Cancel culture

I've always found the concept of a white actor going all out blackface absolutely comical to be honest. There's no way you can show up on screen and try to be taken seriously with a full Al Jolson face on. Even back in the day it must have been completely ridiculous looking.
Im also not at all offended by it, not because it's inoffensive content, but much in the same way it's not my place to tell people in minorities what isn't offensive, it's not my place either to tell them what is. I can't get on board at all with a pasty skinned wee bunch of 18 year old white guys telling other people what is and isn't culturally appropriate.
Lobbying hard to get a film or book removed from a school curriculum because you find the content to be uncomfortable is not revolutionary or forward thinking. In a completely ironic turn of events, it's actually a form of whitewashing. 

7 minutes ago, djchapsticks said:

I can't get on board at all with a pasty skinned wee bunch of 18 year old white guys telling other people what is and isn't culturally appropriate.

They're  missing out on Michael Bates classic portrayal of Rangi Ram in Kipling's Ain't  Half Hot Mum.

MV5BZWMwMTEwNmYtYjFjMC00NTI4LTkyMmQtNzFiMGY2ZjQxNmFiXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMzk5OTkyNDE@._V1_.jpg

19 hours ago, Detournement said:

The Chinese-American professor who is also a successful composer is no longer teaching the class and has been reported to various bodies that investigate racism because a bunch of 18 year old white students who have just arrived at university decided watching a mainstream Oscar nominated movie from the 60s was traumatic for them.

I'd say that's a cancelling pathetic.

FTFY

I would have thought the vocal opponents of Cancel Culture would've been all over this story. Concerned parents are attempting to drive a public school heidie out of her job because they think she worships the wrong deity. She doesn't of course but she does like Iron Maiden.

Parents Start Petition to Remove Iron Maiden-Loving School Principal for “Satanic” Imagery

🎼 "Freedom's just another word for living how we say" 🎵

There is a strange circular nature to 'cancel culture'. The right to express views (so long as they do not incite violence) is protected freedom of space - so is the right to try and shut down or 'cancel' these views.

So those complaining about cancel cutlure are themsleves trying to cancel someone else.

'Cancelling' views is not new and I would expect has been around since the invention of speech.

Nobody has the right to a platform, and there is nothing wrong, morally or otherwise, with students expressing their dissatisfaction at Tommy Robinson speaking at the Oxford Union (or whatever). Or, indeed, Tommy Robinson campaigning to stop Noam Chomsky speaking.

It absolutely has become a rallying cry for the right wing to incite the gullible and ignorant. Say something outrageous -> attract criticism -> complain about being cancelled -> it's not like the good ol days. This will have been a deliberate policy at some point in a think tank in the US.

The complete failure of Parler has confirmed that the noisy minority are less influential and widesprad than they think.

The most successful proponent of cancel culture is probably Mary Whitehouse. The least successful - David Camerons internet 'opt in' policy.

10 hours ago, Shotgun said:

I would have thought the vocal opponents of Cancel Culture would've been all over this story. Concerned parents are attempting to drive a public school heidie out of her job because they think she worships the wrong deity. She doesn't of course but she does like Iron Maiden.

Parents Start Petition to Remove Iron Maiden-Loving School Principal for “Satanic” Imagery

🎼 "Freedom's just another word for living how we say" 🎵

YES, heavy, hard grind or what ever the f**k you want to call the new cult. (I'm a dance lover), the day of music, ken.

Cancelled would be good, unfortunately,  we would have sweaty long haired, black t_shited zombies walking our streets. You every seen them drive? Oh that's goths, same rag.  

I'm wit  @oaksoft get these criminals of music in the sea. 

Guest Bob Mahelp
2 hours ago, Satoshi said:

There is a strange circular nature to 'cancel culture'. The right to express views (so long as they do not incite violence) is protected freedom of space - so is the right to try and shut down or 'cancel' these views.

So those complaining about cancel cutlure are themsleves trying to cancel someone else.

'Cancelling' views is not new and I would expect has been around since the invention of speech.

This. 

One of my favourite elements of the current 'cancel wars/woke' campaign being waged by right wing newspapers is their criticism of the BBC for being too left wing. 

These newspapers seem to be lacking any kind of self-awareness or irony. What they want of course, is to shut down opinions that they don't agree with, and they want the BBC to adopt a right wing, Fox news type slant on all its programmes. 

They're not interested in balance, or free speech. They want to 'cancel' everything that isn't conservative or right wing, by continually suggesting that all other opinions are somehow extreme, or ridiculous, or against normal values. 

I laugh at this, but then I realise that we have a government in place that is working hand in hand with the right wing media to help achieve this.

Dangerous times. 

Guest Bob Mahelp
34 minutes ago, Donathan said:

Las Vegas Raiders head coach John Gruden cancelled over 10 year old emails 

How can you cancel somebody ? 

What does that mean ? 

Guest Bob Mahelp
3 hours ago, Donathan said:

Las Vegas Raiders head coach John Gruden cancelled over 10 year old emails 

Looking at his comments on the e-mails , they're pretty damning and are hard to sweep under the carpet. 

However, he's recently given full support to a Raiders player who came out as gay. People change in 10 years, maybe he deserves to be cut a bit of slack. 

On 11/10/2021 at 05:56, Satoshi said:

The most successful proponent of cancel culture is probably Mary Whitehouse.

She's like Karl Marx in that her real impact wasn't felt until after her death. 

Auld Mary would be delighted with all the grown up children demanding their PG franchise movies and young adult novels.

2 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

https://bleacherreport.com/articles/10016466-peta-wants-mlb-to-start-calling-the-bullpen-an-arm-barn-over-treatment-of-cows

Every time I see nonsense like this I hope its the time someone laughs at the freaks that come up with it and tells them to "f**k off"

In what way is this related to ‘cancel culture’?

or news

Just now, Todd_is_God said:

and tells them to "f**k off"

Massive problem these days is simply not enough people are just told to "f**k off". It really is that simple.

For example;

"I'm offended" 

"Well f**k off then" :) 

"But, but, but..........I"

"Have you not fucked off yet?"  

On 11/10/2021 at 05:56, Satoshi said:

The most successful proponent of cancel culture is probably Mary Whitehouse. The least successful - David Camerons internet 'opt in' policy.

Might be yer da worrying, but it concerns me what free access to hard core porn from as young an age to have any interest in it does to normal growing up and expectations of relationships. It's notable that crotch shaving only became the norm after porn became free on the internet. You'd think if nunnerys were still widespread there would be queues of young teenage girls queuing to join up the way women are treated in mainstream porn. 

Edited by welshbairn