Played and Managed Your Club

Rangers have had a handful. A few before my time really but some also more recent:

Scot Symon

Willie Waddell

John Greig

Graeme Souness

Ally McCoist 🥰

Those are the ones that I know were permanent Managers. If we were to include caretakers then you'd also have the likes of Willie Thornton, Tommy McLean, Stuart McCall and Jimmy Nicholl.

5 hours ago, scmwell said:

John Philliben and miodrag krivocapic (caretaker managers)

If we're including caretakers then:

Kenny Black:  Player (1983-84) Caretaker (2014)
Stephen Craigan: Player (1995-2000, 2003-2012) Caretaker (2015)

Edited by capt_oats

3 hours ago, Arch Stanton said:

Alex Miller wasn't a player for us. 

You've missed Willie Cunningham, Tommy Bryceland, Alasdair Miller, Wilson Humphreys, Jim Clunie, Jack Ross

Pedantic I know . Miller and Fergie both played in friendlies. I saw Miller play for a St Mirren XI at Renfrew , and Fergie was famously red-carded on a pre-season tour !

3 hours ago, Arch Stanton said:

Alex Miller wasn't a player for us. 

You've missed Willie Cunningham, Tommy Bryceland, Alasdair Miller, Wilson Humphreys, Jim Clunie, Jack Ross

Thanks for that. I was doing it off the top of my head just before I went to bed. I knew I missed the pre 80s ones, I'd need to have gone and googled those.

Not sure why I thought Miller, but jinkies.. imagine missing Ross! :lol:

21 minutes ago, billyg said:

Pedantic I know . Miller and Fergie both played in friendlies. I saw Miller play for a St Mirren XI at Renfrew , and Fergie was famously red-carded on a pre-season tour !

I would love my claim of Miller to be based on such an encyclopedic knowledge as you have, but it was just me getting it wrong! ;)

Edited by Ric

3 minutes ago, Empty It said:
1 hour ago, YassinMoutaouakil said:
Having an ex player as manager is v. small time behaviour IMO.

Aye like that small time club Arsenal

Man Utd, Chelsea, Real Madrid... Utter diddies, IMO.

Edited by Coventry Saint

12 hours ago, PauloPerth said:

Who has played for and managed your club since 1945.  Player managers are acceptable.

St Johnstone:

Johnny Pattillo (played 1952-53.  Manager 1953-58)

Alex Stewart (played 1932-35. Manager 1958-60) Think it's the same one!!  As a player, he once scored 6 goals for Motherwell when they humped Celtic 8-0 in 1937. Celtics record defeat).

Alex Rennie (played 1968-1975. Manager 1980-1985).

Ian Gibson (player 1983-87.  Player Manager 1985-87).

John McClelland (player manager1992-93).

John Connolly (played 1968-1972. Manager 2004-05).

Owen Coyle (Player Manager 2005-07).

Derek McInnes (played 2007-08. Player Manager then manager 2007-11).

Callum Davidson (played 1994-98 and 2011-14. Coach 2013-18. Manager 2020-?).

There's maybe more, but that's 8 definite,  possibly 9 depending on Alex Stewart.

Would imagine Dundee United and Celtic will probably have a fair few.

Come at me bitches. 

Bobby Brown was Saints Manager from 1958 to 1967 Alex Stewart was Manager from 1978 to 1980 and played for both Dundee clubs but not Saints.

Edited by Lang Toon Saintee

1 hour ago, billyg said:

...and Fergie was famously red-carded on a pre-season tour !

Was either the West Indies or Brazil (cant recall which) but Fergie was raging with how the opposition was roughing up his young players so he subbed himself on, put the boot in and was promptly sent off.

There's loads in my lifetime (ie since Wee Jim started)

Gordon Wallace - played 76-78, caretaker in 95
Billy Kirkwood - played 76-86, and late 86-87, manager 1995-96
Paul Sturrock - played 74-89, manager 98-2000
Paul Hegarty - played 74-90, manager 2002-2003
Billy Dodds - played 98-99, 03-06, caretake for one game in 2006
Craig Brewster - played 93-96, player-manager 2006
Dave Bowman - played 86-98, caretaker in 2015
Mixu Paatelainen - played 87-92, manager 2015-16
Ray McKinnon - played 88-92, 95-98, manager 2016-2017
Robbie Neilson - played 2011-2012, manager 2018-2020

Jerry Kerr also did it pre Jim, and I'm sure there were a few during the war years as well.

Pretty much shows why getting an ex-player in as manager isn't the greatest plan

50 minutes ago, Arabdownunder said:
1 hour ago, Mark Connolly said:

Pretty much shows why getting an ex-player in as manager isn't the greatest plan

Yeah, we always seem to be keen on the ex-player route but I think we are the type of club that probably benefits from managers who have no real affiliation to us and hopefully it works with Mellon. Quite a number of those in that list below really needed to turn the club around and maybe the pressure was too much (plus some just weren't very good). Levein is the obvious success story for doing that whilst having no connection to United (but we won't mention Laszlo...)

5 hours ago, Empty It said:
6 hours ago, YassinMoutaouakil said:
Having an ex player as manager is v. small time behaviour IMO.

Aye like that small time club Arsenal

5 hours ago, Coventry Saint said:

Man Utd, Chelsea, Real Madrid... Utter diddies, IMO.

Four lazy, tinpot appointments at the time with only Zidane achieving any success so far. 

Does the 3 - 3 Draw with Dundee count, where Duncan Shearer stepped in because erm... Pele Paterson was erm...  unwell (probably an early strain of Coronavirus)!

Worse than that, does Simpson's joint game with Neil 'Not-Tattie' Cooper count (a loss by 2.5 goals to 0) pro-rated because of joint management responsibility that day.