The SPFL recommendation?

It should be added that the Falkirk result was to a team from Liechtenstein. Of course our lazy media pointed out how bad that is.
Until of course you realise that they actually played in the top 10 of Swiss Super League and are regular entrants to Europe who have beaten some teams significantly bigger than ourselves....

Nice try, but mostly inaccurate.

Vaduz are regular entrants to Europe because they win the Liechtenstein cup every season without fail. They do play in the Swiss league system but rarely in the top tier. They are mostly a second tier side and were when they played Falkirk.

Since beating Falkirk most of the teams they have beaten are from minnow nations like Gibraltar, San Marino, Wales, Estonia. There are no significantly bigger sides as you claim. [emoji23]

7 minutes ago, Clyde01 said:

Vaduz are regular entrants to Europe because they win the Liechtenstein cup every season without fail. They do play in the Swiss league system but rarely in the top tier. They are mostly a second tier side and were when they played Falkirk.

Since beating Falkirk most of the teams they have beaten are from minnow nations like Gibraltar, San Marino, Wales, Estonia. There are no significantly bigger sides as you claim. emoji23.png

They'll have a bigger budget than many other teams that have pumped scottish sides out of europe in recent seasons and a lot  of sides in Scotland top flight including us back then.  They had just come down from the swiss top flight when we played them I think but they certainly werent the wee team that everyone likes pretending they were. 

Edited by Shadwell Dog

3 minutes ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

It's probably less embarrassing than losing to Connah's Quay Nomads but ye managed that recently as well to be fair

Mind you the 3rd best side in scotland also lost to them.

Edited by Shadwell Dog

4 hours ago, Clyde01 said:

Letting diddies like Dunfermline, Falkirk, Gretna, QOTS represent us in Europe led to some absolutely shameful results.

It should definitely be our 4 best league sides that go forward each season and even then results are a mixed bag.

Saying that, when was the last time Aberdeen got past the second qualifying round ? 

Since beating Falkirk most of the teams they have beaten are from minnow nations like Gibraltar, San Marino, Wales, Estonia. There are no significantly bigger sides as you claim. [emoji23]

Aye, ok, we will just ignore beating Levski Sofia and thumping Újpest Dosza will we?…

And when we played them they finished playing in the Swiss Premier the season prior....

They'll have a bigger budget than many other teams that have pumped scottish sides out of europe in recent seasons and a lot  of sides in Scotland top flight including us back then.  They had just come down from the swiss top flight when we played them I think but they certainly werent the wee team that everyone likes pretending they were. 

Correct.

1 hour ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

It's probably less embarrassing than losing to Connah's Quay Nomads but ye managed that recently as well to be fair

You're right it was less embarrassing. 

Also less embarrassing than being knocked out of the cup by a Lowland League side or losing 10 goals in a league game right enough.

1 minute ago, ShaggerG said:

You're right it was less embarrassing. 

Also less embarrassing than being knocked out of the cup by a Lowland League side or losing 10 goals in a league game right enough.

You're right they were embarrassing.

Not as embarrassing as trying to lord it over another club for nicking their manager and trying to claim they had done no wrong before getting relegated under that manager and paying the other club compensation, paying the league a fine and sacking the failure of a manager just over a year later.

3 hours ago, roman_bairn said:

It should be added that the Falkirk result was to a team from Liechtenstein. Of course our lazy media pointed out how bad that is.
Until of course you realise that they actually played in the top 10 of Swiss Super League and are regular entrants to Europe who have beaten some teams significantly bigger than ourselves....

I just looked they've never been out of the qualifying rounds and Ujpest is the only team of any note they've beaten. They're shite.

21 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

I just looked they've never been out of the qualifying rounds and Ujpest is the only team of any note they've beaten. They're shite.

I reckon they'd beat any side outside our top 12 and a good few in it. Some folk trying  to make out they were the same standard as our seaside leagues or that which was never the case.

Edited by Shadwell Dog

I reckon they'd beat any side outside our top 12 and a good few in it. Some folk trying  to make out they were the same standard as our seaside leagues or that which was never the case.

On a budget way beyond us and decent German and Swiss players I re Jon they would beat anyone outside the top six....

2 minutes ago, roman_bairn said:

On a budget way beyond us and decent German and Swiss players I re Jon they would beat anyone outside the top six....

Wasnt anywhere near as bad as gretna or kilmarnock this season. We lost to a side with a far bugger budget than us. Shocker.

Edited by Shadwell Dog

4 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Fucksake, all we've had for weeks is the world against Falkirk and now you got Brazil in the Europa League qualifiers.

35 minutes ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

You're right they were embarrassing.

Not as embarrassing as trying to lord it over another club for nicking their manager and trying to claim they had done no wrong before getting relegated under that manager and paying the other club compensation, paying the league a fine and sacking the failure of a manager just over a year later.

Well, I'm sure not gonna argue with that.