League Reconstruction 20/21 season

The Rangers and Heart of Midlothian constant stirring and whaling throughout this very dark episode is cringeworthy, utterly hollow and downright wrong.  

All clubs have voted democratically, as a clear majority, to end the season now in light of the biggest crises the world has seen in any of our lifetimes.   Celtic are deserved champions as they have strolled at a canter to their 9th title in a row.  Hearts deserve relegation having been the poorest team in the league for 75% of the season and poorest team in the league for well over a year now.  Would it have been ideal to finish the season?  Without a shadow of a doubt and every club would have wanted that if it was remotely possible.  But it won't happen and calling the leagues as they are with over 3/4 of the season completed is the only fair way to protect our game.  

The comments from Heart of Midlothian supporters have been shameful and distasteful. "Won't someone please think of Partick, poor Partick!".  They would not have cared a rat's ass had they managed to overcome St Mirren in their final game of the season.  Incredibly bad losers.   Suck it up Sevco and HOMFC.  

9 hours ago, ftk said:

Winners and losers in every league restructure but I honestly dont think Clyde have much to complain about here. In fact this restructure, if voted in, is pretty fair on all teams.

One of the many blessings  I count every morning is that I'm not a Clyde fan. However, I can quite see their point here, it's a relative shafting for them.

7 minutes ago, AberdeenHibee said:

The Rangers and Heart of Midlothian constant stirring and whaling throughout this very dark episode is cringeworthy, utterly hollow and downright wrong.  

All clubs have voted democratically, as a clear majority, to end the season now in light of the biggest crises the world has seen in any of our lifetimes.   Celtic are deserved champions as they have strolled at a canter to their 9th title in a row.  Hearts deserve relegation having been the poorest team in the league for 75% of the season and poorest team in the league for well over a year now.  Would it have been ideal to finish the season?  Without a shadow of a doubt and every club would have wanted that if it was remotely possible.  But it won't happen and calling the leagues as they are with over 3/4 of the season completed is the only fair way to protect our game.  

The comments from Heart of Midlothian supporters have been shameful and distasteful. "Won't someone please think of Partick, poor Partick!".  They would not have cared a rat's ass had they managed to overcome St Mirren in their final game of the season.  Incredibly bad losers.   Suck it up Sevco and HOMFC.  

john-wilson-angler-6ef460e3-c3e0-49b9-8c

30 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

Nothing to do with the fact that increasing the league to that size would just so happen to get Ayr promoted?

self interest is, as usual, going to paralyze Scottish fitba although this time it may actually take a few of the runners out of the game completely. The complete lack of imagination will see whatever eventually does emerge from the stramash being even more tedious than what it replaces. 

46 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

Nothing to do with the fact that increasing the league to that size would just so happen to get Ayr promoted?

Just a total guess, but would two 20/20 divisions not make the bottom division virtually impossible for part time sides to every get out off?

No idea why spending your entire existence playing the exact same 16 sides in the league is more interesting than what's happening just now, youd probably find it would end up just the same two sides getting promoted/relegated constantly.

Edited by RandomGuy.

24 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Just a total guess, but would two 20/20 divisions not make the bottom division virtually impossible for part time sides to every get out off?

No idea why spending your entire existence playing the exact same 16 sides in the league is more interesting than what's happening just now, youd probably find it would end up just the same two sides getting promoted/relegated constantly.

Precisely what did happen in the old 18/19 team leagues. Clubs came up then went down again then came up again then yadda yadda yadda (Stirling, Clyde, Ayr...)

The thing was though, by the time the 10 team Prem Division was introduced there were 9 full-time clubs left in Scotland, IIRC, so part timers did ok in the Second Division cuz they all were.

Can't be arsed reading back through 93 pages, so my thoughts.

First off, the current set up is fine by me, but the play-offs should be 11th + 2nd, 3rd & 4th in league below, not the convoluted favouritism given to the premier league team at present.

Secondly, if there's going to be reconstruction, then fine, it needs properly thought out from all angles, including voting, and money distribution, it absolutely should not be a vehicle to save Hearts which is all it is now, and reps from the 3 teams that are being relegated should be recused from the panel set up to brainstorm this.

Thirdly, any reconstruction comes in after the next season, so everyone knows what they are playing for, just as they did this season, you don't change the rules because the result hasn't gone your way.

Finally, f**k Statement FC, you whinging, gaslighting, bad losing, greetin faced, double-standards peddling, spectacularly un-self aware shower of arses. 

23 minutes ago, fatshaft said:

Can't be arsed reading back through 93 pages, so my thoughts.

First off, the current set up is fine by me, but the play-offs should be 11th + 2nd, 3rd & 4th in league below, not the convoluted favouritism given to the premier league team at present.

Secondly, if there's going to be reconstruction, then fine, it needs properly thought out from all angles, including voting, and money distribution, it absolutely should not be a vehicle to save Hearts which is all it is now, and reps from the 3 teams that are being relegated should be recused from the panel set up to brainstorm this.

Thirdly, any reconstruction comes in after the next season, so everyone knows what they are playing for, just as they did this season, you don't change the rules because the result hasn't gone your way.

Finally, f**k Statement FC, you whinging, gaslighting, bad losing, greetin faced, double-standards peddling, spectacularly un-self aware shower of arses. 

Agree entirely about the make up of the reconstruction panel. No way should Hearts be on that. Similarly, I also can't understand how a board containing an Accies fan, a Brechin fan a Motherwell fan and 1 or 2 Celtic fans (plus lawyer) was deemed impartial enough to concoct and propose a solution (with misleading money carrot) that served their teams just nicely. 

Edited by Pet Jeden

Just now, Pet Jeden said:

Agree entirely about the make up of the reconstruction panel. No way should Hearts be on that. Similarly, I also can't understand how a board containing an Accies fan, a Brechin fan a Motherwell fan and 2 or 3 Celtic fans was deemed impartial enough to concoct and propose a solution (with misleading money carrot) that served their teams just nicely. 

Because, in both cases, all 42 clubs have to vote on it anyway.

1 minute ago, craigkillie said:

Because, in both cases, all 42 clubs have to vote on it anyway.

Yes but it's naive to assume Championship and L1 and 2 teams go in to those meetings, having had a whole 48 hours to digest the papers,  with good legal advice on what is proposed. If their board wrongly  tell them that with legal advice the only way to distribute monies is to vote yes, then they unsurprisingly take that at face value.

12 minutes ago, Pet Jeden said:

Yes but it's naive to assume Championship and L1 and 2 teams go in to those meetings, having had a whole 48 hours to digest the papers,  with good legal advice on what is proposed. If their board wrongly  tell them that with legal advice the only way to distribute monies is to vote yes, then they unsurprisingly take that at face value.

You go on as if this was all very complex when it wasn’t.  It wasn’t shrouded in legalese such that you needed legal advice unless you wanted to find a way to stop it because your club didn’t like its impact on it 

17 minutes ago, Cowden Cowboy said:

You go on as if this was all very complex when it wasn’t.  It wasn’t shrouded in legalese such that you needed legal advice unless you wanted to find a way to stop it because your club didn’t like its impact on it 

Your particular club might well have had some decent legal advice. But you can't expect all the others to have known that there was not only one way to get money to the clubs. If the SPFL's Ch Ex, Chairman and lawyer said there was only one way, how the fck were Stirling Albion to second guess that?

Reasonably frank (as you'd expect) interview with Jim Goodwin in the Herald today:

https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18419688.st-mirren-boss-jim-goodwin-reveals-sympathy-hearts-counterpart-daniel-stendel/

“I do wonder sometimes if it wasn’t such big clubs who were involved in it would we be having such an in-depth discussion? But that’s another topic I suppose.”

No Jim. No we wouldn't.

Agree entirely about the make up of the reconstruction panel. No way should Hearts be on that. Similarly, I also can't understand how a board containing an Accies fan, a Brechin fan a Motherwell fan and 1 or 2 Celtic fans (plus lawyer) was deemed impartial enough to concoct and propose a solution (with misleading money carrot) that served their teams just nicely. 
Les Gray's a Partick Thistle fan.

Try again brother!