Things that will be different after the lockdown

13 minutes ago, Michael W said:

There will likely be a lot of paranoia (often unjustified) from people that will take a long, long time to dissipate. 

Yup. A lot of people will become reclusive and will go out of their way to avoid contact with anybody. 

It's good in a way, it shows the weak and keeps the streets clear of weirdos. 

8 hours ago, paranoid android said:

With all the emphasis on hand-hygiene, surely greeting people with handshakes will be a thing of the past? Tb be replaced with fist-bumps - or is that still iffy?

What about hugs?

Will people take to wearing masks as a habit?

Will the footballer's gob be massively frowned-upon? I had already read about spitting potentially being outlawed before the lockdown.

Or will people just revert to pre-lockdown behaviour?

I'll still be a tedious c**t, obviously.

1/6 isn't bad.

I think people will just revert to pre lockdown behaviour, imo.

8 hours ago, paranoid android said:

Probably.

Is handshaking not believed to be a major cause of spreading germs, though? Even before this pandemic?

Surely lessons have to be learned? 

They've never been learned before, so why should it be different this time?

7 hours ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

Bet it became widespread because Caesar was seen out with one tucked into his laurel.

Carry On Doctor (1967)  Kenneth Williams as Dr.Kenneth Tinkle

3 minutes ago, jagfox99 said:

Less people jogging and going to parks...

I'd hope that the lockdown causes people to appreciate green spaces more in towns and cities.  Having a wee boy we go to parks quite a lot and the way people leave them is a disgrace - dog dirt everywhere, litter, vandalism, broken glass on paths.  It's extremely depressing to see the number of selfish idiots who cause these problems.  

Just now, paranoid android said:

It is different this time - we've never had a lockdown before.

I'm sure the last time "lessons need to be learned" whatever caused the required lesson learning hadn't happened before either.

Proving you can work successfully at home and getting employers to accept that as the norm are two entirely different things !

Folk will surely leave the cities realising that they can get so much more for their money elsewhere and have a much better work life balance. Pretty much everyone has proved they can work from home so shouldn't be an issue.
Also air travel will drop for a while especially if some airlines go bust as this will probably push up the prices of air travel. 
I would hope folk spend their money more locally and we can ditch the UK but that might be wishful thinking.

Proving you can work successfully at home and getting employers to accept that as the norm are two entirely different things !
There a big benefits to employers too. They will be able to down size their city centre office saving a fortune in rent, heating etc.

Pornhub will start charging again.

The SPFL  will still be arguing about the colour of white dug’ shit while all other leagues have resumed.

All sorts of establishments will follow what supermarkets are doing and have limited numbers inside, with queuing systems.

Gerry Cinnamon will be fcuked if he thinks he’s still going to be playing to a sold-out Hampden.

Care homes will be having recruitment drives. Anyone taking up residence gets a free pen from Michael Parkinson.

...that’s it. Everything else, including Morton being shite, will revert to normal.

More working from home

Face masks will be relatively normal

Even more racism and protectionism as people blame others for the problems

Less public transport usage

Bars and restaurants won't recover and most of the ones that aren't used for money laundering will go out of business

The companies which are the biggest arseholes throughout the crisis will eventually thrive

I would hope maybe a reduction  in pollution but I think eventually normality will return.

Many of the opportunities to create a new better normal will not happen and like after the financial crisis the arseholes will still be in charge

I'd hope that the lockdown causes people to appreciate green spaces more in towns and cities.  Having a wee boy we go to parks quite a lot and the way people leave them is a disgrace - dog dirt everywhere, litter, vandalism, broken glass on paths.  It's extremely depressing to see the number of selfish idiots who cause these problems.  
It's not just that though, my dad used to work with the council and said that the local park had over a dozen full time gardeners and others who helped with the other green spaces. That's been cut back to three part time guys who are just there to fire fight any problems and blitz over the grass a few times a year.
Its tragic and needs sorted, not sure what the answer is but maybe asking long term unemployed or young volunteers get involved would help?

3 hours ago, jagfox99 said:

Less people jogging and going to parks...

Astonishing amount of families out with maps, compasses and picnics whilst on my usually near-people-free dog walk. Not moaning though. So many folk don't appreciate or know about how much great stuff is on their doorstep. Hopefully this will have given more folk an appetite for the outdoors and cut back on thoughtless air travel. 

Public parks are shiteholes because the local populace treat it as such and have no respect for their surroundings. If you visit Japan you'll see that the place is spotless even in spite of a complete lack of public bins. This isn't because there are thousands of people employed to clean up after everyone; it's because they know how to behave properly. 

2 hours ago, Dele said:

I think we can safely say that isn't one that'll work. 

It’s sad, I agree, but if you could get a bunch of wasters and turn around their mentality it’s worth more than cleaning up a park.

At the moment you see young offenders picking up rubbish half arsed and having a laugh. f**k that get them telt with a local nutcase in charge, no more pc brigade pish.

Local park put up some art displays for kids, they lasted about a week before some ned ripped a cows head off. Why do the majority have to suffer because of a few idiots?

Hugs and handshakes are a new thing. Shaking hands was if meeting new people or New Year at a push. Meeting new people I usually greet them with a grunted "awright?"

I see people who clearly know each other and haven't seen each other for a week shaking hands and hugging. It's weird and an affectation I can do without.

17 hours ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

Bet it became widespread because Caesar was seen out with one tucked into his laurel.

10 hours ago, Jacksgranda said:

Carry On Doctor (1967)  Kenneth Williams as Dr.Kenneth Tinkle

come along now, you there, fellow - there's no point in that nice mr williams being a noted character actor if folk cannot be bothered to find the appropriate images from his multitude of roles to use when illustrating smutty innuendo on message boards now, is there !

image.png.7955fe9c5dc3423009f472ffc907f76c.png

At the moment you see young offenders picking up rubbish half arsed and having a laugh. f**k that get them telt with a local nutcase in charge, no more pc brigade pish.

When are you free?