League Reconstruction 20/21 season

7 minutes ago, Shandon Par said:

I was arguing the other day that our league should really be the Seaside League now. Only half of the league one clubs have any kind of nautical links whereas if we can say Rosyth is really just the arse end of Dunfermline then all the teams have a port in their town. Whether Hearts do or not is probably a matter for the good people of Leith or Portobello to decide. 

Does Aberdeen and Dundee not make the Premiership as much a seaside league as League One?

Arbroath get in with a 'its wisnae us' or whatever the equivalent is up that way.

SPFL Confirms Championship Start / League structure

The SPFL today has made the announcement that next season’s league structure will remain as a 12-10-10-10 format after only 16 clubs voted in favour of league reconstruction.

Arbroath FC can confirm that we voted in favour of changing to a 14-10-10-10 format.

Arbroath Chairman Mike Caird told the Arbroath Herald last week.

“If it is a permanent solution we will support it. You could argue it rights a wrong for the teams who are relegated without playing out of all last season. It’s a compromise, we’ve talked about a few different types of restructure and the bottom line is we certainty and, if this provided that, we are behind it.

The SPFL has also today confirmed that the Championship season will start on the weekend of Saturday 17th October 2020 and will be a 27 game season. Meaning all teams will play one another 3 times instead of the normal 4.

We know our fans are desperate to help their club further by purchasing their season ticket, but at the moment it looks like the season may start behind closed doors.

We will keep you updated when we are in the position to start selling season tickets.

C’mon the Lichties

Edited by cmontheloknow

2 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

That's was my thinking. And the clubs had the opportunity to vote for restructuring and resoundingly voted against. I don't see how they have anything going for them.

Aye, the SPFL have enabled every opportunity and ensured the clubs took all decisions themselves.  They even proposed an extra reconstruction proposal after all the clubs ones failed.  Arse well and truly covered. 

2 minutes ago, JimmyMirren said:

No, they just enacted a previously made decision.

The vote in April gave the SPFL Board the power to end the season as and when they Saw fit, should they think that the remaining games were unplayable. 

Screenshot_2020-06-15-15-09-01-272_com.android.chrome.thumb.png.5d6826da1edab037525685ae96f098fa.png

This says there was a vote between the Premiership clubs separate to the Good Friday vote. 

1 minute ago, Archie McSquackle said:

Does Aberdeen and Dundee not make the Premiership as much a seaside league as League One?

It could be quite a faff taking the boat to Livingston or Motherwell. Championship is definitely the most nautical league IMO. 

Just now, welshbairn said:

Eajs7e_XsAAcrp0?format=jpg

This is not a "gotcha" in the way that many of you seem to think it is. 

The past few weeks have proven beyond all reasonable doubt that there is no sense of "community" among Scottish football clubs. Therefore Dr Budge was naively proceeding on a cruelly flawed premise. 

1 minute ago, itzdrk said:

Aye, the SPFL have enabled every opportunity and ensured the clubs took all decisions themselves.  They even proposed an extra reconstruction proposal after all the clubs ones failed.  Arse well and truly covered. 

Screenshot_2020-06-15-15-09-01-272_com.android.chrome.thumb.png.5d6826da1edab037525685ae96f098fa.png

This says there was a vote between the Premiership clubs separate to the Good Friday vote. 

When the original good Friday resolution passed to call the lower leagues, Premiership clubs had asked the SPFL board to consult them before eventually calling the top flight finished.

That is what subsequently happened and I don't think any Prem clubs objected. There was no further formal vote.

3 minutes ago, itzdrk said:

The Good Friday Disagreement IMO. 

3 minutes ago, itzdrk said:

From the same article...they just needed to agree the games were unplayable and powers to end the season were vested in the April vote. 

C18AE1DB-2354-4471-9B0E-9F9C07F7BE56.png

7 minutes ago, SEETHING said:

This is not a "gotcha" in the way that many of you seem to think it is. 

The past few weeks have proven beyond all reasonable doubt that there is no sense of "community" among Scottish football clubs. Therefore Dr Budge was naively proceeding on a cruelly flawed premise. 

Oh there is, and that community have decided where Hearts should be. On merit.

image.thumb.png.80536780d53cfab311005021685f295b.png

Edited by welshbairn

What exactly do Hearts hope to achieve in the court case? St Mirren relegated instead of them? Dundee United refused promotion? Since the leagues aren't changing I can't see any other alternative.
Exactly there can be no legal outcome that can force the SPFL to reconstruct to accommodate them so something has to give and that would basically mean a court ruling another club is to be disadvantaged at Hearts expense.

Must be confident of victory in the courts. I am sure their well paid lawyers are persuading them of just such a scenario. 

Not sure how long this will take and what the repercussions will be in the here and now. 

Thing is I suspect of they lose they will also have to pay SPFL courts costs so a massive gamble. 

Not only that I am sure I read somewhere that UEFA only like clubs taking legal s action via court of arbitration for sport. Any other Avenue is likely to meet with scorn. 

That plus the embarrassment of the whole of the rest of Scottish football if they fail. 

This could set Hearts back years..

3 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

When the original good Friday resolution passed to call the lower leagues, Premiership clubs had asked the SPFL board to consult them before eventually calling the top flight finished.

That is what subsequently happened and I don't think any Prem clubs objected. There was no further formal vote.

2 minutes ago, JimmyMirren said:

From the same article...they just needed to agree the games were unplayable and powers to end the season were vested in the April vote. 

C18AE1DB-2354-4471-9B0E-9F9C07F7BE56.png

Cheers for clearing that up. 

10 minutes ago, btb said:

If Hearts are successful in their case why would they get compensation surely it'd be costs plus reconstruction?

Wut? A court can’t force the SPFL to let Hearts play in the top flight.

9 minutes ago, Miko’s Dive said:

Awww, you all think this is done and dusted dusted. 

Bless. 

Awwww, your side can spend all the money in the world and you’ll still be toiling for points against Arbroath and raith rovers.

Bless.

If diddy clubs fold and die like the start of Saving Private Ryan, the league will have to be reconstructed. Cjf2irkhw-wAx1fJikI7tAOWFSmvQaF1dM-25ExNE2D4RZoP1cuz0CuSykXhPmlqPllVTlwbUwwUaejFmskOXu-4DM7Pos923Bz2JehEr8EH2jCvAxwsOg&key=bcc7adeee506742fe4d9f4a9bd0483f1d9c82839c28c266307d5ba94dee654cc
The only club likely to die via a legal case is the club bringing the case if they lose. It's a face saving exercise that will be settled quietly nowhere near a court in a few weeks and Hearts will play in the 2nd tier as expected. Basically Hearts supporters have backed the club into this corner.