Right so rugby player goes to party gets Covid it’s okay there allowed to keep playing no punishment and that’s on top of fans getting preference compared to football but when football players did it games suspended players punished clubs punished and wee Nik threatens to cancel everything aye good one lol 

11 minutes ago, Sancho Panza said:

Lets say clubs agree to pay players/ management team expences of £20 per week per head x 20 =£400

12  weeks from 10th Oct til end of the year= £4800+ cost of training with no gate money, how many clubs could stomach that?

Fair point, this is why we need a bit of clarity on the process of allowing paying fans back in. I can’t see it being new year before it happens but without even knowing what the gov’s plans are towards the process then we are all just pissing in the wind at the moment

Lets say clubs agree to pay players/ management team expences of £20 per week per head x 20 =£400
12  weeks from 10th Oct til end of the year= £4800+ cost of training with no gate money, how many clubs could stomach that?

What’s the difference to what they are doing right now with friendlys?

30 minutes ago, Sancho Panza said:

It's about as meaningful as all the other hypotheticals. Mothballing the season would see some clubs suffer. Playing behind closed doors for an unknown period of time would see comes clubs suffer. Waiting to start for unknown period of time until fans can attend but under COVID guidelines will see some clubs suffer.

Edited by FairWeatherFan

23 minutes ago, Derry said:

Right so rugby player goes to party gets Covid it’s okay there allowed to keep playing no punishment and that’s on top of fans getting preference compared to football but when football players did it games suspended players punished clubs punished and wee Nik threatens to cancel everything aye good one lol 

Agree with your basic point …… but the only reason it was detected was because there testing players twice a week.

WoS player has asymmetric symptoms trains and plays with 20 other guys …… say he unwittingly infects 15% of his team mates that’ll be 3 who could go on to infect others 

So until we can test that is going to be the problem for all at our level

SPFL teams saying they won’t play Team from Championship and below unless they are tested can see why there asking for this as it blows everything that they’ve put in place out the water unless they are tested.

Agree with your basic point …… but the only reason it was detected was because there testing players twice a week.
WoS player has asymmetric symptoms trains and plays with 20 other guys …… say he unwittingly infects 15% of his team mates that’ll be 3 who could go on to infect others 
So until we can test that is going to be the problem for all at our level
SPFL teams saying they won’t play Team from Championship and below unless they are tested can see why there asking for this as it blows everything that they’ve put in place out the water unless they are tested.

We are coping at the moment what is competitive football going to do that makes it so much worse?

They are the playing in France not in Scotland as the Pro14 is finished for the year. The decision was up to the French authorities and European Champions Cup organisers who decided that they could play. Not saying it’s right but it’s nothing to do with the Scottish government as they are not playing in Scotland.

Edited to add: Aberdeen and Celtic weren’t punished the games were off due to a public health decision. Look at St Mirren who lost 3 keepers and still had to play games. You could argue that the games being off benefited the clubs.

1 hour ago, striker9 said:

We are coping at the moment what is competitive football going to do that makes it so much worse?

Take it your one of those that think it was ok for a bus trip from the Rhondda to Racing at Doncaster that the were not even going to be allowed into was ok !!! 

This virus thrives on enclosed space a contact the sooner a lot of people realise that the better. Instead of this I’m all right jack attitude 

4 hours ago, theesel1994 said:

This is my fear - that they start the season hoping only one or two games are behind closed doors and then Wee Nippy comes along and moves the goalposts but the season has then started so they have to continue.

Clubs need to get real, the restrictions are in place for a reason, nobody is doing it to piss clubs or fans off.  I’ve heard loads of clubs saying we need fans, but I’ve yet to hear one saying we are definitely not starting without them. Either come out and make a definitive statement or stop bitching about it.

You just stay in the house and lock yourself away and the people who want to get on with life will.

Take it your one of those that think it was ok for a bus trip from the Rhondda to Racing at Doncaster that the were not even going to be allowed into was ok !!! 
This virus thrives on enclosed space a contact the sooner a lot of people realise that the better. Instead of this I’m all right jack attitude 

1 hour ago, Arthurlie1981 said:

They are the playing in France not in Scotland as the Pro14 is finished for the year. The decision was up to the French authorities and European Champions Cup organisers who decided that they could play. Not saying it’s right but it’s nothing to do with the Scottish government as they are not playing in Scotland.

Edited to add: Aberdeen and Celtic weren’t punished the games were off due to a public health decision. Look at St Mirren who lost 3 keepers and still had to play games. You could argue that the games being off benefited the clubs.

Did Celtic and Aberdeen and players not get punished ? 
but what I basically meant was when it’s football they are way over the top but rugby seems to get it a little lighter as it’s a posh boy game lol

10 minutes ago, andy25 said:

You just stay in the house and lock yourself away and the people who want to get on with life will.

Hope none of your close family or any of your friends catch the virus …… if they do it might change your opinion / attitude to it

Healthy 48 year old male taken to hospital end of April died 8 days later … … Brings a bit of reality to it when is someone you know 

Anyway you away down the park and play all you want with your mates 

Edited by Lobby Dossar

Healthy people die every day. My dad was healthy dropped dead with a heart attack.
Life goes on.

Hope none of your close family or any of your friends catch the virus …… if they do it might change your opinion / attitude to it
Healthy 48 year old male taken to hospital end of April died 8 days later … … Brings a bit of reality to it when is someone you know 
Anyway you away down the park and play all you want with your mates 

Did Celtic and Aberdeen and players not get punished ? 
but what I basically meant was when it’s football they are way over the top but rugby seems to get it a little lighter as it’s a posh boy game lol

As someone from Barrhead who played rugby for almost 20 years I can say it’s not all posh boys lol!!

I get your point and the players will be punished. Scottish rugby have only just found out about it in the last few days and it took almost 4 weeks for the SFA to punish the Aberdeen 8 and The Celtic 1, the 4 of them will be punished and Scottish rugby had a history of heavy punishments for things of this nature.

I don’t see the double standard tbh, the test event we don’t know exactly what the issue was but obviously Public Health Scotland had one which meant they cancelled the Celtic test event while allowing the Murrayfield one to go ahead but the results of the events are shared across the sporting scene in Scotland so it benefits football as much as rugby.

Going back to our level, if some of the rumours doing the rounds are true about next weeks announcements I do worry about the impact they will have on restarting the game never mind getting fans into grounds.

Ok guys as survey time comes closer let’s have a wee look at the questions 

will fans be allowed in ? Don’t know 

will club survive without gate money ?no

Are you allowed to use the showers  ? Don’t know 

is that a health risk in the winter months  ? Possibly yes 

can the full league season be completed ? Don’t know 

how ca  you vote yes on the unknown. Yes we all want to play and watch football . It’s our life and blood but there becomes a point that you have to close the drain. You can’t keep emptying the well . The clubs have had no financial support from the Sfa. The big clubs all got £50,000 to help we got SFA . Some big clubs gave their donation away to their charity foundations could they not have helped out the lower league clubs and gave a donation to the associations. Let’s look very closely at the situation lots of Managers and players  would like season to start they are hoping to get paid but club officials and volunteers are working their baws aff to make sure their clubs survive selling raffles getting sponsorship etc when nobody knows what’s happening unfortunately I think it’s a defo no go this season and hope everybody does the most sensible thing when the survey comes out . Don’t vote on the unknown vote on what info is available . A referee when inspecting the pitch on a wi gers morning can’t say pitch will be thawed out by 2 pm . More clubs will survive and come back a lot stronger if we wait and start next season. 

I think the part you may be missing is that you dont get to decide what happens in the country. Neither does the WOSFL, neither does the SFA.
It doesnt matter if you disagree with the restrictions put in place, that doesnt stop them.
All these people saying
'Wake up, this is all fake, it's not serious, wee cold, we need to get on with it, it will be with us for years, clubs will shut, we need football for mental health, you are all sheep, the tests are crap, dont get tests blah blah blah need to remember;

This government do not give a flying f**k about your opinion. They are a shoe in next year.
If the infection rate continues to rise, further restrictions will follow. Simple as that. The more people rebel, the worse the restrictions will go.
Sturgeon does not care about football. That's why she sends the wee plum Leitch to talk about it. It doesnt matter.

People either do what they are told, or football stops for a long time.
She doesnt care about non league football, no one that makes any big decisions care.

The implications of the virus are far worse than the virus itself. Everyone knows that. Not everyone is stupid enough to think that just doing what you want is the answer.