What happens if they ban large gatherings due to COVID-19?

Even if it's June, do you think these out of contract players are all going to declare themselves unavailable for a month?

If they have other plans, then probably yes. Most footballers holidays, and weddings, take place in June. I don't imagine you'll get many putting that on hold.

Saw something on the telly today & as far as I could tell they are hoping to delay the peak of infected folk until the summer June/July as they reckon it the spread should be less in better weather & services less busy & better able to cope with hospital cases.

1 hour ago, Passionate said:

Very much doubt Nightclubs , casinos and cinemas wi!l be knocking punters back on a Saturday night,  ban or no ban.   

Then they'll lose their licences and be shut down permanently on the Monday. 

1 hour ago, jd_mo said:

There's bound to be a player somewhere on Saturday who tries fake coughing on opponents at a corner to get them to take a step away?

The old pretending to sneeze from the bairns behind the goal when the keeper takes a bye-kick might be making a comeback 

But that’s not extra money that the clubs weren’t expecting, most clubs would have been relying on getting their share of the prize money anyway.

There's £25M in prize money.

Redistribute it more evenly than currently planned to help clubs get through this hardship.

There's £25M in prize money.
Redistribute it more evenly than curiously planned to help clubs get through this hardship.

That would help the clubs at the bottom certainly.

But there would surely be a lot of clubs who’d end up with less than they budgeted for, putting them in danger.
I’m think of St Johnstone, Hamilton, St Mirren etc.

Unless you’re advocating just taking the prize money away from the Glasgow arsecheeks and redistributing that. I’d be all for that.

Continue where we left off at the start of next season (lots of personnel changes but tough shit) & treat these fixtures as a play-off for the 20/21 season which would begin asap. The new season should feature one fewer round of fixtures due to the backlog.

If you could ignore the financial implications of no income for all clubs for months on end then this is the most sensible way forward.

Even delay the restart of the 19-20 season until October and then the 20-21 season could start in January and just be a half season, play each team once home and away.

However, I suspect that there would be more than a few clubs unable to fulfil their fixtures due to lack of funds if you tried that.

Players , managers , and all the staff still need to be paid, whichever way you look at it, with no income coming in to cover that cost how many clubs can survive that.

And to rely on the prize fund covering that expense, where does the money come from for next season to sign new players etc

Edited by SirJimmyofNic

12 minutes ago, Jack Burton said:

Summer football in February and March? emoji23.png

You would also be ending the season in November or December.

Aye it was obviously awkward typing that and calling it summer fitbaw but that's when the "summer" seasons start and end. Allsvenskan is March to November however that's a 30 game season (league of 16)

Don't know what the fairest solution is. Fully expect on Monday, all football to be suspended, hopefully with Euro 2020, moved to summer of 2021.

Lets just hope in 6 weeks or so, things haven't been as bad as expected.

I've also, always felt we have an older support than a lot of other clubs, people's lives are at stake and that must come first.

Time for squabbling over the remaining fixtures once his has all blown over.

Sorry for the doom & gloom, but this is serious.

Aye it was obviously awkward typing that and calling it summer fitbaw but that's when the "summer" seasons start and end. Allsvenskan is March to November however that's a 30 game season (league of 16)
The current schedule starts in July and finishes in May. You would really only benefit from playing in June but have the added headache of the season starting and finishing when the majority of postponed games happen.

4 hours ago, haufdaft said:

Why should the government compensate clubs? Will they also compensate cinemas, nightclubs and bingo halls?

The money is already within football. It's currently allocated to prize money. Just share it out.

If the government mandates the shutdown, then to maintain commerce and prevent mass bankruptcy, it is in the interest of the government to print some money and distribute it. It saves the government spending the money on people out of work if they pay the clubs their average gate, and the clubs pay their employees. Clubs fail, more on the dole, fewer workers to pay taxes. In classical economic theory, in the bad times government spending must rise to compensate for falling private spending. In the good times, the reverse.

Edited by TxRover

Saw this about German League online not sure if theirs any truth in it but could it be an option? No relegation and top 2 in each division promoted, with both HL and LL promoting one. Next season whenever that is increased relegation to reset it back to normal, season might even need to be play each other x 3 as I doubt it’ll start on time.

Prem - No one relegated

Champ - DUFC/ICTFC promoted

L1 - RRFC / Falkirk promoted

L2 - Cove / Edinburgh promoted

HL / LL Brora / Kelty Promoted

Only other option is season null and void and everyone stays where they are, I don’t see how you can declare champions in leagues with games to go or relegate teams. IMG_1376.thumb.jpg.2672f498b74c6a91a1b151d9f395bca3.jpg

Whole thing is a can of worms, if this drags on for months how can clubs survive, I doubt many can keep paying wages without gate money for long and then what happens when contracts expire? No team is going to sign players if they don’t know when the season starts so you’ll have hundreds of lower league players out of contract with no income. How can you sell next years season tickets if you’ve no idea when it’ll start. I fear a few clubs could be facing financial ruin if this drags on and that’s not just the small clubs.