Bookcase background

2 hours ago, Falcor Roar said:

I've got that same 'Football Grounds of Great Britain' book on loan from a work colleague. Excellent photos of an era which was fading out by the time I starting going to games as a child.  The section on safety, which was written prior to Hillsborough, was notable as the conclusions were that a disaster of the scale of the Bradford incident would be unlikely to happen again. 

The football grounds of Europe is interesting in that it was published just before World Cup 1990 and has sections on and photos of old Communist era grounds in Poland, Bulgaria, East Germany, Czechoslovakia, Yugoslavia, Albania, Romania and the Soviet Union.

2 hours ago, Wee Willie said:

I have a virtual library of over 200 books in pdf format.

They range from a ‘Shipwreck of the Antelope’ published in 1783 to the 2017 publication of the UK Labour Party manifesto and the Scottish Labour Party manifesto of the same year. I have loads of books on the American Civil War and the French Revolution. Most of the books are downloaded from the American and Canadian Libraries. I preface each title with the year so my books are always in chronological order

https://archive.org/details/americana

Aye I'm the same. Places like Verso, Repeater and Pluto typically offer a free ebook with physical purchases and Verso in particularly regularly offer like 80/90% off their ebooks alone. 

Don't tell anyone but z library has millions of free ebooks available to download as well if your only alternative is paying 40 quid off Amazon

19 minutes ago, Fullerene said:

He seems to be missing this one.  Has an interesting chapter on the kilt.

Invention of Tradition.jpg

Great book. That and Benedict Anderson's Imagined Communities are two essentials on nationalism.

I have a virtual library of over 200 books in pdf format.

They range from a ‘Shipwreck of the Antelope’ published in 1783 to the 2017 publication of the UK Labour Party manifesto and the Scottish Labour Party manifesto of the same year. I have loads of books on the American Civil War and the French Revolution. Most of the books are downloaded from the American and Canadian Libraries. I preface each title with the year so my books are always in chronological order

https://archive.org/details/americana

The Project Gutenberg website is also good for free pdf books that are in the public domain.

This thread's reminding me of work. So many books that people regularly donate to us, including Stuart Cosgrove's music book  :lol:

I'm re-arranging the house at the moment. Here are the bookcases I can get to:

Be kind, it's a work in progress:

FehW4N7.jpg

More of the work to be progressed. Could someone photoshop one of Throbber's rainbow dick pics into the photoframe? Thanks.

5QAFfWO.jpg

...and, finally, one of the movie bookcases.

148yUpx.jpg

18 hours ago, NotThePars said:

Aye I'm the same. Places like Verso, Repeater and Pluto typically offer a free ebook with physical purchases and Verso in particularly regularly offer like 80/90% off their ebooks alone. 

Aye, but I'm talking about books that are out of print.

American Civil War, French Revolution, California God Rush all written in the 1800's/early 1900's.

18 hours ago, Silverton End said:

The Project Gutenberg website is also good for free pdf books that are in the public domain.

I'd forgotten about that website. I used to frequent it many moons ago.

20+ years ago I used to frequent a great second-hand bookstore in Inverness.

It was in a disused church. Bags of space.

Is it still there?

It is, they've closed the cafe though which is a shame. Think he mainly does internet sales now.

http://forreadingaddicts.co.uk/bookshop-reviews/leakeys-bookshop-and-cafe-inverness

43 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

It is, they've closed the cafe though which is a shame. Think he mainly does internet sales now.

http://forreadingaddicts.co.uk/bookshop-reviews/leakeys-bookshop-and-cafe-inverness

Aye that's the place.

It was brilliant. I used to be (still am) into genealogy and I got loads of auld Scottish books + guide books + others.

Also a brilliant place just to browse.

2 minutes ago, Wee Willie said:

Aye that's the place.

It was brilliant. I used to be (still am) into genealogy and I got loads of auld Scottish books + guide books + others.

Also a brilliant place just to browse.

Used to have a great cafe until a couple of years ago. Massive bacon rolls and bowls of soup. Sure they sold a lot more books that way but I think the owner couldn't be bothered with the hassle. Bit of a miserable c**t, happier on his own and the internet. You can search through his book stock here.

https://www.abebooks.com/leakeys-bookshop-ltd-inverness/4602580/sf

15 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Used to have a great cafe until a couple of years ago. Massive bacon rolls and bowls of soup. Sure they sold a lot more books that way but I think the owner couldn't be bothered with the hassle. Bit of a miserable c**t, happier on his own and the internet. You can search through his book stock here.

https://www.abebooks.com/leakeys-bookshop-ltd-inverness/4602580/sf

Brings back happy memories.

4 minutes ago, Fullerene said:

.. and a bridge and a castle.

I dinnae think Barra has a bridge

3 hours ago, Wee Willie said:

20+ years ago I used to frequent a great second-hand bookstore in Inverness.

It was in a disused church. Bags of space.

Is it still there?

Second hand bookshops are pretty much on the way out. There was a good one in Montrose that was full of classic old Penguin paperbacks. The shelves were overflowing and there were knee high  piles of books on the floor. It was staffed by a plummy voiced English woman who was listening to cricket on the radio any time I went in.

There was another good one on Perth Road in Dundee owned by this hilarious old guy who wouldn't let you leave until he 'd  cracked a load of jokes. I was often in there for half an hour or so after buying a book listening to his patter.

Both of these shops are long gone.

1 minute ago, tongue_tied_danny said:

Second hand bookshops are pretty much on the way out. There was a good one in Montrose that was full of classic old Penguin paperbacks. The shelves were overflowing and there were knee high  piles of books on the floor. It was staffed by a plummy voiced English woman who was listening to cricket on the radio any time I went in.

There was another good one on Perth Road in Dundee owned by this hilarious old guy who wouldn't let you leave until he 'd  cracked a load of jokes. I was often in there for half an hour or so after buying a book listening to his patter.

Guy I know had 3 or 4 second hand bookshops in North Wales and over the border. Think he's closed them all and just sells on the internet from a shed. Still a big business, but you're more or less limited to crappy selections in charity shops now for moseying around. Haven't been to London for years, hope there's still a few interesting wee ones on Charing Cross Road.

4 hours ago, tongue_tied_danny said:

Since Edinburgh City got promoted I miss trips to Innerleithen to play Vale of Leithen. There was a good second hand book shop there, a good ice cream shop and you could get well pished in the Traquair Arms Hotel on the local ale.

It’s funny that one area of Edinburgh where second hand and specialist booksellers are common is also most known for lap dancing bars. Clearly a big crossover between the bookish and the stag weekends.

2 hours ago, ThatBoyRonaldo said:

Been meaning to read that for ages but had slightly worried it would be a bit too scholarly - I tend to prefer Hobsbawm at his less theoretical, but I'm sure I'll read it at some point.

Each chapter is by a different author apart from the introduction and conclusion which are both by Hobsbawn.