League Reconstruction 20/21 season

1 minute ago, Green Day said:

It is entirely the point, if it was deemed a pish idea 7 years ago, why would it now suddenly become a good idea?

It wasn't deemed a pish idea though, there was a fair amount of tears and spotters when St Mirren and Ross County Blocked it.

Keeping Sevco in the bottom tier equaled a promotion,  keeping cove in the bottom tier isn't a promotion.  I'm interested in how that is explained...

9 minutes ago, bennett said:

It wasn't deemed a pish idea though, there was a fair amount of tears and spotters when St Mirren and Ross County Blocked it.

Keeping Sevco in the bottom tier equaled a promotion,  keeping cove in the bottom tier isn't a promotion.  I'm interested in how that is explained...

You'll find there was almost universal acclaim for St. Mirren and Ross County from supporters who didn't want to see it happening as they knew it was a fucking stupid idea at the time and it is still spoken about in mocking terms to this day.

10/10 for revisionism though.

3 minutes ago, djchapsticks said:

You'll find there was almost universal acclaim for St. Mirren and Ross County from supporters who didn't want to see it happening as they knew it was a fucking stupid idea at the time and it is still spoken about in mocking terms to this day.

10/10 for revisionism though.

Yeah, the only tears and snotters were from Milne. The twat.

10 minutes ago, bennett said:

Good to see some things never change though - apart from Stewart Milne (he of the tears and snotters you describe), this is a quote from the CEX of Hearts

Hearts chief executive David Southern accused St Mirren of not being frank in public over their reasons for opposing the plan.

"I think it's been shown today that the 11-1 vote was just used as a smokescreen to protect other people's interests," he said.

"We go back to a 12-team SPL, one team relegated, one team up from the SFL and it's business as usual but with an even tougher economic climate for clubs.

"I don't now see where we will go. I think maybe now the onus is on the Scottish FA to become actively involved to try and steer the game to better waters."

Its like Budge has just cut and pasted one of Southerns crayon jobs.

FWIW, the structure allowed St M and Ross County to kybosh the proposals - and I for one am glad about that. That Milne was playing that particular blame game in the media shows that - while the actors are different - the play remains the same.

11 minutes ago, bennett said:

A similar idea was mooted 7 years ago by the spfl, which would have seen us remain in the bottom tier for a second season.  Scottish fitba assured us that we would be moving from the 4th to the 3rd tier, so we wouldn't have been denied a promotion. 

I'm guessing that this is different. 

In that scenario, Rangers were being promoted from a league covering places 33-42 in the pyramid to a league covering places 23-32. While a reconstruction which merged the bottom two tiers would have kept Rangers playing the sides from 33-42 which they'd already earned promotion against so it could be argued that was unfair, they'd still have been playing in a league which covered 23rd in the pyramid down, therefore they wouldn't have been denied finishing as high as they would have without reconstruction.

In Cove's case, like Rangers in that scenario they're being promoted from a division covering places 33-42 to one covering 23-32, but in this proposed reconstruction they're being in a division which only covers 29th place down. They'd be done out of the opportunity of finishing six places higher in a way Rangers wouldn't have been.

FWIW I don't think whether it's technically a promotion or relegation is the point. While Cove are going into tier 3 so technically being promoted and Clyde, Peterhead and Forfar are staying there so not technically being relegated, it's an undeniable fact that they'd all be getting placed in a weaker league with a financial impact on them as a result at a time when all clubs are facing severe financial challenges. That's exactly what Budge claims to be trying to avoid for all clubs, but she's coincidentally willing to f**k over those four clubs on an arbitrary basis when it avoids her own suffering for being bottom when the league couldn't continue.

The idea that it's okay to entirely arbitrarily f**k over Clyde, Peterhead, Forfar and Cove just to bail Hearts and Partick out when those two are in this position on merit is utterly indefensible.

If the tv money is all about the derby games could we not have 21 leagues of 2, each team being paired with their rivals, this would work for about 30 clubs then we would have the scene played out at every primary school Christmas dance where one set of teams have to go over and pick what’s left for their partner.

2 minutes ago, Dunning1874 said:

In that scenario, Rangers were being promoted from a league covering places 33-42 in the pyramid to a league covering places 23-32. While a reconstruction which merged the bottom two tiers would have kept Rangers playing the sides from 33-42 which they'd already earned promotion against so it could be argued that was unfair, they'd still have been playing in a league which covered 23rd in the pyramid down, therefore they wouldn't have been denied finishing as high as they would have without reconstruction.

In Cove's case, like Rangers in that scenario they're being promoted from a division covering places 33-42 to one covering 23-32, but in this proposed reconstruction they're being in a division which only covers 29th place down. They'd be done out of the opportunity of finishing six places higher in a way Rangers wouldn't have been.

FWIW I don't think whether it's technically a promotion or relegation is the point. While Cove are going into tier 3 so technically being promoted and Clyde, Peterhead and Forfar are staying there so not technically being relegated, it's an undeniable fact that they'd all be getting placed in a weaker league with a financial impact on them as a result at a time when all clubs are facing severe financial challenges. That's exactly what Budge claims to be trying to avoid for all clubs, but she's coincidentally willing to f**k over those four clubs on an arbitrary basis when it avoids her own suffering for being bottom when the league couldn't continue.

The idea that it's okay to entirely arbitrarily f**k over Clyde, Peterhead, Forfar and Cove just to bail Hearts and Partick out when those two are in this position on merit is utterly indefensible.

All the clubs mentioned just don’t want to play Brechin

1 minute ago, ropy said:

If the tv money is all about the derby games could we not have 21 leagues of 2, each team being paired with their rivals, this would work for about 30 clubs then we would have the scene played out at every primary school Christmas dance where one set of teams have to go over and pick what’s left for their partner.

Ladbrokes Livbarton Premiership

I'm in  a minority of one, but I thought the 8 - 8 - 8 split after 22 games was a brilliant idea.

It effectively produced euro place football for the top 8, play-off football for the middle 8 and relegation football for the bottom 8.

Convoluted... yes, but not any more so than what we have now (anyone for 18 home games and 20 away)?

I genuinely think it would have generated more interest and excitement than anything else I've seen proposed.

Yours, I'm nae Wiggy, bit I dee spik a wee bitty like him.

aDONis

18 minutes ago, Green Day said:

Good to see some things never change though - apart from Stewart Milne (he of the tears and snotters you describe), this is a quote from the CEX of Hearts

Hearts chief executive David Southern accused St Mirren of not being frank in public over their reasons for opposing the plan.

"I think it's been shown today that the 11-1 vote was just used as a smokescreen to protect other people's interests," he said.

"We go back to a 12-team SPL, one team relegated, one team up from the SFL and it's business as usual but with an even tougher economic climate for clubs.

"I don't now see where we will go. I think maybe now the onus is on the Scottish FA to become actively involved to try and steer the game to better waters."

FWIW, the structure allowed St M and Ross County to kybosh the proposals - and I for one am glad about that. That Milne was playing that particular blame game in the media shows that - while the actors are different - the play remains the same.

The 11 - 1 structure biting Milne on the backside was a great example of karma.

21 minutes ago, aDONisSheep said:

I'm in  a minority of one, but I thought the 8 - 8 - 8 split after 22 games was a brilliant idea.

It effectively produced euro place football for the top 8, play-off football for the middle 8 and relegation football for the bottom 8.

Convoluted... yes, but not any more so than what we have now (anyone for 18 home games and 20 away)?

I genuinely think it would have generated more interest and excitement than anything else I've seen proposed.

Yours, I'm nae Wiggy, bit I dee spik a wee bitty like him.

aDONis

It just all seemed a bit far fetched and over complicated.

I just dismissed it straight away but i see what you mean.

i still favorite what we have already.Nothing wrong with it.

4 minutes ago, Cornishman said:

In among all the fairness drama, there was one 'f**k nobody over' reconstruction solution...

14-18-12

All perfectly do-able fixture wise.

Who are the 18th club in the new Championship? Either Stranraer or Cove would be getting fucked over surely?

3 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

Who are the 18th club in the new Championship? Either Stranraer or Cove would be getting fucked over surely?

I thought that too, but presumably its...

14 - Top 12 plus Hearts/ICT.

18 - 8 Championship sides,10 League One sides (including Cove)

12 - 10 League Two sides plus Brora/Kelty

4 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

Stranraer, 8 points behind and whiney bitches. Or Cove, who cares?

4 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

I thought that too, but presumably its...

14 - Top 12 plus Hearts/ICT.

18 - 8 Championship sides,10 League One sides (including Cove)

12 - 10 League Two sides plus Brora/Kelty

Which means Thistle and Hearts have been saved but not Stranraer.

1 hour ago, Green Day said:

St. Mirren - 34 years of serpentine duplicity!

P1150103.img_assist_custom.jpg

1 minute ago, craigkillie said:

Which means Thistle and Hearts have been saved but not Stranraer.

Fair point.