Goalies

I've still been getting nightmares of Smith's howler away to Albion rovers a couple of seasons ago.
It was horrendous and ultimately if he hadn't made that mistake we could have been promoted instead of Ayr. He did make a few saves to keep us in games/ in a winning position aswell though so can't say he is the worst 'keeper we've had

1 hour ago, cb_diamond said:

Best: John Martin, shotstopper extraordinaire, penalty master, brave as a lion.

Worst: Nobody mindblowingly bad, Peter Cherrie was pretty pish for us and never got the hype about Rohan Ferguson.

Best: If I miss out John Martin which is foolish, then over my long support: Roddie McKenzie/Ernie McGarr/ Davy McWilliams

Worst: Can't really remember Petr Cherrie but Conor Fairley (2-7) and maybe Alan McKnight!

1 hour ago, Chapelhall chap said:

Best: If I miss out John Martin which is foolish, then over my long support: Roddie McKenzie/Ernie McGarr/ Davy McWilliams

Worst: Can't really remember Petr Cherrie but Conor Fairley (2-7) and maybe Alan McKnight!

Christ, Allan McKnight, how could I forget him, he was dire!

When I was young East Fife had some really good goalkeepers Davie Gorman, Ernie Mcgarr, Alan Blair. Then in the 80s we had Gordon Marshall and Ray Charles. Lindsay Hamilton was also decent. My all time favourite was Gordon Marshall. Would say Alan Fleming current Montrose keeper was poor for us but looks decent for Montrose these days.

Bryn Halliwell or current goalie David Mitchell for best. David Hutton was good too but seeems to be shite everywhere else :lol: Alan Martin was also good but played in a shit team.

JC Hutchison or Nic Rajovic for worst comfortably. Probably the former as he was suppsoed to be first choice whereas we all knew Rajovic was only a second fiddle.

In an aside, McDermot and Frame were the first keepers I really remember at Starks Park.

The other ones from my early days:

At Falkirk I'm sure it was Watson first name Geordie? I recall him getting a red card against Rovers at Brockville.

East Fife Dave Gorman.

Airdrie was Ernie McGarr (who later worked for United Distillers in Leven when I worked there)

Dumbarton, Tam Carson 

I cant remember any of the other teams keepers.

Edited by Scottydog

16 hours ago, fifer67 said:

When I was young East Fife had some really good goalkeepers Davie Gorman, Ernie Mcgarr, Alan Blair. Then in the 80s we had Gordon Marshall and Ray Charles. Lindsay Hamilton was also decent. My all time favourite was Gordon Marshall. Would say Alan Fleming current Montrose keeper was poor for us but looks decent for Montrose these days.

Marshall was a good keeper for us however, he was occasionally prone to a rush of blood to the head, sometimes charging out of his goal to challenge an opponent when it wasn't necessary. Does that ring any bells?

40 minutes ago, Scottydog said:

In an aside, McDermot and Frame were the first keepers I really remember at Starks Park.

The other ones from my early days:

At Falkirk I'm sure it was Watson first name Geordie? I recall him getting a red card against Rovers at Brockville.

East Fife Dave Gorman.

Airdrie was Ernie McGarr (who later worked for United Distillers in Leven when I worked there)

Dumbarton, Tam Carson 

I cant remember any of the other teams keepers.

Aye, Geordie Watson. Great goalie.

Davie Larter for us, definitely. We had Ray Charles too for a while in the 80s but Larter's longevity as a club servant was something else. Tony Bullock was class, too.

Worst...Montrose have been lucky in not having too many out and out duds in goal. Lucas Birnstingl was an atrocious goalkeeper but wasn't really with us long enough to qualify. Michael Hankisnon had more than a few dodgy moments but I remember him having some decent games too. Even when we were really bad our keepers tended to be not bad...the likes of Stuart McKenzie and Andy McNeil. A lot of people hated him at other clubs but he did pretty well for us in a poor team.

Of other keepers, I can remember the likes of Hugh Stevenson (Dumbarton / Clyde) and Hugh Sproat (Motherwell) who wouldn't get anywhere near professional football today...jaw-droppingly bad players. You still occasionally get a batshit insane leftfield signing by a desperate club (Stefan Gollasch at Cowden) who gets drummed out after one horrific game. In the 80s and early 90s you also had keepers who were very small (e.g Stevie Ross of QP and Clyde) or out-and-out maniacs (Derek Jackson and Charlie Kelly of the Shire, John Martin came in there too).

The wee guys and the maniacs have largely been eliminated now. Keepers at this level more often than not are gangling blokes in their early twenties who have been freed from the Championship, or youth teamers on loan from the top division.

Edited by Ivo den Bieman

1 hour ago, Ivo den Bieman said:

Davie Larter for us, definitely. We had Ray Charles too for a while in the 80s but Larter's longevity as a club servant was something else. Tony Bullock was class, too.

Worst...Montrose have been lucky in not having too many out and out duds in goal. Lucas Birnstingl was an atrocious goalkeeper but wasn't really with us long enough to qualify. Michael Hankisnon had more than a few dodgy moments but I remember him having some decent games too. Even when we were really bad our keepers tended to be not bad...the likes of Stuart McKenzie and Andy McNeil. A lot of people hated him at other clubs but he did pretty well for us in a poor team.

Of other keepers, I can remember the likes of Hugh Stevenson (Dumbarton / Clyde) and Hugh Sproat (Motherwell) who wouldn't get anywhere near professional football today...jaw-droppingly bad players. You still occasionally get a batshit insane leftfield signing by a desperate club (Stefan Gollasch at Cowden) who gets drummed out after one horrific game. In the 80s and early 90s you also had keepers who were very small (e.g Stevie Ross of QP and Clyde) or out-and-out maniacs (Derek Jackson and Charlie Kelly of the Shire, John Martin came in there too).

The wee guys and the maniacs have largely been eliminated now. Keepers at this level more often than not are gangling blokes in their early twenties who have been freed from the Championship, or youth teamers on loan from the top division.

I do remember Ray Charles, wasn't he at East Fife too?

I too recall Hugh Sproat at Motherwell (and Ayr?), Alan Rough at Partick (and eventually Ayr), An Arbroath keeper called Kirkcaldy, Jim Stewart at Killie, Jim Gallagher at Clydebank, Ray Allan at Cowden (boo!), White at Dunfermline, McArthur at Hibs, Roy Baines at Morton, George Tulloch at St Johnstone, Peter Latchford at Celtic and Mcloy at Rangers, Clark at Aberdeen and McAlpine at  Dundee Utd. Ally Donaldson at Dundee. I'm guessing they were all decent keepers and it's the shite one's I never noticed. 🤣

Edited by Scottydog

Best - McGurn, Cuthbert possibility too. Don’t understand why he’s often overlooked.

Worst - Brennan, Fahey, McNeil

A bit harsh on Fahey. His only downfall was the Airdrie play off game. He was brilliant until that fateful day.

4 hours ago, Scottydog said:

I do remember Ray Charles, wasn't he at East Fife too?

I too recall Hugh Sproat at Motherwell (and Ayr?), Alan Rough at Partick (and eventually Ayr), An Arbroath keeper called Kirkcaldy, Jim Stewart at Killie, Jim Gallagher at Clydebank, Ray Allan at Cowden (boo!), White at Dunfermline, McArthur at Hibs, Roy Baines at Morton, George Tulloch at St Johnstone, Peter Latchford at Celtic and Mcloy at Rangers, Clark at Aberdeen and McAlpine at  Dundee Utd. Ally Donaldson at Dundee. I'm guessing they were all decent keepers and it's the shite one's I never noticed. 🤣

Jim Gallacher was a fine keeper. Hamish McAlpine and MCloy all decent. Ray Allan came into the "stalwart" category- mostly OK but capable of the odd shocking performance. I remember him at Brechin City late in his career.