Celtic v St Mirren

2 minutes ago, The Reverend said:

Celtic's average wage is more than eighteen times ours! There's a huge disparity in Scotland that probably doesn't occur in most other leagues. 

Even Hibs average wage is 250% bigger than ours. 

Well, look what happened in England when the smaller clubs were given a decent chunk of cash. They started actually challenging. The cheeky fuckers.

Can't have that sort of nonsense up here.

2 minutes ago, Coventry Saint said:

Well, look what happened in England when the smaller clubs were given a decent chunk of cash. They started actually challenging. The cheeky fuckers.

Can't have that sort of nonsense up here.

The problem up here is so much of the revenue is generated through ticket sales, and we have an average attendance of around 5,500 whilst Celtic's is approximately 58,000. Then they have a global fan base of armchair supporters buying their merchandise, cash from European competitions. The prize money from Scottish football will be pretty small in comparison.

The only way league football is likely to be more competitive in Scotland is if the gate money is always split, as with cup matches.

Maybe I'm a masochist, but I love supporting a wee club like the Saints, there's something noble in cheering on the underdog.

1 hour ago, The Reverend said:

The problem up here is so much of the revenue is generated through ticket sales, and we have an average attendance of around 5,500 whilst Celtic's is approximately 58,000. Then they have a global fan base of armchair supporters buying their merchandise, cash from European competitions. The prize money from Scottish football will be pretty small in comparison.

The only way league football is likely to be more competitive in Scotland is if the gate money is always split, as with cup matches.

Maybe I'm a masochist, but I love supporting a wee club like the Saints, there's something noble in cheering on the underdog.

The underdog that many of us have seen win the Scottish Cup, League Cup, and some First Division titles, play in Europe a few times, and finish third in the top flight. I don’t count the Ramsdens Bells Petrofac Irn Bru Norn Iron Welsh Diddies and Old Firm Cnuty Colts Cup - an abomination of a cup competition, but that’s just my opinion. No-one need share it. Not too bad for a diddy underdog. I appreciate the likes of Celtic win our entire cup haul in a single season, every season, but they can fcuk off too. 😊

4 minutes ago, pozbaird said:

The underdog that many of us have seen win the Scottish Cup, League Cup, and some First Division titles, play in Europe a few times, and finish third in the top flight. I don’t count the Ramsdens Bells Petrofac Irn Bru Norn Iron Welsh Diddies and Old Firm Cnuty Colts Cup - an abomination of a cup competition, but that’s just my opinion. No-one need share it. Not too bad for a diddy underdog. I appreciate the likes of Celtic win our entire cup haul in a single season, every season, but they can fcuk off too. 😊

I wasn't (intentionally) disparaging the Saints, just looking at things realistically.

On another note, I have been trying to recall when we last won at Celtic Park...

13 minutes ago, The Reverend said:

I wasn't (intentionally) disparaging the Saints, just looking at things realistically.

On another note, I have been trying to recall when we last won at Celtic Park...

Sorry, I realise you weren’t being disparaging. I jokingly refer to many Scottish sides as ‘diddy teams’. Compared to some of our fellow diddies, we have a fanbase who have seen us actually win the two big competitions we at least have a shot in. Many of our fellow diddies haven’t enjoyed our level of success. I was merely blowing our diddy trumpet a wee bit (ooh err missus, Kenneth Williams gif...). Fair play to those diddy team fans who haven’t enjoyed even our level of success, but still turn out each week. Morton.

😊

Edited by pozbaird

8 minutes ago, pozbaird said:

Sorry, I realise you weren’t being disparaging. I jokingly refer to many Scottish sides as ‘diddy teams’. Compared to some of our fellow diddies, we have a fanbase who have seen us actually win the two big competitions we at least have a shot in. Many of our fellow diddies haven’t enjoyed our level of success. I was merely blowing our diddy trumpet a wee bit (ooh err missus, Kenneth Williams gif...). Fair play to those diddy team fans who haven’t enjoyed even our level of success, but still turn out each week. Morton.

😊

It's Thistle I feel for, as they are a similar sized club and have had years of misery. 

As for Morton...are they really our rivals? They're not even in the same league as us! 😆 

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/scottish-premiership/latest-premiership-news/scottish-premiership-wage-bills-all-12-teams-ranked-celtic-and-rangers-pull-away-majority-ps62m-paid-salaries-1398455

Team with average player salary of £895,564 to beat team with average player salary of £48,621 and lots of people to celebrate like it’s actually an achievement. Welcome to Scottish football [emoji106]
Now now. You know wage budget comparisons are only allowed when Celtic are getting a dicking off proper big clubs in europe.

To get the petty point scoring out the way for a minute [emoji39] I am disappointed Morgan didn't seem to make an impact at Celtic.

Thought he definitely had the talent but it was too big a jump to go from the top of the Championship to Celtic. He should have been loaned back to us in the first season and it could have made a difference to his Celtic career, like Christie.

Not a bad move for him in all fairness.

11 minutes ago, sergie's no1 fan said:

To get the petty point scoring out the way for a minute emoji39.png I am disappointed Morgan didn't seem to make an impact at Celtic.

Thought he definitely had the talent but it was too big a jump to go from the top of the Championship to Celtic. He should have been loaned back to us in the first season and it could have made a difference to his Celtic career, like Christie.

Not a bad move for him in all fairness.

Morgan is just one of a long list of players to not get the chance they deserve at Celtic. 

16 minutes ago, Munoz said:

Morgan is just one of a long list of players to not get the chance they deserve at Celtic. 

He got several chances, he wasn't good enough. 

A few flashes of talent in the odd game against some low ranked European sides but, prime example was the League Cup final in December, he started as we had no other fit strikers and he had scored a couple of goals the previous few games, I think he touched the ball twice in the hour he was on the pitch, was like playing with ten men, that was precisely the type of game he needed to make an impression in and didn't. 

Don't get me wrong he's a decent wee player and gave 100% so hope he does well in Umerka but, not the level of player we needed, would be a squad player at Celtic, dozen games a season maximum and he needs to be playing regularly his age.

15 minutes ago, Flybhoy said:

He got several chances, he wasn't good enough. 

A few flashes of talent in the odd game against some low ranked European sides but, prime example was the League Cup final in December, he started as we had no other fit strikers and he had scored a couple of goals the previous few games, I think he touched the ball twice in the hour he was on the pitch, was like playing with ten men, that was precisely the type of game he needed to make an impression in and didn't. 

Don't get me wrong he's a decent wee player and gave 100% so hope he does well in Umerka but, not the level of player we needed, would be a squad player at Celtic, dozen games a season maximum and he needs to be playing regularly his age.

Morgan is not and never will be a striker. He's an out and out winger.

He was absolutely hamstrung in that game by an awful selection. 

6 minutes ago, djchapsticks said:

Morgan is not and never will be a striker. He's an out and out winger.

He was absolutely hamstrung in that game by an awful selection. 

Celtic supporters being Celtic supporters,  probably thought he was a striker. 

21 minutes ago, Snafu said:

What is being regarded as being good enough for Celtic, I don't think even Celtic know going by signing Morgan?

Just put him out on loan to Blackpool or Fleetwood and see how he gets on, players don't improve by not playing.

He got a start in a fucking cup final. He (often inexplicably) got chances ahead of better players. He tried hard, he got chances, he didn’t make the grade, he moved on.