What are the things you hate regarding fitba?

Just now, 19QOS19 said:
4 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:
If you got the chance to live this day again, would you do anything differently?

Not engaged with him in the first place probably. And have pizza for tea instead of chicken.

At least you've learned something.

Apologies if this has been covered already.

I hate Sky Sports Crowds. It's really awful.

As the main football experience comes via tv or online games  right now I do appreciate the amount of live games available to distract me from this ongoing shitstorm but for the life of me I cannot understand why anyone would like canned footy atmosphere noises in the background. It brings nothing to the experience and usually lags a second behind play. Call me old fashioned but I much prefer the stadium sound only option and the shouts of the players telling each other to "f**k off you fucking c**t" followed by the obligatory commentator "sorry if you picked up any bad language there" apology.

If there is a sky sports crowd moaning thread and I have missed it please post a link. I would like to moan my tits off further on this subject.

As the main football experience comes via tv or online games  right now I do appreciate the amount of live games available to distract me from this ongoing shitstorm but for the life of me I cannot understand why anyone would like canned footy atmosphere noises in the background. It brings nothing to the experience and usually lags a second behind play. Call me old fashioned but I much prefer the stadium sound only option and the shouts of the players telling each other to "f**k off you fucking c**t" followed by the obligatory commentator "sorry if you picked up any bad language there" apology.
If there is a sky sports crowd moaning thread and I have missed it please post a link. I would like to moan my tits off further on this subject.
It's a horrible constant noise. I can't stand it, but I wondered recently whether they might end up keeping it for some games even when fans are back.

On 15/01/2021 at 08:21, accies1874 said:
On 14/01/2021 at 22:07, K77 said:

It's a horrible constant noise. I can't stand it, but I wondered recently whether they might end up keeping it for some games even when fans are back.

Maybe the BBC and Alba will buy the crowd noise tapes for the games in the diddy leagues they cover.

I don't mind the crowd noise. Anything to drown out some moron ex professional talking shite and pointing out the glaringly obvious in a game. 

I think this has been covered before on this thread but no fans at games has made me really notice how bad the pundits are on TV.

kris boyd and Steve mcmannaman being front runners for the c**tiest pundit on TV at the moment. 

People who critique the team line up before kick off. Hearts fans done it yesterday something rotten, but then we won 3-1. Just bizarre behaviour if you ask me.

I very seldom read the line up pre-match these days. Especially when going to the games. I like seeing the team and figuring out who's playing where. Sure, it's nice to check and see if a new signing starts, or a big player returns from injury, or even a young talent makes the team, but it's going to probably be very similar to the team we used last week?

Hearts fans were up in arms yesterday that Mackay-Steven, Boyce, Naismith and Ginnelly were all on the bench. 1 is a new signing who's maybe not match sharp, 2 have had fitness issues in recent weeks and one is 34 years old. The manager evaluates these players all week at training, then decides on that evaluation, whether it's a good idea to play these players or not.  He knows better than you. Accept it.

3 hours ago, Connor1874 said:

The manager evaluates these players all week at training, then decides on that evaluation, whether it's a good idea to play these players or not.  He knows better than you. Accept it.

Try having Jim McInally or Jonatan Johannson as manager first, before claiming that with a straight face.

Edited by vikingTON

Try having Jim McInally or Jonatan Johannson as manager first, before claiming that with a straight face.
Or James McPake. My mother's decrepit fucking Labrador has probably identified that Jack Hamilton is a clownshoes keeper quicker than that clueless c**t.

3 hours ago, Andre Drazen said:

"The manager knows better than you" is such an obvious blatant attempt to shut down any criticism of a lineup and should never be taken seriously.

It's true though. In the case of Hearts yesterday, who knows more? Wee Davie on Twitter who thinks the team is shite, or Pro Licence coach Robbie Neilson? Alas, Hearts won comfortably.

Guest TheJTS98
16 hours ago, Connor1874 said:

People who critique the team line up before kick off. Hearts fans done it yesterday something rotten, but then we won 3-1. Just bizarre behaviour if you ask me.

I very seldom read the line up pre-match these days. Especially when going to the games. I like seeing the team and figuring out who's playing where. Sure, it's nice to check and see if a new signing starts, or a big player returns from injury, or even a young talent makes the team, but it's going to probably be very similar to the team we used last week?

Hearts fans were up in arms yesterday that Mackay-Steven, Boyce, Naismith and Ginnelly were all on the bench. 1 is a new signing who's maybe not match sharp, 2 have had fitness issues in recent weeks and one is 34 years old. The manager evaluates these players all week at training, then decides on that evaluation, whether it's a good idea to play these players or not.  He knows better than you. Accept it.

Agree. I thought the fuss was ridiculous.

We weren't playing Real Madrid, our opponents had lost 7 of 11 league games, and the coach clearly thought we could rest some players and still have enough to win the game. And we did. Obviously a strong bench to use if things had gone wrong, too.

I put that kind of thing down to the existence of Twitter. It just snowballs shite like that and people feel they have to join in with the crowd.

Edited by TheJTS98

Agree. I thought the fuss was ridiculous.
We weren't playing Real Madrid, our opponents had lost 7 of 11 league games, and the coach clearly thought we could rest some players and still have enough to win the game. And we did. Obviously a strong bench to use if things had gone wrong, too.
I put that kind of thing down to the existence of Twitter. It just snowballs shite like that and people feel they have to join in with the crowd.

Everybody eventually grows out of saying “I could have done a better job of playing football than that professional football player did” as middle age approaches

but we’re never too old to be legendary managers in our own heads

On 17/01/2021 at 16:06, Andre Drazen said:

"The manager knows better than you" is such an obvious blatant attempt to shut down any criticism of a lineup and should never be taken seriously.

Aye, this argument that folk who've watched hundreds and hundreds of live football matches through their lives can't know anything about the game because they never jobbed about playing for Montrose or the like is ridiculous. Coincidentally, it's exclusively thrown about only when someone disagrees with the person saying it.

Edited by Gordon EF

5 minutes ago, Gordon EF said:

Aye, this argument that folk who've watched hundreds and hundreds of live football matches through their lives can't know anything about the game because they never jobbed about playing for Montrose or the like is ridiculous. Coincidentally, it's exclusively thrown about only when someone disagrees with the person saying it.

Kind of, but if you didn't play to at least a half decent level you would never really get a decent understanding of the game. That's why I object to people like I can't remember their names Graham Hunter and the smarmy Spanish c**t being co-commentators.

See even someone like Robbie Savage who is a fuckin clown, five minutes on a training ground with him he could teach you an awful lot. Its their profession, they spend years doing it every day with other people who are incredibly good at it.  Its naive to think they don't learn an awful lot.

I mean if you watched ballet every day for ten years would you feel qualified to tell one of the top ballet dancers in the world all about ballet?   So why is football any different?

Even guys that play for Montrose were the best player in their school, then the best player at boys club, then had to establish themselves in the pro game.  They've seen a lot and been through a lot just to get to Montrose and they have learned a lot too. You can see why they get a bit affronted when some fat accountant that didn't get a game for their primary school starts trying to tell them about the game.

2 minutes ago, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said:

Kind of, but if you didn't play to at least a half decent level you would never really get a decent understanding of the game. That's why I object to people like I can't remember their names Graham Hunter and the smarmy Spanish c**t being co-commentators.

See even someone like Robbie Savage who is a fuckin clown, five minutes on a training ground with him he could teach you an awful lot. Its their profession, they spend years doing it every day with other people who are incredibly good at it.  Its naive to think they don't learn an awful lot.

I mean if you watched ballet every day for ten years would you feel qualified to tell one of the top ballet dancers in the world all about ballet?   So why is football any different?

Even guys that play for Montrose were the best player in their school, then the best player at boys club, then had to establish themselves in the pro game.  They've seen a lot and been through a lot just to get to Montrose and they have learned a lot too. You can see why they get a bit affronted when some fat accountant that didn't get a game for their primary school starts trying to tell them about the game.

I get absolutely that guys who've played at higher levels will understand the game better (or more particularly, certain aspects of it much better), on average, than guys who haven't. That's not what I'm arguing. 

But there's plenty of examples of great players being absolutely shite managers and very mediocre players (or even people who never played professionally, being excellent managers). That alone suggests there's not some extremely neat and tight correlation between footballing ability and football understanding.

Are ex-Montrose players as a group going to understand football better than fat accountants as a group? Yes. Does every ex-Montrose player understand football better than every fat accountant? Almost certainly not.