The abolish the Scottish Parliament party.

Yes, and I've met a couple of yoons who are so craven and self-loathing they actually deny Scotland is a country, and would gladly see it annexed by England. 
I'm not the sort of Scot who romanticises the country at all, in fact I'm rather ambivalent about Scotland as a place, but I'll never understand Scots who are so in love with the notion of being part of the union that they venerate England and all things English, to the point whereby they're visibly embarrassed at their own identity and nationality, and openly wish to see Scotland diminished as if that would somehow lead to them becoming 'more English'. No surprise either that the particular individual I have in mind also claims that Scotland is an anti-English xenophobic backwater, that they've never once encountered anti-Scottish feeling in England, and that on the whole England is a much more tolerant and affable place. 
I genuinely wonder if we're talking about the same countries.
Are you pals with Kincky ?

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Pie and Bovril mobile app

It's the same mob.   Abolish are based in 270 Bath st, Glasgow the same registered address as 'Scotland in Union' and 'Better Together' etc.   

image.jpeg.b54766fd2ee4e26b0983fe878d39ff6a.jpeg
When newspapers used to print the addresses of their letter writers there was one Alistair McConnachie who corresponded from that address. Bampot, utter bampot.

3 hours ago, Beth Paige-Black said:

It's the same mob.   Abolish are based in 270 Bath st, Glasgow the same registered address as 'Scotland in Union' and 'Better Together' etc.   

image.jpeg.b54766fd2ee4e26b0983fe878d39ff6a.jpeg

272 Bath Street is an accommodation address used by lots of "Scottish" companies. 

https://www.bluesquareoffices.com/blog/glasgow-registered-office-address-for-scottish-limited-companies/

"Blue Square Offices specialises in providing virtual office services which include business addresses, mail handling, and telephone answering services.
We also provide excellent air conditioned serviced offices and meeting room facilities. If you would like to find out more about Blue Square Offices, please call 0141 353 930"

It's been used in the past by traders wanting to hide their true addresses for various reasons. Last count I saw, there were over 4000 businesses listed as having their registered office in the postcode G2 4JR.

Edited by lichtgilphead
error in postcode

28 minutes ago, lichtgilphead said:

272 Bath Street is an accommodation address used by lots of "Scottish" companies. 

https://www.bluesquareoffices.com/blog/glasgow-registered-office-address-for-scottish-limited-companies/

"Blue Square Offices specialises in providing virtual office services which include business addresses, mail handling, and telephone answering services.
We also provide excellent air conditioned serviced offices and meeting room facilities. If you would like to find out more about Blue Square Offices, please call 0141 353 930"

It's been used in the past by traders wanting to hide their true addresses for various reasons. Last count I saw, there were over 4000 businesses listed as having their registered office in the postcode G2 4JR.

Think I would stick to the Caymans for obvious reasons.

4 hours ago, John Lambies Doos said:

Hi Ross.

Are you fluent in German or French? Or both, also would you be able to speak/understand the Swiss dialect?

My German is reasonable enough but probably should be better. I have a bad habit of switching between formal and informal and need to put more effort in to increasing my vocabulary again. Part of the problem is that I try speaking Swiss German in the dialect local to me and the grammar doesn’t really come into it with them. I can understand a few of the dialects but many of them are pure gobbledygook as far as I am concerned.

My French is on a par with Delboy Trotters.

Edited by Ross.

5 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

Is Swiss German more or less complicated grammatically? I couldn't get my head around cases at school.

Far less complicated. I made the mistake of trying to impress my missus by learning Swiss German instead of Hoch Deutsch. The locals tended to be more impressed by the little I learned, but when I then had to actually learn Hoch Deutsch it was a nightmare trying to forget what were pretty much just bad habits. The genetive case in particular you can almost get away without completely. There is rarely a “Der” “Die” or “Das” in Swiss German, it’s all “De” the way they say it.

25 minutes ago, Ross. said:

My German is reasonable enough but probably should be better. I have a bad habit of switching between formal and informal and need to put more effort in to increasing my vocabulary again. Part of the problem is that I try speaking Swiss German in the dialect local to me and the grammar doesn’t really come into it with them. I can understand a few of the dialects but many of them are pure gobbledygook as far as I am concerned.

My French is on a par with Delboy Trotters.

Toute mange, Rodders.

1 hour ago, strichener said:

Think I would stick to the Caymans for obvious reasons.

Obviously that's not an option for a company that wants to appear Scottish. 

You can't register a limited company in Scotland without providing a registered office address in Scotland

On 23/08/2020 at 11:49, Willow Rosenberg said:

You want to talk about whataboutery? Fine. Let's see you answer you answer these questions directly.

1. What does "grey and green yins" really mean?

2. Why do you continue to follow, like and quote racists?

1. Celtic fans who wear grey and green hooped shirt.
2. I don't.  I do read some posts from small-minded xenophobes on here but that's it.

Edited by The_Kincardine

2 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

1. Celtic fans who wear grey and green hooped shirt.
2. I don't.  I do read some posts from small-minded xenophobes on here but that's it.

Good one, it's rhyming slang for a sectarian remark begining with F. 

29 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

Apparently a load of linguistic software use datasets that do translations using Wikipedia as their datasets. Haha.

Had a wee look as the main entry for Scots in Wikipedia doesn't seem too bad, then found this. :lol:

https://sco.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unitit_States

8 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

It's unreal isn't it. Literally just run every article in standard English through a find+replace 😁

People tried to fix some of it but gave up.

This change will almost certainly be deleted but here goes: no one in Scotland has ever used 'kintra' to mean 'country'