Is this weekend the last match we get to go to this season?

8 minutes ago, RinTinTon said:

Well, if most of our clubs aren't to go bust, som hard truths to facein the coming months.

Maybe now is finally the time to merge clubs into regional identities and move Scottish football into the 21st Century.

(Of course, if we don't want to get to World Cups and Champions League, then we don't need to bother).

For a start, to get gates of 12-15,00 eventually:

-the Dundee pair

-the Angus clubs (Forfar Brechin, Abroath, Montrose)

-the South Fife clubs (Raith, Cow, EF, maybe Dumf)

-the Ayrshire Two (Killie, Ayr) -maybe with some Lowland clubs

-the Steel Towns (Albion, Airdrie, Motherwell, Hamilton, maybe Clyde)

-the Glasgow Balance (Sizzle, QP, maybe Clyde)

-the Highland Alliance (Ross County, Caley Thistle, Elgin)

-Farming Country (Stirling A, Alloa, St Johnstone)

-Bermuda Triangle (Falkirk, Stennie, Livvie)

-the River Clyde (Morton, Dumbarton, St Midd) ouch

-The Border Rievers (QOS, Stranaer, Annan)

-the Teuchters (Peterhead & Cove)

-Edinburgh City -maybe joins one of H or H?

With Old Firm, plus H+H and Aberdeen, that would make 17 viable teams, ie 32 games a year, plus resurrect the old League Cup format 4 teams home & away, seeded)

Ideally 16 teams, but could you combine the Bermudas with the Farmers -maybe not cohesive enough.

What a load of sh1te !!

45 minutes ago, John MacLean said:

Best solution moving forward when football does, finally, get back playing would be just pick up season 2019-2020 whenever that is and irrespective of changes to club's squads due to contract expiry. 

Season 2020-2021 starts immediately afterwards and/or in an abridged form. No League Cup perhaps, just two league games between teams instead of four and hopefully things are back to normal in time for July 2021 and the 2021-2022 season. 

Whatever we decide to do needs to be in conjunction with whatever Eufa decides,  they'll probably want to protect their lucrative tournaments first and foremost.  The Government's forecasts of up to 14 weeks for this to peak is quite worrying and makes it unlikely that we'll be likely to squeeze the remaining games in during the summer. 

Postponement would be the ideal choice but it's looking unlikely. 

Just postpone til July. Then, in July, we finish this season. Promotion/relegation/cup finals happen before September. In September we start the new season but, here's the kicker, we make the SPFL five leagues so we can fit in a shorter season before going back to previous set up after a year

9 minutes ago, bennett said:

Whatever we decide to do needs to be in conjunction with whatever Eufa decides,  they'll probably want to protect their lucrative tournaments first and foremost.  The Government's forecasts of up to 14 weeks for this to peak is quite worrying and makes it unlikely that we'll be likely to squeeze the remaining games in during the summer. 

Postponement would be the ideal choice but it's looking unlikely. 

Their projections change like the weather, no c**t knows when this will blow over.

Well, if most of our clubs aren't to go bust, som hard truths to facein the coming months.
Maybe now is finally the time to merge clubs into regional identities and move Scottish football into the 21st Century.
(Of course, if we don't want to get to World Cups and Champions League, then we don't need to bother).
-the Dundee pair

With Old Firm, plus H+H and Aberdeen, that would make 17 viable teams, ie 32 games a year, plus resurrect the old League Cup format 4 teams home & away, seeded)
Ideally 16 teams, but could you combine the Bermudas with the Farmers -maybe not cohesive enough.
Everywhere to merge except Glasgow bigot twins because they're too important?

Decent effort at trolling, atleast a 7/10

sort of wonder how clubs across the SPFL might try to reach out to their fanbase to help keep them going. edit: depending on how long this drags out of course.

i) trying to offer season tickets on sale early for >=1 season effective from next season? Considering the current situation the uptake might not be all that great, but it might buy a bit of time to keep the lights on in the short term .

ii) direct debits off the fanbase, although I'm not sure what they can really offer in return for the cash while matches are suspended indefinitely. I already pay into our own centenary fund on a monthly basis which has some prize draws each month (signed footballs, cash prizes) so setting up a wee lottery maybe? Personally I'd be fine with contributing a small amount each month to Thistle in the short term via direct debit with nothing in return if the alternative is going kaput, but I doubt it'd raise all that much across smaller fanbases.

Edited by Thistle_do_nicely

52 minutes ago, RinTinTon said:

-the Dundee pair

You're certainly correct that the above plan might hope for crowds of 1200-1500 eventually.

-the Dundee pair

Don't talk pish ya fucking haufwit.

Brechin have just announced that our game at Elgin tomorrow WILL go ahead.  

13/03/20  CLUB STATEMENT - COVID-19 CORONAVIRUS OUTBREAK

Brechin City FC continue to receive updates from both the Scottish FA and SPFL on the impacts of Covid-19.

Whilst recognising that the ongoing situation remains fluid, in accordance with the latest Scottish Government advice, tomorrow’s game at Elgin City goes ahead. Brechin City does not have the option of cancelling this unilaterally as such an action would leave the Club exposed to sanction from the Scottish football authorities.

At a Management Committee meeting last night it was agreed that the Club’s over-riding priority is our duty of care to those in and around the Club. That includes our players, management and backroom team, club staff and volunteers who provide services such as matchday hospitality and stadium maintenance, as well as our members, supporters, guests, sponsors and contractors.

All of our upcoming social and fundraising events are being reviewed, and a decision as to whether they still go ahead will be released online as is appropriate.

We would urge all fans to consider their own personal circumstances and whether attending the game in Elgin would put them at risk, especially if you or someone you take to the games falls into the vulnerable categories of being over 60 years old and/or with underlying health conditions. We encourage supporters to ensure they follow the personal hygiene guidance which helps mitigate the spread of this virus. In addition to the need for frequent handwashing, make yourself aware of the guidance around social distancing (staying a minimum of 2m/6ft away from others).

Whilst we appreciate the inconvenience and uncertainty, we also recognise that we are facing a situation without precedent.

Eta:  and now it's suddenly off again.  What a shambles. 

Edited by Hedgecutter

40 minutes ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

Just postpone til July. Then, in July, we finish this season. Promotion/relegation/cup finals happen before September. In September we start the new season but, here's the kicker, we make the SPFL five leagues so we can fit in a shorter season before going back to previous set up after a year

Why would there need to be five leagues? You can fit in a shorter season by playing each other less often.

Just now, craigkillie said:

Why would there need to be five leagues? You can fit in a shorter season by playing each other less often.

I thought of that afterwards and it makes far more sense but, meh, couldn't be arsed editing.

But, aye, play each other twice instead of four times. If that still leaves space then throw in some kind of supplemental one off cup or mini league

46 minutes ago, NorthBank said:

Finish the season by playing Subbuteo matches. Could have it all wrapped up over the weekend (screen live on tv for the fans and journos).

Dont really need to do that. Just play each other twice for 22 games next season.