Coronavirus and the Scottish Championship

Just to clarify what I said earlier - Airdrie during the Jim Ballantyne era and before they reclaimed their name - I'm sure they used to dish out 1 year contracts that expired in May and waited till just before the season started to begin negotiations with the whole squad again so they didn't have to pay them over the 'holiday' period.

If furloughing wasn't an option it'd have been understandable given the climate - but to do it every season as standard is pretty ridiculous. Had no idea this practice was common place.

43 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

First test for Scottish football as an Aberdeen player tests positive just days before their game at the weekend.

Season might end up scrapped before you lot even get a go.

Ann Budge left seething to the point of a breakdown, Partick and Falkirk left to fester in the seaside leagues for another season and all the stupid money-throwing tinpot outfits from Queen's Park to East Kilbride kept in their stupid wee boxes as well for another 12 months. All while Morton go through the very delicate process of moving to a fan ownership model without making a rip-roaring c**t of things on the park. 

Make It So | Studying Religion in Culture

Edited by vikingTON

15 minutes ago, Poet of the Macabre said:

Why would Sky be due compensation for a game being postponed? It’s the same situation as if the pitch was waterlogged; just tough shit really.

Theyve already started setting up equipment at the ground.

I wouldn't be shocked at all if they included a compensation clause if games are cancelled due to Covid this season. They've been trying to claw back money everywhere.

4 hours ago, Ludo*1 said:

Was it Airdrie that used to allow their whole squad to go out of contract for a few weeks to avoid paying them during the close season?

I think Dumbarton did something similar last year. We had to cancel a preseason friendly against them because they didn't have enough players.

1 hour ago, RandomGuy. said:

First test for Scottish football as an Aberdeen player tests positive just days before their game at the weekend.

Season might end up scrapped before you lot even get a go.

Why would our season be scrapped when there's still over 2 months to go before it starts?

43 minutes ago, Ludo*1 said:

Just to clarify what I said earlier - Airdrie during the Jim Ballantyne era and before they reclaimed their name - I'm sure they used to dish out 1 year contracts that expired in May and waited till just before the season started to begin negotiations with the whole squad again so they didn't have to pay them over the 'holiday' period.

If furloughing wasn't an option it'd have been understandable given the climate - but to do it every season as standard is pretty ridiculous. Had no idea this practice was common place.

It's not so common now but certainly for part time clubs, where generally the players aren't necessarily depending on it for their actual living, it was very common place up to even 4 or 5 years ago. In fact I'd say it was more standard than NOT doing it. It does tend not to happen with full time clubs where players are more likely to go elsewhere if not kept employed.

1 hour ago, DA Baracus said:

Why would our season be scrapped when there's still over 2 months to go before it starts?

So far Aberdeen, Hibernian, Motherwell and Rangers have all breached protocol, and we've now got the virus spreading through a squad (Aberdeens positive tests are growing).

Two more months of such shite, and increasing pockets of cases, could see the season suspended by the Scottish Government. 

23 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

So far Aberdeen, Hibernian, Motherwell and Rangers have all breached protocol, and we've now got the virus spreading through a squad (Aberdeens positive tests are growing).

Two more months of such shite, and increasing pockets of cases, could see the season suspended by the Scottish Government. 

Young men, COVID fatigue, plenty of people denying the severity of the virus and the simple fact that most U-25’s brains haven’t yet matured to properly process risks...what could possibly go wrong. Even the most successful counties with COVID had slips and errors, but they quickly adapted and corrected. It takes an effective enforcement procedure to keep sports running, and the costs involved are pretty huge...not sure fitba can afford it, but can we afford the opposite?

Also, as far as I was aware, Hibs and Motherwell were warned by the SFA about their test results coming back late because it might lead to matches being postponed or delayed. I doubt the Scottish government gave the tiniest f**k about that.

3 hours ago, Ludo*1 said:

They had to extend contracts for playoffs before, they expired the day after the final game of the season usually. 

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/relegated-airdrie-order-players-and-management-1058658

Edited by itzdrk

50 minutes ago, TxRover said:

the simple fact that most U-25’s brains haven’t yet matured to properly process risks...

Not so much a 'simple fact' as 'complete and utter bollocks, peddled by the simple'. 

4 hours ago, Ludo*1 said:

This bit is perhaps slightly misleading, simply because most of them left. I don't think there was ever a realistic plan to re-sign most of the same squad 2 months later. The good ones would move on and the bad ones we wouldn't want to re-sign. So in reality there was only ever 1 or 2 in that middle category of ones you'd want to keep that no-one else wanted. Paul Lovering is the only one that sticks in mind although I'm sure there were others. The turnover of squad every year was huge, the vast majority of the squad wouldn't return, for whatever reason.

You are right that for about 3 or 4 years we gave out one year contracts that expired in May and signed no-one until late July. The 'joke' was that we couldn't sign anyone until after Wimbledon had finished, although even that was early. We did it once it became clear that being a full-time club was unsustainable. We used this technique for a few years to save 2 months wages, before realising that we still couldn't afford it and just ended up with the dregs every season and got relegated. It just delayed the inevitable. Plus the players couldn't care less because they were leaving anyway, once the better players had something lined up towards the end of the season they'd not bother their arse, understandably. This goes some way to explaining our truly horrendous record in the play-offs.

This year is probably the one year it makes sense. There is a larger saving to make due to the longer break and there are far more quality players available than most seasons. Plus with the potential uncertainty over when games can get played it might make sense to wait as long as possible before working up a wage bill. But for any full-time club who uses the strategy on an annual basis I'd say it's a matter of time before relegation and/or part-time football.

Edited by Diamonds are Forever

1 hour ago, virginton said:

Not so much a 'simple fact' as 'complete and utter bollocks, peddled by the simple'. 

Glad to see you agree by showing your brain has not yet matured either. If you’re gonna try to abuse posts, kindly try to do so in a manner that addresses the post, and facts related to why you disagree, rather than just vomiting forth your insipid stream of consciousness. So, cite your source, as my position is highly supported in scientific literature.

For the sake of finalising it...

The two Aberdeen players who tested positive have to self isolate for 10 days. The other 6 who "came into close contact" (allegedly they all went to a bar at the weekend together, which has since been identified as a "hot spot" for the recent surge of cases up there) have to isolate for 14 days.

Aberdeen will play on Saturday, but without the 8 players.

15 minutes ago, TxRover said:

Glad to see you agree by showing your brain has not yet matured either. If you’re gonna try to abuse posts, kindly try to do so in a manner that addresses the post, and facts related to why you disagree, rather than just vomiting forth your insipid stream of consciousness. So, cite your source, as my position is highly supported in scientific literature.

There's nothing of substance in your post to address, you have simply posted complete and utter horseshit and then put 'fact' next to it like some stupid wifey on Facebook. It doesn't wash on here though. And I'm not under 25 but can confidently state from noth working with a lot of folk in that age group and from reading your 'contributions' on here that they are far better equipped to judge risk and indeed to carry out any other task in life than a braying old fud like yourself.

Better luck next time.  

A82C2CD1-48C9-41B5-9D28-A9E9CE8E0FD2.jpeg.d3be676db1ccf3317445a35c285ddeed.jpeg

41 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

For the sake of finalising it...

The two Aberdeen players who tested positive have to self isolate for 10 days. The other 6 who "came into close contact" (allegedly they all went to a bar at the weekend together, which has since been identified as a "hot spot" for the recent surge of cases up there) have to isolate for 14 days.

Aberdeen will play on Saturday, but without the 8 players.

Aberdeen spokesman has just said on the sports bulletin on the Nine that they will play St Johnstone on Saturday minus the 2 players affected , don’t know where the 8 are coming from ?

1 minute ago, Robbo63 said:

Aberdeen spokesman has just said on the sports bulletin on the Nine that they will play St Johnstone on Saturday minus the 2 players affected , don’t know where the 8 are coming from ?

It said on Sky half an hour ago they would be without all 8 players who had socialised together.