Sportscene watch

9 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

MOTD showed the Merseyside derby way down the pecking order as it was seemingly a poor game.

The more impressive thing is, the merseyside derby was actually a cracking game and still didn't get lead billing. Both sides had plenty of chances and it was end to end at times. Really wouldn't have been an issue to have it on first except for the fact there were goals in most other matches. The glasgow derby was a bit of a shite game in all honesty although there were 4 goals scored. 

Edited by Cptn Hooch

7 hours ago, TONTROOPER said:

At least we'll be spared Richard (I'm a luvvy) Foster's inane dribblings now that he's plying his trade in Detroit.

Hasn’t Detroit suffered enough with the decline of the American motor industry and the attendant de-industrialisation, social issues and bankruptcy without us inflicting Richard bloody Foster on them too???? 

21 minutes ago, Cptn Hooch said:

The more impressive thing is, the merseyside derby was actually a cracking game and still didn't get lead billing. Both sides had plenty of chances and it was end to end at times. Really wouldn't have been an issue to have it on first except for the fact there were goals in most other matches. The glasgow derby was a bit of a shite game in all honesty although there were 4 goals scored. 

I don't know why you are making a virtue out of that?

If the game was as good as you say, then surely it should have been up the rankings?

Or are MOTD blinded by goals=excellence?

2 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

If the game was as good as you say, then surely it should have been up the rankings?

I think it’s more that MOTD make a point of giving smaller clubs headline spots when there’s justification. You can argue semantics over whether Merseyside derby could be higher but I think it’s a really good thing. 

Sportscene wouldn’t dream of it. 

9 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

MOTD showed the Merseyside derby way down the pecking order as it was seemingly a poor game.

If Celtic/Sevco vs Sevco/Celtic was a pish 0-0 do you think a single game in our top league would be shown above it? Would, at least, half the show not be about the one poor game? Rhetorical question incidentally.

I get what your saying but the two really aren’t comparable. the Merseyside derby doesnt have 2 title challengers , one is the other is probably a relegation candidate, it also isn’t the biggest game in the country.

3 minutes ago, gannonball said:

I get what your saying but the two really aren’t comparable. the Merseyside derby doesnt have 2 title challengers , one is the other is probably a relegation candidate, it also isn’t the biggest game in the country.

The old firm headline sportscene every single week regardless of the match or outcome, mainly because it’s decided before a ball is kicked that they will be. 

5 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

The old firm headline sportscene every single week regardless of the match or outcome, mainly because it’s decided before a ball is kicked that they will be. 

Yeah that’s pretty different though to what what was being complained about. I agree  a 4-3 cracker should take precedent over a routine win to nil. It would we great if there was an SPFL TV type sub to allow other games more attention and not just primarily focus on two teams but I just know at the same time they would make a rip roaring c**t of it.

Edited by gannonball

17 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

I'm saying they didn't lead with it because it was the merseyside derby like our highlights package pander to the OF. Even though it was a great game to watch there were better games on the day that they lead with. The post I was quoting suggested that the merseyside derby was further down the pecking order because it wasn't a good game. I was merely stating that it WAS a good game to watch

8 minutes ago, gannonball said:

Yeah that’s pretty different though to what what was being complained about. I agree  a 4-3 cracker should take precedent over a routine win to nil. It would we great if there was an SPFL TV type sub to allow other games more attention and not just primarily focus on two teams but I just know at the same time they would make a rip roaring c**t of it.

It is the same complaint. MOTD is structured and allocate their resources in a way that allows them to be flexible with their running order. It shows an open mindedness that every team in the league can be front and centre if the match dictates it. 

Sportscene completely rules that flexibility out by the way they plan their coverage. Because they are not interested in putting anyone else front and centre. 

And ‘I would love it but they’d just mess it up’ is a pretty lazy take. 

51 minutes ago, Junior_Arab said:

Hasn’t Detroit suffered enough with the decline of the American motor industry and the attendant de-industrialisation, social issues and bankruptcy without us inflicting Richard bloody Foster on them too???? 

That depends - is his wife going to do some gigs as well?

Just now, Dons_1988 said:

It is the same complaint. MOTD is structured and allocate their resources in a way that allows them to be flexible with their running order. It shows an open mindedness that every team in the league can be front and centre if the match dictates it. 

Sportscene completely rules that flexibility out by the way they plan their coverage. Because they are not interested in putting anyone else front and centre. 

And ‘I would love it but they’d just mess it up’ is a pretty lazy take. 

It  really isn’t, moaning about the biggest game in the country by some distance being on first is not comparable to ‘them’ being on first/second every week. And trying to say it comparable just weakens the valid argument of the latter.
As for the ‘lazy take’ there is a solution where they hand control over to a production company, such as sunset and vine, who were largely involved with Scottish football under BT. We had them in the closed door season and they were brilliant but they got chucked in the January and went back to the in house dog shit we have. If they were given the narrative of promoting more as a whole I think they would do it well enough. I can see initial set up and streams being a nightmare though like most did in the closed door season.

3 minutes ago, gannonball said:

It  really isn’t, moaning about the biggest game in the country by some distance being on first is not comparable to ‘them’ being on first/second every week. And trying to say it comparable just weakens the valid argument of the latter.
As for the ‘lazy take’ there is a solution where they hand control over to a production company, such as sunset and vine, who were largely involved with Scottish football under BT. We had them in the closed door season and they were brilliant but they got chucked in the January and went back to the in house dog shit we have. If they were given the narrative of promoting more as a whole I think they would do it well enough. I can see initial set up and streams being a nightmare though like most did in the closed door season.

There wasn’t a complaint at the OF game being headline yesterday, the complaint was if it had been a drab 0-0 it would still be top billing. As sportscene wouldn’t entertain the notion of anything else being headline. 

And it was a lazy take because it sounded a lot like we shouldn’t bother trying because they’d f**k it up. 

7 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

There wasn’t a complaint at the OF game being headline yesterday, the complaint was if it had been a drab 0-0 it would still be top billing. As sportscene wouldn’t entertain the notion of anything else being headline. 

And it was a lazy take because it sounded a lot like we shouldn’t bother trying because they’d f**k it up. 

It’s still the biggest game by a country mile though :lol: . I think sometimes you just have to accept the status of the game.  Being first on every week is a different matter entirely. The only time I would say it shouldn’t be on first would be if it’s an end of season dead rubber and a European/relegation fight should be taking precedent. My outlook is obviously different to yours however.

12 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

If buts and maybes,duz this make a difference whether it's first or last it's the fecking same program M8?
Personally I record it and watch it this morning,mountain molehill stuff FFS. 

3 minutes ago, wastecoatwilly said:

If buts and maybes,duz this make a difference whether it's first or last it's the fecking same program M8?
Personally I record it and watch it this morning,mountain molehill stuff FFS. 

Agreed There is a bit of this too tbh but I think they see it as a general reflection as to how the media the media see the rest of the games.

5 minutes ago, gannonball said:

It’s still the biggest game by a country mile though :lol: . I think sometimes you just have to accept the status of the game.  Being first on every week is a different matter entirely. The only time I would say it shouldn’t be on first would be if it’s an end of season dead rubber and a European/relegation fight should be taking precedent. My outlook is obviously different to yours however.

And it gets top billing live on another channel, Sportscene is a highlights show though and already knows if the game is worthy to be shown first or not, and should screen it accordingly, but doesn't. Also takes up half heir show talking about it post match too, as if they don't get enough coverage everywhere else.

Personally i watch Sportscene on iplayer and just go to the Livi game first, then watch other games, and completely ignored the erse cheek derby game but that doesn't make it right.

9 minutes ago, gannonball said:

There’s a Difference between biggest game and headline fixture no matter what. Neither team could have a shot on target and it would still take up 20 minutes at least of an hour programme. I accept the status of the game more than you realise. 

But when you allocate all of your resources to one fixture with the rest getting little more than a cursory nod then this is what you get. 

The original point being made is that there isn’t even a possibility that an exciting relegation scrap like notts forest v Bournemouth yesterday could ever be given priority over your circus, regardless of anything. 

I don't particularly care about the order the games are shown as such, but the first game gets longer.

So they have to stretch out the highlights and include stuff that's barely "action" while potentially missing incidents worth covering in other games. Not sure they missed much yesterday, but they were struggling to pad out the OF "high"lights. 

3 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

But when you allocate all of your resources to one fixture with the rest getting little more than a cursory nod then this is what you get. 

Reminds me of the days when there was only one game on each channel. BBC would show Celtic and STV would show Rangers, or the other way round. On OF derby days the channel that didn't cover it seemed to stick a pin in the fixture list as they were at a loss which game to show.

3 minutes ago, GordonD said:

Reminds me of the days when there was only one game on each channel. BBC would show Celtic and STV would show Rangers, or the other way round. On OF derby days the channel that didn't cover it seemed to stick a pin in the fixture list as they were at a loss which game to show.

In the 80s it was much more varied than that.

The chosen game, particularly on BBC, very often featured neither OF side.