Sportscene watch

9 hours ago, Leith Green said:

Boyle gets booted up and down the pitch most weeks, the refs do nothing and the pundits say nothing.

Couple of softish pens for us and suddenly it's newsworthy.

I don't suppose they had an opinion on the entire County bench and half the team attempting to get him red carded for that tackle on the touchline?

This, far more unsporting than going down after a challenge and particularly bad considering Boyle is subjected to potential leg breakers every time he enters the pitch. I didn't think it was a penalty at the time but it wasn't a dive. Beaton made more bizarre decisions throughout the pitch for both sides and we were fortunate to be on the right side of most of them yesterday (for once). I get the rage from County fans particulalry given the position they are in and would seem they have had more than their  fare share of soft penalties given against them. We would be the same if these decisions had gone their way.

Aye, it was a very soft penalty. It’s hard to come out and definitely say it was a dive but Boyle hit the deck very easily.

On a side note, the Sportscene commentators line of “The head flick from Whyte on to McKay, a spirited combination” at County’s goal was excellent.

Edit: second Boyle incident was 100% a dive and he should’ve been off.

Edited by AJF

4 minutes ago, DiegoDiego said:

Delightful logic bypass from some Hibs fans here. Tackles on Boyle in other games this season have f**k all to do with the rights and wrongs of what went on yesterday.

I think you are missing the point - some of us are capable of separating a comment about other matches and what happened yesterday.

I dont see any Hibs fans disagreeing with this bit in bold, indeed if you read the match thread I think all Hibs fans said that the second one looked like a dive.

But this thread is about Sportscene, and the point we are making is that Kerr and Faddy spent an inordinate amount of time analysing the penalty and some of it was complete drivel.

As @Loonytoons said earlier ;

Kerr's comment..."there's no contact"

Kerr's following comment " he puts his leg over his knee"  yes he does, that's contact.

Kerr's further comment "he got there first but it's not a penalty"

Faddy's input "he got his body in front...it's not a penalty"

As they say, opinions are like arseholes - and there are plenty of both on Sportscene. 

20 hours ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

It's tricky for the ref to see when players have initiated the contact to go down for a penalty, a lot of players are very cute at doing that.

Usually the tell tale is what they do with their arms. If you fall or are tripped unexpectedly, human instinct is to put your arms down to break your fall. If a player's arms go up as he's going down, 9 times out of 10 it's a dive.

On 15/03/2021 at 08:44, CCB19035 said:

Was a con job. Boyle has a habit of doing it, can see why the ref gave it but Boyle is a cheating baldy c**t. 

So is Scott Allan, and Christian Doidge. In fact just pick any Hibs player, they're all at it.

14 hours ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

So is Scott Allan, and Christian Doidge. In fact just pick any Hibs player, they're all at it.

10 hours ago, crispy said:

Doig had an absolute ‘mare their. What a reason to be on people’s radar for 😆

Hibs simply preparing ahead of our guaranteed European football adventure next season where skilful players are appreciated and these disgusting tackles in the penalty box penalised accordingly.

hth chaps

A whole 70 minutes coming up to cover the 14 ties that have taken place so far this weekend. What odds they spend the first 20 minutes showing highlights from the Celtic rollover of League 1 opposition?

An actual decent opening package for a change! Far, far, far superior to that awful, tacky pish with the wee guy from the top of the trophy they used for last season's competition.

8 minutes ago, The Naitch said:

A whole 70 minutes coming up to cover the 14 ties that have taken place so far this weekend. What odds they spend the first 20 minutes showing highlights from the Celtic rollover of League 1 opposition?

It might be more like 15 minutes due to the cringeworthy opening montage voiced by a Sean Connery impersonator.  

4 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

An actual decent opening package for a change! Far, far, far superior to that awful, tacky pish with the wee guy from the top of the trophy they used for last season's competition.

Well, this is awkward.....

5 minutes ago, The Naitch said:

The first half of it was done in 90 seconds!

I genuinely don't know how this ended but presume it was a comfortable home win. Agree that it is utter pish to have first.

Just now, DA Baracus said:

The first half of it was done in 90 seconds!

I genuinely don't know how this ended but presume it was a comfortable home win. Agree that it is utter pish to have first.

Yeah, far more interesting ties to start with IMHO. The first half must have been dreadful to only show 90 seconds. They'll make up for it by having an in depth discussion on who the next Celtic manager will be.

1 minute ago, The Naitch said:

Yeah, far more interesting ties to start with IMHO. The first half must have been dreadful to only show 90 seconds. They'll make up for it by having an in depth discussion on who the next Celtic manager will be.

Turn on BBC2 during the 'analysis'.

Queen in Montreal.