COVID-19 In Scottish Football

I don't understand why so many folk are so keen for null and void.

Surely that's an absolutely terrible, last resort option? It would make clubs liable for season ticket refunds. No prize money and no TV money would be paid. Individual club sponsors could reasonably ask for money back. The recent grants clubs got wouldn't cover all of that as well as the substantial losses every club is facing anyway due to the huge reduction in matchday income.

This would be disastrous for clubs surely? Am I missing something here?

Surely that's an absolutely terrible, last resort option? It would make clubs liable for season ticket refunds. No prize money and no TV money would be paid. Individual club sponsors could reasonably ask for money back. The recent grants clubs got wouldn't cover all of that as well as the substantial losses every club is facing anyway due to the huge reduction in matchday income.
Most of those wanting null and void are probably joking, but if the lower leagues can't continue and if the Championship stopped after this weekend then you can't call them.

The Premiership probably can't get called either although it has more justification with more than half of the games having been played. In fact, other than postponed games, everyone had played each other home and away evenly before last weekend.

Ian Maxwell coming out of this latest episode looking awful yet again.

BBC reporting that he misinterpreted John Robertson’s press conference comments and believed that they were the side that want to suspend the league, something a quick phone call to the CEO would have clarified. 

How on earth did we manage to end up with a guy like this as the CEO of the SFA.

20 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

The Premiership is clearly far enough along to be called now if it was needed.

Was about to disagree with you on the basis that not all teams have played each other home and away. But looking at the fixtures still to be completed for that to be the case, the results wouldnt really change anything regardless what way they went (St Mirren could move up 1 place if my maths is right).

IMO if the Premiership is to continue there should be a concentrated effort to get to the split with every team having played 33 games, almost use that as a checkpoint to see if there is enough time to complete the post split fixtures.

12 hours ago, virginton said:

Big teams call the shots. Wee seaside league diddies like *checks Scottish League One midtable mediocrities* 'Partick Thistle' do what they're told.

A82C2CD1-48C9-41B5-9D28-A9E9CE8E0FD2.jpeg.d3be676db1ccf3317445a35c285ddeed.jpeg

Are you sure Morton are a "big team" when they haven't been in the top flight for *checks notes* thirty one years?  Indeed, since then I believe you have graced the fourth tier more often.

I'm sorry the 2012-13 promotion race heartbreak so obviously hasn't healed for you.  Perhaps it never will.  At least you followed it up by, er... getting relegated to the seaside league the very next year, miles adrift and sent off in style by a famous 10-2 trouncing from Hamilton.  Treasured memories for the big-time Greenockians, and no barrier to landing some blows on a fellow diddy club.

50 minutes ago, Jacky1990 said:

Was about to disagree with you on the basis that not all teams have played each other home and away. But looking at the fixtures still to be completed for that to be the case, the results wouldnt really change anything regardless what way they went (St Mirren could move up 1 place if my maths is right).

IMO if the Premiership is to continue there should be a concentrated effort to get to the split with every team having played 33 games, almost use that as a checkpoint to see if there is enough time to complete the post split fixtures.

This happens anyway, it is only on a very rare occasion that a match is held over beyond the split.

Am I right in thinking that the resolution put forward by the SPFL last season to award places based on PPG never had an alternative?

As in, if clubs voted against it, it didn’t automatically mean null and avoid as some people assume, they’d then need to put forward another resolution to vote on to decide (assuming either null and void or wait to finish the season at a later date)?

Seems to me it was Robertson expressing his personal opinion, I'd be surprised if the Championship clubs voted to suspend the season after all it's less than a month since they got £500k each from Holyrood which I reckon will be a substantial sum for most of them.

18 minutes ago, AJF said:

Am I right in thinking that the resolution put forward by the SPFL last season to award places based on PPG never had an alternative?

As in, if clubs voted against it, it didn’t automatically mean null and avoid as some people assume, they’d then need to put forward another resolution to vote on to decide (assuming either null and void or wait to finish the season at a later date)?

Spot on. This is what Tom English, Ann Budge et al did not have the gumption to work out.

2 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

It suits celtic, Sevco possibly winning the league, gaining a chance at CL football  and ending their Terry Munro dreams would see Lawwell hunted from sharkhead.

1 hour ago, VictorOnopko said:

Are you sure Morton are a "big team" when they haven't been in the top flight for *checks notes* thirty one years?  Indeed, since then I believe you have graced the fourth tier more often.

I'm sorry the 2012-13 promotion race heartbreak so obviously hasn't healed for you.  Perhaps it never will.  At least you followed it up by, er... getting relegated to the seaside league the very next year, miles adrift and sent off in style by a famous 10-2 trouncing from Hamilton.  Treasured memories for the big-time Greenockians, and no barrier to landing some blows on a fellow diddy club.

31?

That’s unfair.

It’s actually 33 years since they were in the top league. Even the Poll Tax had not been introduced. Other notable events that year:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1988_in_the_United_Kingdom

Edited by Guest

1 hour ago, VictorOnopko said:

You'll know all about the fourth tier in the not too distant future, given that the likes of Montrose and Cove Rangers have already effortlessly moved above your rabble in the pecking order.

Looking forward to your big derbies with Pollok to decide who is the fourth biggest team in Glasgow already.

ainsley-harriott-birthday-lorraine-a.jpg.c764bbf957abb54428cdf8b5f8f41081.jpg

34 minutes ago, virginton said:

You'll know all about the fourth tier in the not too distant future, given that the likes of Montrose and Cove Rangers have already effortlessly moved above your rabble in the pecking order.

Looking forward to your big derbies with Pollok to decide who is the fourth biggest team in Glasgow already.

It's cute that you are so keen to dish out these feeble blows.  I don't blame you, as this is the first time in many many years that you have been above Thistle in the league pyramid. Fill your boots - we're a basket case at the moment, run by total idiots. 

Genuine question: as you were talking about "big clubs" earlier - do you expect to see Morton play in the top flight in your lifetime? If yes, how confident are you that it will happen, on a scale of 1-10?

2 minutes ago, VictorOnopko said:

It's cute that you are so keen to dish out these feeble blows.  I don't blame you, as this is the first time in many many years that you have been above Thistle in the league pyramid. Fill your boots - we're a basket case at the moment, run by total idiots. 

Genuine question: as you were talking about "big clubs" earlier - do you expect to see Morton play in the top flight in your lifetime? If yes, how confident are you that it will happen, on a scale of 1-10?

Morton don’t use a 1 - 10 scale.  They use their own 10 - 2 scale.