The SPFL recommendation?

The problem is that to land a gig you generally have to have played for one of the three Old Firm teams. Knowledge, ability to string a sentence together are secondary. That’s why Michael Stewart is so refreshing.
I see what you did there...

No idea why they had a sports correspondent interviewing Doncaster.

Surely if this is about governance and finance it should be the BBC business correspondent that interviewed him.

It's a sports story, not a business one. Business journalists aren't going to give the tiniest of fucks how a sports league decides to run a voting process.

1 hour ago, Clyde01 said:

Derek Johnstone could be the worst I’ve ever seen. I used to watch ‘Football First’ a lot in the early 00’s for our highlights and he was terrible. Came across as totally wooden and like he was reading the autocue constantly. Didn’t have a clue about players at that level either, the show was riddled with mistakes, embarrassing stuff.

Totally agree,heard he was co commentating on rangers tv in ther live league cup game earlier in the season versus my team east Fife,he didnt know we had moved stadium,and bonner clueless too,thot naysmith was still our manager last season,ther on the radio-they should know ther stuff 

2 hours ago, Thom & Gerry said:

He’s got a point though.

You cant just brush a shambles like that vote under the carpet and rangers have already said they'll produce their so called evidence this week so no real need to keep saying if rangers have evidence they should produce it. Guy should be trying to get a title sponsor for the league. Something he has completely failed to do and shouldve been drop kicked out his job for months back.

3 hours ago, Bairn in Exile said:

Job Advertisement: Sportsound are looking for ex-pro footballers to give their views on the current state of the game, if you have not played for either Celtic or Sevco then you need not apply.

Aberdeen too. It's like the feckin aberdeen show when the old firm aren't playing with Richard gordon and willie miller going on for hours about their game and feck anyone else playing that night.

20 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Aberdeen too. It's like the feckin aberdeen show when the old firm aren't playing with Richard gordon and willie miller going on for hours about their game and feck anyone else playing that night.

Sam Fox and Mick Fleetwood would do a far better job than most of the c***s presenting Scottish fitba TV shows.

It's a sports story, not a business one. Business journalists aren't going to give the tiniest of fucks how a sports league decides to run a voting process.
It's a business and governance story. Just happens to be in a sporting context.

Just now, haufdaft said:

It's a business and governance story. Just happens to be in a sporting context.

It's not even close to being interesting enough from a business point of view though. It would be like asking a sports correspondent to discuss the local U12 team.

14 hours ago, steakngravy said:

KVZ2000 name the football team.                                            Rare Rants

Very good , I think you’ve too much time on your hand , I know have to try and find one for you , could be a new thread 😂

2 hours ago, haufdaft said:

No idea why they had a sports correspondent interviewing Doncaster.

Surely if this is about governance and finance it should be the BBC business correspondent that interviewed him.

Another reason to demand an enquiry , apparently Doncaster set the terms on how he would be interviewed and by whom !!!! The BBC ( biased media ) should have told him to do one and they should have set the terms and if he didn’t like it then so be it , they could have put out a statement saying he refused to be interviewed....the whole thing has been scripted to make him look good ..

2 hours ago, tongue_tied_danny said:

Derek Johnstone was bad, but he wasn't Sarah O or Julyan Sinclair bad. The Scotsport show of the early 00s was the nadir of football coverage in Scotland. I don't think it's any coincidence that a lot of Scottish youngsters started paying attention to English or foreign fitba around that time.

I agree. How can an hour of highlights be so bad. Goals, saves, crunching takes etc it all happened and STV managed to make it look and sound dull.

It's not even close to being interesting enough from a business point of view though. It would be like asking a sports correspondent to discuss the local U12 team.
Do you think a BBC business correspondent needs to be interested in football to report on the business of football?

So don't report on the Enron scandal unless you were particularly interested in American energy commodities?

The current issues are about business governance.

26 minutes ago, kvz2000 said:

Another reason to demand an enquiry , apparently Doncaster set the terms on how he would be interviewed and by whom !!!! The BBC ( biased media ) should have told him to do one and they should have set the terms and if he didn’t like it then so be it , they could have put out a statement saying he refused to be interviewed....the whole thing has been scripted to make him look good ..

Can't think of any politician who would agree to be interrogated by 4 or 5 interviewers, especially after one of them had just published a misleading article about them.

28 minutes ago, kvz2000 said:

A child would have cried themselves out in about 30 minutes max, I've got to hand it to you for your perseverance.

5 minutes ago, haufdaft said:

Do you think a BBC business correspondent needs to be interested in football to report on the business of football?

So don't report on the Enron scandal unless you were particularly interested in American energy commodities?

The current issues are about business governance.

It's not about how interested the person is in the activity, it's about how interesting the story is. Enron was a multi-billion pound fraud, this is an organisation with a slight disagreement about when to pay football clubs money they were due.

Can't think of any politician who would agree to be interrogated by 4 or 5 interviewers, especially after one of them had just published a misleading article about them.

Been thinking that political journalists are more and more like football journalists in recent years. Heavily dependent on privileged access and willing to present the views of their political patron as fact.

It's not about how interested the person is in the activity, it's about how interesting the story is. Enron was a multi-billion pound fraud, this is an organisation with a slight disagreement about when to pay football clubs money they were due.
For something that's not interesting, it seems to be all over the back pages, discussed on radio and worthy of a couple of thousand posts on a league one forum.

15 minutes ago, stuartcraig said:

Been thinking that political journalists are more and more like football journalists in recent years. Heavily dependent on privileged access and willing to present the views of their political patron as fact.

Definitely down south where the media are owned by millionaires who help finance the Tory government, meanwhile up here our FM and government get a terrible time 

4 minutes ago, haufdaft said:
21 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

For something that's not interesting, it seems to be all over the back pages, discussed on radio and worthy of a couple of thousand posts on a league one forum.

Aye, in the grand scheme of things and when this whole situations is judged by history, academics will wonder how Stranraer got relegated and Scotland has a league set up that makes no sense.