Gerry Cinnamon - embrace the seethe

pandarilla

Apologies of there's already a thread - but I tried to find it and couldn't (which could be as much down to my incompetence as anything else).

Basically, in the Lewis Capldi thread @TheMoonster challenged me to post the Gerry Cinnamon lyrics and songs that I rate - so this is it.  I'm nowhere near the target audience for this and was very, very late to the party (think I first heard his stuff last summer), but I really like what I've heard.

He's clearly got a set of fans that really irritate folk and that's understandable - but I'm just defending the music.  I've got no idea if he's a guid c**t or not but I based on his music I like the cut of his jib.

The songs which stand out for me are:

Canter - a song about folk struggling with motivation in life - wondering what the f**k it's all about.  The part that gets me is "the hardest part of the game isn't even playing the game - it's caring enough to care about the things that you're dain".  I get that.  Folk get stuck in dead end jobs or dead end relationships and often find that they have nothing that really inspires them in life - no great hobby or interest.  Ultimately, whatever it is in life, you've got to have a passion and give it everything you've got.  It could be work, relationships, friendships, music, football, whatever - but have a passion and love for something - and life will be a bit easier.

And the throwaway line - "you'll never be a king when you're acting like a pawn" is cool as f**k (I like any chess references in stuff - it's a fucking great game).

Diamonds in the Mud is his song about Glasgow - and weegies in general.  I lived in the West End of Glasgow for 10 years and my wife is from Kelvinhaugh - so I've got a strong connection to the place.  But don't get me wrong - I generally hate the weegie outlook in life.  There's a tendency to believe that Glasgow is the centre of the universe and a couple of family members couldn't understand why we were excited to move to Dundee 13 years ago.  For me, Dundee is a much cooler city and yet this song sums up what I do love about Glasgow.  He uses the term 'shamen' to describe his drug dealer, and mentions various characters based on his time growing up in the city (sarcastic eyeballs is a great description).  "Making money till there's no time left to spend ' it's all bullshit, but we all still pretend" sums up some of the chancers who duck and dive and are generally summed up as the underclass in our society.  I like the fact that this song brings them to life in a sympathetic way, completely different to the usual stereotype.  Then he covers the fact that the city is incredibly diverse in terms of wealth and aspirations - "From the swords in the schemes to the art school dreams of the toon." / "the different accents in the West End".  And the ending is excellent - "there's no other place where 'a c**t' might no be a put doon.  It's thirteen degrees and there's folk in the street in the scud.  No the best place - but there's diamonds in the mud."

He's also wrote two political songs that I like, one in support of independence (Hope over Fear) and one in opposition to the bombing of Syria (War TV).  I think 'Hope over Fear' is a bit twee but it's the best song about the referendum that I know of, and War TV sums up support for foreign intervention in brilliant, ordinary terms: "I'm no that religious, but if God's got a plan - then I don't think it's bombing in a faraway land".  He's also calling on folk to stop being ignorant of this topic and realise what's being done by our government: "There's no use pretending that you don't understand; with your arse in the air and your head in the sand."

3 hours ago, pandarilla said:

Apologies of there's already a thread - but I tried to find it and couldn't (which could be as much down to my incompetence as anything else).

Basically, in the Lewis Capldi thread @TheMoonster challenged me to post the Gerry Cinnamon lyrics and songs that I rate - so this is it.  I'm nowhere near the target audience for this and was very, very late to the party (think I first heard his stuff last summer), but I really like what I've heard.

He's clearly got a set of fans that really irritate folk and that's understandable - but I'm just defending the music.  I've got no idea if he's a guid c**t or not but I based on his music I like the cut of his jib.

The songs which stand out for me are:

Canter - a song about folk struggling with motivation in life - wondering what the f**k it's all about.  The part that gets me is "the hardest part of the game isn't even playing the game - it's caring enough to care about the things that you're dain".  I get that.  Folk get stuck in dead end jobs or dead end relationships and often find that they have nothing that really inspires them in life - no great hobby or interest.  Ultimately, whatever it is in life, you've got to have a passion and give it everything you've got.  It could be work, relationships, friendships, music, football, whatever - but have a passion and love for something - and life will be a bit easier.

And the throwaway line - "you'll never be a king when you're acting like a pawn" is cool as f**k (I like any chess references in stuff - it's a fucking great game).

Diamonds in the Mud is his song about Glasgow - and weegies in general.  I lived in the West End of Glasgow for 10 years and my wife is from Kelvinhaugh - so I've got a strong connection to the place.  But don't get me wrong - I generally hate the weegie outlook in life.  There's a tendency to believe that Glasgow is the centre of the universe and a couple of family members couldn't understand why we were excited to move to Dundee 13 years ago.  For me, Dundee is a much cooler city and yet this song sums up what I do love about Glasgow.  He uses the term 'shamen' to describe his drug dealer, and mentions various characters based on his time growing up in the city (sarcastic eyeballs is a great description).  "Making money till there's no time left to spend ' it's all bullshit, but we all still pretend" sums up some of the chancers who duck and dive and are generally summed up as the underclass in our society.  I like the fact that this song brings them to life in a sympathetic way, completely different to the usual stereotype.  Then he covers the fact that the city is incredibly diverse in terms of wealth and aspirations - "From the swords in the schemes to the art school dreams of the toon." / "the different accents in the West End".  And the ending is excellent - "there's no other place where 'a c**t' might no be a put doon.  It's thirteen degrees and there's folk in the street in the scud.  No the best place - but there's diamonds in the mud."

He's also wrote two political songs that I like, one in support of independence (Hope over Fear) and one in opposition to the bombing of Syria (War TV).  I think 'Hope over Fear' is a bit twee but it's the best song about the referendum that I know of, and War TV sums up support for foreign intervention in brilliant, ordinary terms: "I'm no that religious, but if God's got a plan - then I don't think it's bombing in a faraway land".  He's also calling on folk to stop being ignorant of this topic and realise what's being done by our government: "There's no use pretending that you don't understand; with your arse in the air and your head in the sand."

Are you not in your fifties or something? Cringeworthy beyond belief if you're listening to this utter shite at that age IMO.

See the view, they boys Kent what it was aboot.kennin Dj's that get wasted. Eh Ken Dj's that get wasted. So relatable man. 

Same wi wearing jeans for 4 days. There's been times some o meh cleanest jeans were 3 day worn. How do they get me so well like? 

Are you not in your fifties or something? Cringeworthy beyond belief if you're listening to this utter shite at that age IMO.

No. I'm still hanging on to the 30s, but only just.

I heard his referendum song in a snooker hall last year, and liked it. I'd heard his name banded about by some of the kids in school and so gave him a listen.

I do like that you've decided folk in their 50s aren't allowed to listen to new music though. Cool.

See the view, they boys Kent what it was aboot.kennin Dj's that get wasted. Eh Ken Dj's that get wasted. So relatable man. 
Same wi wearing jeans for 4 days. There's been times some o meh cleanest jeans were 3 day worn. How do they get me so well like? 
The view were are a great wee band.

52 minutes ago, pandarilla said:

Hanging on to my 30s.

I heard his referendum song in a snooker hall last year, and liked it. I'd heard his name banded about by some of the kids in school and so gave him a listen.

I do like that you've decided folk in their 50s aren't allowed to listen to new music though. Cool.

An 18 year old will be able to write off enjoying this monstrosity of an act as the folly of youth; you as well as any actual 50 year olds listening to that unmitigated shite can not. 

I don't mind Gerry. He's like yer mate with a guitar. Songs are simple enough and I enjoy most of them.

It's easy to write it off as utter shite if yer not into it, in that self deprecating Scottish way.

About the best thing I can say about GC or Capaldi is that I didn't like Paulo Nutini at all when he first came out but softened on him later on (would be about the time Scream (Funk My Life Up) came out, I really liked it and that Lead in my Pencil was a solid toe tapper too. Iron Sky is probably my favourite from him that I've heard. Still can't stand Hey Jenny Don't Be Hasty, Would You Like A Chicken Pastie? tbh)

Would be betting on Capaldi and GC shitting out irredeemable garbage for the rest of their career though.

Also saw Paulo Nutini live at Rock Werchter a few years back and enjoyed it. *Maybe* they're good live performers, but I've no inclination to go and see either of them.

Pandarilla outing himself as a ned here with his love for The View and Cinnamon. What's your opinion of track suits and MD 20/20?
I was a bit of a ned when i was a teenager, very much following everyone else in school, with the exception of the few weird kids that went down the mosher/goth route. They got bullied so i didn't fancy that path.

I was on the edge of the neds, certainly not a leader, but yes, tracksuits and md20/20 were a part of my life for a couple of years.

When i was 17 i left ayr and went to uni in Glasgow, and quickly wised up. New pals got me telt and i had a ceremonial throwing out of my last tracksuit.

Since then I've gathered a pretty eclectic musical taste. I like a lot of old stuff, but my favourite genre is definitely guitar bands.

There's a load of old hip hop stuff i like, and at uni i had a bit of a metal phase as well. I also like folk music, or stuff with a political message, so a whole range of tastes.

I hear kids talking about new stuff in school so i like to try and listen along and pass judgments (not that they listen, or indeed give a f**k). I've never done the 6 music thing that a lot of folk that know their music do - but i still listen to the radio in the car and flick through music channels from time to time.