wait till the kids are back in school and I can get stuck into this. Really need to play it with headphones on and after one of them appeared behind me while I was fucking about with the naked nearly dead girl in the first mission, I decided it was best not to play when they were in the house. Have barely touched it. 

14 minutes ago, madwullie said:

Can't wait till the kids are back in school and I can get stuck into this. Really need to play it with headphones on and after one of them appeared behind me while I was fucking about with the naked nearly dead girl in the first mission, I decided it was best not to play when they were in the house. Have barely touched it. 

When the wean was wee, he'd sit on my lap when we played games. Serious Sam was his favourite. When Duke Nukem Forever came out he quite liked watching that too, although I went through the later levels alone  :mellow:

He found it really funny when Duke would drink a can of beer, as I rarely drink (certainly not beer), and the kids in his class seemed to have already established some kind of meme that "daddies drink beer" - hilarious, I'm sure, when you're five. One day I arrived at the school to pick him up and got pulled aside to talk to a social worker that they'd invited in - apparently he'd drawn a picture of Duke drinking beer and told them that "my daddy drinks beer all the time", so they were worried that I was drinking heavily when he was around and wasn't able to be responsible for him

Thankfully, they seemed to understand my explanation, and presumably checked with him that it was only in the game, but aye - be careful what they see you doing, because they tell other people everything!  :P

15 hours ago, BFTD said:

When the wean was wee, he'd sit on my lap when we played games. Serious Sam was his favourite. When Duke Nukem Forever came out he quite liked watching that too, although I went through the later levels alone  :mellow:

I do that with my 3 year old, but I've realised that there's now a finite group of games I should probably play while he's watching.  No Man's Sky was a safe one (although he kept demanding I "blast off").  Death Stranding, which I've told him is just Postman Pat.  When I played FIFA he would celebrate the goals.  

Making the most of it before he thinks I'm a fucking loser once he hits the teenage years.

2 hours ago, forameus said:

I do that with my 3 year old, but I've realised that there's now a finite group of games I should probably play while he's watching.  No Man's Sky was a safe one (although he kept demanding I "blast off").  Death Stranding, which I've told him is just Postman Pat.  When I played FIFA he would celebrate the goals.  

Making the most of it before he thinks I'm a fucking loser once he hits the teenage years.

They get excited about the weirdest games. I upgraded my PC when he was 3 or 4 and built him a new one with the old parts; according to the rest of the family, he'd sit at his desk when I wasn't around and pretend to be me  :P

Teenage years have been OK here, and I think he's starting to get past the stubborn spell. The trick is to lean into being a loser and then they don't know what to make of you, as being a loser is the worst thing they can imagine at that age. He doesn't play games much now as he'd rather make his own for other people, but our thing is to watch TV and films and be snarky and cynical about everything together.

Apparently he's going on his first date tomorrow night, and thinks he might be gender-fluid. It's nice he can tell me stuff like that.

22 hours ago, BFTD said:

Once there's nothing indicated on the map, you're done. This wasn't the kind of game where you'd go exploring and randomly find people waiting to give you missions; everything just gets unlocked and marked on the map as you level up. Which I was a bit disappointed about to start with, but gradually became more relieved as the game went on, as the map's huge but not terribly interesting up close.

You've not missed much with the bare knuckle. Four fights, which you can repeat, then a final fight against a dude who can one-shot you even when you're maxed out and there's no rematch, plus I don't think you get anything much for doing it. I cheesed it by dropping a melee weapon in the ring beforehand and using that, and even then it was a chore. Doing it fairly would have taken about half-an-hour of gradually chipping away at the p***k while staying alert enough to avoid his massive swing. What an arseache.

The rewards really show how shite the shop system is, I think in the entire game all I've bought is cyberware, ammo at the start before you end up swimming in it, and the odd burrito. Not much point in paying $$$$$$$ for a marginal upgrade on your gun when you'll loot a significantly better one from an enemy as you go. Same with clothes.

I think at least in TW3 it tended to be trade in all your looted goodies for one slightly better sword as other than certain bosses enemies didn't drop anything special

46 minutes ago, Fuctifano said:

The rewards really show how shite the shop system is, I think in the entire game all I've bought is cyberware, ammo at the start before you end up swimming in it, and the odd burrito. Not much point in paying $$$$$$$ for a marginal upgrade on your gun when you'll loot a significantly better one from an enemy as you go. Same with clothes.

I think at least in TW3 it tended to be trade in all your looted goodies for one slightly better sword as other than certain bosses enemies didn't drop anything special

The thing that annoyed me most about the shops (especially the ripperdocs) is that they do usually have some kind of upgrade that you can't get elsewhere, but the game doesn't tell you which shops you've visited before, so you have to try and keep track yourself. But yeah, other than that, there's no reason to visit them...although one of them does get robbed while you're there, which kicks off a wee side mission. CDPR hugely fucked the in-game economy in general; presumably it was one of the things they put off for the end of development, then didn't have time to sort out as it was rushed to release.

Also, the best clothes never, ever match, so you're left running around looking like an utter Nathan Barley douchebag.

0358eca2-9140-4a1a-9069-105474f251c8-bes

3 hours ago, forameus said:

NAP you've got Kevin Costner's The Postman sat there for when it's age appropriate as well.

11 hours ago, forameus said:

Fucking hell. If try and play games in front of my 3 year old she just cries until I turn it off and put on My Little Pony instead.

10 hours ago, GAD said:

Fucking hell. If try and play games in front of my 3 year old she just cries until I turn it off and put on My Little Pony instead.

Don't get me wrong, he's got his "iPad" (it's a cheap kindle) for his stuff, otherwise I'd be getting the same treatment.

19 hours ago, BFTD said:

They get excited about the weirdest games. I upgraded my PC when he was 3 or 4 and built him a new one with the old parts; according to the rest of the family, he'd sit at his desk when I wasn't around and pretend to be me  :P

Teenage years have been OK here, and I think he's starting to get past the stubborn spell. The trick is to lean into being a loser and then they don't know what to make of you, as being a loser is the worst thing they can imagine at that age. He doesn't play games much now as he'd rather make his own for other people, but our thing is to watch TV and films and be snarky and cynical about everything together.

Apparently he's going on his first date tomorrow night, and thinks he might be gender-fluid. It's nice he can tell me stuff like that.

Yer a good da, BFTD.

Edited by forameus

12 hours ago, GAD said:

Need to get busy mate and fire out a boy. Seems like the best solution. 

14 hours ago, GAD said:

You need to find some bullshit game about ponies to put on.

I got this as part of a bundle years ago. Unsurprisingly unplayed.

https://store.steampowered.com/app/45100/Secret_of_the_Magic_Crystals/

Finished it last night, would liken the experience to going somewhere on holiday, discovering it's shit, but making the best of it for a week. 

Agree with the point the map is just too big and shallow, feel there's loads of areas I hardly touched but looking at the list of side missions there's not too many I've not done.