What are the things you hate regarding fitba?

10 hours ago, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said:

They can speak about the game all they want.  I like Honigstein and others, but never as analysts as they're not qualified to analyse a game.  You get whats his name that fat bellend whose nose is constantly up Messi's arse he does analysis and co-commentary now, never kicked a ball in his life.

What the f**k would a fat journalist know about top level football?  They can research events round it and write about it, but the game itself should be left to people who know what they're talking about and to do that you have to have played it.

I mean by all means as a journalist tell us who Barca are signing or what's going on round the club, but don't start giving us your opinion on whether they can play a back 3 or who they should have signed, cause you don't have a clue what you're talking about, and I don't want to hear a layman's opinion, if I did I can get that in the Spar.  I want to hear the opinion only of people who know what they're talking about cause they played for Liverpool or something.

I can't remember his name the fat p***k with the annoying face, anyway last year before Liverpool Atleti he was saying in the studio, and actually cut off and arrogantly corrected a couple of ex players saying there's no way Atleti can win tonight its impossible cause they lack the intensity of old just now, its just not there. All smug and arrogant as if he is educating them.  Now if he'd actually played football, he would know the adrenaline of a big night like that will get them through, so the intensity will definitely be there for one game.  And it was, and Atleti won 1-0.

You also get Graham Hunter doing co-commentary now as the expert analyst.  This is a guy who has never played pub football.

I assumed graham hunter was the guy you were talking about😂

1 minute ago, highlandcowden said:

I assumed graham hunter was the guy you were talking about😂

Nah he's even worse I mean the one that's actually from Barcelona.  With the stupid wee moustache.

But see like Hunter's book about Barca I'd read that, these people can write and do good research, if they have good stories to relate that's great.  Its when they start to position themselves as pundits or analysts that it really boils my piss.  I want to hear what Ruud Gullit or Greame Souness have to say, not some jobber journalist.

9 minutes ago, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said:

Nah he's even worse I mean the one that's actually from Barcelona.  With the stupid wee moustache.

But see like Hunter's book about Barca I'd read that, these people can write and do good research, if they have good stories to relate that's great.  Its when they start to position themselves as pundits or analysts that it really boils my piss.  I want to hear what Ruud Gullit or Greame Souness have to say, not some jobber journalist.

I do hope youre not referring to the marvelous guillem balague!!!!!

33 minutes ago, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said:

Aye that c**t.  Got ideas way above his stations in recent years.

used to love him on revista la liga when I had Sky years back.dunno what hes like nowadays

backwhen I watched revista graham hunter was a blowhard c**t utterly in love with his own voice,hes ten times worse now

5 minutes ago, highlandcowden said:

used to love him on revista la liga when I had Sky years back.dunno what hes like nowadays

backwhen I watched revista graham hunter was a blowhard c**t utterly in love with his own voice,hes ten times worse now

Aye he does good work, but now he is in the studio before games as an analyst giving expert opinion, and Hunter does co-commentary as the expert analyst.  Its gone way too far, bet neither of them could trap a bag of cement. 

I was watching Real Madrid and Hunter was telling us what pass Modric should have chosen aye right you are son that's like me standing behind Da Vinci going maybe give her a wee moustache for comic effect.

14 hours ago, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said:

Aye he does good work, but now he is in the studio before games as an analyst giving expert opinion, and Hunter does co-commentary as the expert analyst.  Its gone way too far, bet neither of them could trap a bag of cement. 

I was watching Real Madrid and Hunter was telling us what pass Modric should have chosen aye right you are son that's like me standing behind Da Vinci going maybe give her a wee moustache for comic effect.

Mourinho never played professional football and got involved as a translator for Bobby Robson - watching and learning. 

All of it.

As an auld c**t, I care more about my 3 granddaughters these days than about fitba. I still go through the motions and watch about 60-80 games a season but if you're brought up a working class boy that's what you do. I think maybe about 3 times a year you come away smiling because you've seen something magical. The rest of the time the game is shite and if you're lucky you've had a couple of pints and a bit of banter to make it worthwhile.

One thing I've always wondered though... is it just a generational thing? We used to rip the pish out of our old English teacher, Sammy Paterson, because he was always telling us that modern football was shite. We thought he had played for Queen's Park and/or Motherwell, but he wouldn't tell us whether it was true or not.

Or is it more than that? Many, maybe the majority, of the forum users cannot imagine life pre-internet. The rest of us couldn't get enough fitba. We only got half an hour of highlights on 2 channels. We didn't get MotD, just a snippet of  English football at the end. It wasn't of a significantly higher standard than ours either and there were plenty of Scots on the pitch. If you missed it you couldn't record it. You only got the cup final and Scotland games live usually.
On a Saturday you could usually get lifted over the turnstiles for free but even then the boys gate in the early 1970s cost about 10p and the men paid about 25p. Inflation doesn't account for what you pay nowadays. Some of the crowds were incredible and occasionally you worried about being crushed rather than the score.
You could see guys like Greig, Dalglish, Stanton, McGrain, in the flesh, taking on the likes of Cruyff, Muller, Beckenbaer, and expecting to win. Hibs had a good side back then and you could watch opponents from exotic sounding cities like Porto, Ljubljana, Hamburg and Zagreb without ever imagining you could later in life hop on an EasyJet flight there.
You got magazines like Goal and Shoot and read them from cover to cover. You probably passed the rest of the week playing fitba since you were that hungry for anything connected to it.

Nowadays you can get as much fitba as you can stomach. You can watch league fitba nearly every night on tv. There are websites to give you interviews, highlights and stats plus loads of irrelevant shite 24/7. You can get console games that are almost like the real thing, whereas we only had Subbuteo. The globalisation of the game means that you have a few elite high earners who are completely remote from their public and need to live in gated communities, while at grassroots level there's no longer any talent to watch as they've all been siphoned off to academies and the like. 
This is not meant to be a curmudgeonly rant, no need to run the Hovis music, I'm just genuinely curious as to whether young kids get the same sense of wonder. I suppose they probably do.

TL;dr : you never missed much.

Edited by The Mantis

2 hours ago, KingRocketman II said:

Mourinho never played professional football and got involved as a translator for Bobby Robson - watching and learning. 

Aye he's proved he knows what he's talking about, that's different.  And I think his management style is hindered cause he didn't play, he makes unrealistic demands on his players and takes all the joy out of it, so it has no longevity.

Guest TheJTS98
12 hours ago, The Mantis said:

One thing I've always wondered though... is it just a generational thing? We used to rip the pish out of our old English teacher, Sammy Paterson, because he was always telling us that modern football was shite.

I think it is in part generational, yes.

There's the obvious point that many things in life become less exciting as you get older and life changes. I'm not as excited about Christmas this year as I was as a kid. And in the same way I remember reading football magazines cover to cover, scouring the Rothman's book, watching any football tapes I could get my hands on, etc. One of my mates passed me a few copies of 442 he had in his flat a couple of months ago. They're still sitting unread in my living room.

I grew into football as a kid in the early 90s, so it was mainly Sportscene, Scotsport, Football Italia, and Champions League games on ITV (as well as playing usually Saturday morning, Sunday morning, Sunday afternoon plus training twice a week). But I was also very lucky to have a broad network of family, neighbours etc to take me to see loads of games live. Didn't matter who I was going to watch, I absolutely loved it in a way that is hard to capture as an adult. That's just life. People could say the same about live music, tv, film, travel, etc.

But there is also part of me that just thinks football is objectively worse than it used to be. It's too stratified and at the top level is moving away from being an actual sport into a simple money-making celebrity-based entertainment form for the simple-minded. The Champions League, for example, has taken what used to be a hugely enjoyable rarity and made it dull. I remember how excited I was about watching Barcelona - Milan in the 94 European Cup final. f**k me, Barcelona v Milan on telly! I think I've watched two European Cup finals in the last decade. It's dull now. The glamour isn't glamorous because it's been over-done, and the money is so big that surprises are few.

But then, when I loved fitba as a kid loads of older people I knew insisted it was pish then too and you should have seen the 60s etc etc etc.

So, I suppose it's about finding what interests you. There's a lot of football out there.

Edited by TheJTS98

13 hours ago, The Mantis said:

On a Saturday you could usually get lifted over the turnstiles for free but even then the boys gate in the early 1970s cost about 10p and the men paid about 25p. Inflation doesn't account for what you pay nowadays. Some of the crowds were incredible and occasionally you worried about being crushed rather than the score.

Nowadays you can get as much fitba as you can stomach. You can watch league fitba nearly every night on tv. There are websites to give you interviews, highlights and stats plus loads of irrelevant shite 24/7. You can get console games that are almost like the real thing, whereas we only had Subbuteo. The globalisation of the game means that you have a few elite high earners who are completely remote from their public and need to live in gated communities, while at grassroots level there's no longer any talent to watch as they've all been siphoned off to academies and the like. 
This is not meant to be a curmudgeonly rant, no need to run the Hovis music, I'm just genuinely curious as to whether young kids get the same sense of wonder. I suppose they probably do.

TL;dr : you never missed much.

I'm 25 and still remember getting lifted over the turnstile at every home game, back when the turnstile was waist height and nobody gave a f**k. Also remember getting a season book and being raging cause for whatever reason we had missed the first game of the season, so the first ticket was still there for the rest of the season.

Like you say, nowadays there is just way too much available. You can watch games all day Saturday and Sunday and every night during the week, more recently 2 a day when the CL/EL is on. Today you could probably watch 15 games a week just containing English teams and the vast majority of those games will be awful. It was much better with a couple CL games during the week on ITV, the 2pm Scottish game on Setanta, some times the 4pm game in England and a La Liga game in the evening. I watch American Football and despite it being ridiculously commercialised I'd go out of my way to watch it over any football game not involving the team I support. Maybe it's cause it's only on half the year or the quality is better but they only have games on a Sunday, Monday Night and more recently Thursdays. If the only games of the week were Burnley v West Ham and Newcastle v Southampton I would be much inclined to watch them than if they were on 7 days/nights a week.

17 hours ago, TheJTS98 said:

I

But there is also part of me that just thinks football is objectively worse than it used to be. It's too stratified and at the top level is moving away from being an actual sport into a simple money-making celebrity-based entertainment form for the simple-minded. The Champions League, for example, has taken what used to be a hugely enjoyable rarity and made it dull. I remember how excited I was about watching Barcelona - Milan in the 94 European Cup final. f**k me, Barcelona v Milan on telly! I think I've watched two European Cup finals in the last decade. It's dull now. The glamour isn't glamorous because it's been over-done, and the money is so big that surprises are few.

its too interested in making as much money as possible which has resulted in them working their golden goose to death.they just don't get that sometimes less is more

That may be the case in Scotland but the vast majority of the world don't care about their national league. You have grown men in places like Guatemala who've never been to a stadium in their life shedding tears over a Barcelona pumping.

Think xG might have to be the worst thing I've seen crop up very recently. I think there's sports where the stats side of it seems to work well, like NFL for example, but that level of analysis in fitba just makes me want to Kurt Cobain the instant I hear it. I'd far rather everyone just spoke from a place of total ignorance, gut feeling, and bias TBH (to be honest). Imagine going for a pint after the game and hitting out with the xG stats for the lads. Mortifying.

Think xG might have to be the worst thing I've seen crop up very recently. I think there's sports where the stats side of it seems to work well, like NFL for example, but that level of analysis in fitba just makes me want to Kurt Cobain the instant I hear it.

Never mind

Once again, this feckin' new handball law. And not just because Killie fell foul of it yesterday, I've been hating it for a while now.

Needs to be reduced to an indirect free kick for anything other than a deliberate attempt to catch or punch the ball.

Guest TheJTS98
31 minutes ago, Lurkst said:

Once again, this feckin' new handball law. And not just because Killie fell foul of it yesterday, I've been hating it for a while now.

Needs to be reduced to an indirect free kick for anything other than a deliberate attempt to catch or punch the ball.

I agree with you on handball, but I think this could be extended to trivial penalty-box fouls in general.

A penalty gives a team a 76% chance of scoring, apparently, and I've long felt that they are given out too easily.

An example is Celtic's penalty in this League Cup semi-final. It's a foul, but it's a nothing foul. Certainly an absolutely trivial moment on which to give a team a lead in a cup semi-final. Should be a free kick, imo. Penalties should be given out sparingly.