Can the Old firm stranglehold be broken?

The Rangers have never won a major trophy, and have never been relegated. HTH.

Aside from that, it's entirely possible for someone other than Celtgers to win the league. All they need is somebody with bottomless pockets to rock up in Scottish football and throw money around like a deranged lunatic, preferably on people who know what they're doing. Celtgers' budget isn't impossibly huge, like the actual giants of world football; it just dwarfs anything else that Scottish football has to offer.

When Roman Abramovich started buying trophies with Chelsea, I fully expected some oligarch to buy a Scottish club at some point, but the knickerless emperor Romanov seems to be the closest we've come. It makes no odds to the rest of us - only structural change will make any difference to Scottish football - but it would be joyous to hear the whining from Glasgow about unfair playing fields if Aberdeen/Hearts/Hibs/whoever started mopping up trophies with funds from an actual proper billionaire.

30 minutes ago, Tribal Trash said:

Do you think these teams would have won these trophies if Rangers hadn't been relegated 3 divisions and didn't need to rebuild their team literally from scratch?

^^^^ Sevco revisionism of history.

Pretty sure the old firm was broken in 2012 when one half went into liquidation and later reformed as The Rangers.

Celtic's dominance winning 11 of the 12 trophies from the last 4 seasons and on for the quadruple treble, and 10 iar puts all this talk of 2 horse races and such like as complete nonsense. There is only a one horse race with the 2nd horse putting in a cameo appearance for the media and pundits to pander to the other erse cheek's fans, pretending Celtic have actual competition in the league.

9 minutes ago, Mr. Alli said:

You only have to look at how clubs like St Mirren play when they come up against Rangers and Celtic to realise why it will never be broken. Defeatist attitude. 

If you want to win the league then you should be expecting to absolutely swat aside bottom half teams like St Mirren every time you play them too. When Steve Clarke was Killie manager he lost exactly one game to a bottom six side in nearly two years, that's the level of consistency you need to maintain. Had he been able to beat Hibs, Hearts (at home) or Aberdeen on a regular basis then there's a decent chance we'd have been in the title race right until the end last season.

1 hour ago, Tribal Trash said:

Is that the best you could offer in response?

You're lucky to get that posting that pish up there. 

Thanks for playing though :)

4 minutes ago, GallowayBlue said:

If the voting structure had been changed when the clubs had the chance, perhaps the smaller teams could have forced through a salary cap like League One and Two in England.

Remind me again, who was responsible for that not happening?

Was it Aberdeen, in the hope they could cement a position as Scotland's Third Club before a club calling itself Rangers was back in the top drawer, and f**k the rest of us?

I rather think it was. Small-time losers. Hell mend them.

Not impossible, but unlikely for quite a few years. As others have pointed out, it’d require a perfect storm of sorts. Rangers & Celtic would both need off years under diddy managers, and a competitor would need decent financial backing, consistency and probably a once in a generation manager. 

Or some oil tycoon starts putting money into one of the reasonably sized, non-OF clubs.

I don’t know if it’s because Morton will never be near them, but the Old Firm’s domination has never particularly bothered me. I quite like watching the circus that comes with the pair of them unfold, and would assume it’s at least more entertaining than watching Basel, or Porto or TNS or whatever stroll to another league title as a diddy team supporter.

2 hours ago, Tribal Trash said:

Do you think these teams would have won these trophies if Rangers hadn't been relegated 3 divisions and didn't need to rebuild their team literally from scratch?

There are no asterisks against any of those teams.