Scotland v Israel

Smokerson

Genuine question. What's has Dykes actually done to merit a Scotland call up.
I was checking his previous stats, not brilliant in a poor league, no player of the month awards, no team of the year awards. He not a teenager, so is it just because he moved to QPR??

Rather than checking his previous stats you could maybe try the little known approach of actually watching him? Then you can come and give an actual opinion on him as a player.

Clearly it's not down to him signing for QPR given that Clarke has been on at him to play for Scotland since the start of the year, if not before.

Dykes has the unusual combination of being a busy pest like Kenny Miller but also a big physical presence who can ruffle defenders in the air. I always find him very clean with it too, not lots of elbows, shoves and pulls like other big guys but still retaining his aggression. His attitude seems spot on too, so he has all the tools to potentially be a good Scotland number 9. We'll have to wait and see how he adapts to the pressure and the slight step up in quality.

11 hours ago, G51 said:

By the time Steve Clarke, Chris Wilder and Oli McBurnie are all saying the same thing, I'm pretty sure that's the real story.

Folk are just seeing what they want to see at this point.

Putting players in the squad knowing they're going to pull out isn't great, reading between the lines whether it's Shankland or McBurnie you are giving them the choice.
The problem for Clarke and the pool of players he has to pick from, hes in a position that he can't close the door on any player.
If clubs or managers don't want their players to go on international duty Clarke will know this so hes got to get his answers from the players.
For me the bottom line is McBurnie has had 9 caps with no goals yes leave the door open but look for a better option.

1 hour ago, DAVIDB69 said:

Would imagine so but won’t stop a lot of people labelling him the next big thing.

Would imagine it’s a your not an Aussie anymore type cap.

I get the feeling and have seen next to nothing of him he will be an all or nothing type cap.

He will be surprisingly very good and look comfortable or he will be a hopeless diddy hugely out of his depth .

I actually have a sneaking suspicion he could be a cult hero for us and have a few quality years before fading into obscurity. Mildly excited about it.

He's an absolute unit with a great attitude who works hard, can shift a bit, and puts himself about. The ingredients are there.

46 minutes ago, wastecoatwilly said:

Putting players in the squad knowing they're going to pull out isn't great, reading between the lines whether it's Shankland or McBurnie you are giving them the choice.
The problem for Clarke and the pool of players he has to pick from, hes in a position that he can't close the door on any player.
If clubs or managers don't want their players to go on international duty Clarke will know this so hes got to get his answers from the players.
For me the bottom line is McBurnie has had 9 caps with no goals yes leave the door open but look for a better option.

I'm pretty sure Clarke assumed that McBurnies foot would heal in time to give him a shot at playing, and didn't just pick him so he could drop him straight away.

I doubt we're going to do much better than McBurnie in the next few years, but you never know. It's not his fault that he was asked to do things in a team that he isn't very good at doing.

You know what? I'm willing to give him the benefit of the doubt on this now. Clarke and Sheffield should have discussed this before the squad and not had him in it to start with, I'm thinking. 

He didn't get this laceration and infection on Tuesday, so I'm a bit baffled this wasn't prevented in the first place. Him missing from the squad and Clarke explaining why in the press conference would have prevented any storm, no need for clarification. Kinda sounds like he was named in the squad and then Clarke and Wilder spoke. Should have been other way around.

It looked for all the world like a slap in the face for Clarke, who had been on the radio saying McBurnie was a class player and sounded like Clarke was going to start him. 

Poorly handled. 

Main thing now is we get a chance to see how Dykes fits. Be very interesting to see what combination of midfielders we end up going with; only those at camp will know who does and doesn't look sharp enough to start. 

5 hours ago, John Lambies Doos said:

I was checking his previous stats, not brilliant in a poor league, no player of the month awards, no team of the year awards. He not a teenager, so is it just because he moved to QPR??

I remember seeing Dykes in one of his early games for Queens in the League Cup at Easter Road in Aug 2016. He scored and played well in a 3-1 victory for Queens, and was a constant nuisance to the Hibs defence. I remember thinking we’ve got a real prospect here, and a few of my Hibs-supporting pals were hugely impressed.  

He’s got a real presence - strong and physical but surprisingly good touch too, and a turn of pace. He always had the raw materials.  If I’m honest it took him a while to fulfil his promise at Palmerston. The one thing that let him down was his finishing - he never really looked like a natural goalscorer, but then again he was playing in the same team as Dobbie, who’d make anyone else look bad in that respect. Dykes might have played second fiddle, but he was one of the main reasons Dobbie scored 43 goals in all comps in 2018-19, and his assist stats were up there with the best in the league.

I believe Dykes was a multi-sports player growing up, and was fairly late to specialise and choose football. At times it looked like he was an athlete learning how to become a footballer. I suspect he hasn’t yet reached his ceiling and still has room for improvement. 

I do think he improved hugely at Queens during his time there, and clearly significantly improved again (including his goalscoring) when he was with Livingston. He’s a confident guy, and I suspect the English Championship will suit his style. He should do well at QPR.

My gut feeling is he’s one of these players that takes a step up in level in his stride, as he’s clearly a hard worker with a positive attitude, and is eager to learn. I think he’ll be relatively unphased by the transition to international football and become a valuable component of the squad, in a position where we’ve been weak for a while.

He may never be a particularly prolific scorer, but he’ll give 100%, work opposition defences hard, and create opportunities for others. He’s a team player, and his confidence should be an asset. Fingers crossed for him. I hope he does well.

6 hours ago, John Lambies Doos said:

We’re very low on strikers just now, that’s the only reason he was picked. The guy was playing for a very poor queen of the south only a year ago and was fairly average. 

6 hours ago, John Lambies Doos said:

There’s a lesson to be learnt about stats there. 
Dykes does merit a call up, watch his performances against many sides in the Scottish League. 

25 minutes ago, Messi Scott said:

We’re very low on strikers just now, that’s the only reason he was picked. The guy was playing for a very poor queen of the south only a year ago and was fairly average. 

Harsh. By the same logic Andy Robertson was only a couple of seasons between Queens Park and Hull, and clearly on the way up.

He made first choice centre halves at both Old Firm sides look like mugs last year. All whilst playing for Livingston.

No one is claiming him to be the next Dalglish. But he’s clearly ahead of plenty of strikers we’ve capped in the last two decades - he’s a goddam athlete for one.

Edited by HuttonDressedAsLahm

There’s a lesson to be learnt about stats there. 
Dykes does merit a call up, watch his performances against many sides in the Scottish League. 
Dobbie was the best striker for queens when dykes was there, not sure he ever got a call up for that.
I've absolutely nothing against the guy and hope he does well. Appreciate your points and many above, however couple of sarcastic roasters as always..
Seems like a possible solution alright

7 hours ago, John Lambies Doos said:

We don't have anyone else.

We've seen some complete diddies come from the English Championship to play for Scotland. Chris Martin, Iwelumo, Jordan Rhodes, Oliver Burke, Callum Paterson to name a few.
I'd put Dykes alongside them.

If strong, non-scoring strikers who could rummel up defenders was a good attribute in international football then we'd be set.

the hibs boy wasnt quite up to par, brophy didnt do well despite being a stand out at SPFL level , the jurys still oot on shankland ... its a big punt to introduce another in the same vein but unfortunately it's just a reflection on how short we are up front. 

Edited by greenockraver

4 minutes ago, Theroadlesstravelled said:

We don't have anyone else.

We've seen some complete diddies come from the English Championship to play for Scotland. Chris Martin, Iwelumo, Jordan Rhodes, Oliver Burke, Callum Paterson to name a few.
I'd put Dykes alongside them.

If strong, non-scoring strikers who could rummel up defenders was a good attribute in international football then we'd be set.

chris martin done fairly well for scotland

41 minutes ago, greenockraver said:

the hibs boy wasnt quite up to par, brophy didnt do well despite being a stand out at SPFL level , the jurys still oot on shankland ... its a big punt to introduce another in the same vein but unfortunately it's just a reflection on how short we are up front. 

Dykes is nothing like any of the three players you mention there.

So many folk writing Dykes off before he’s even kicked a ball, all based on some stats from when he played as a winger and in behind the striker at queens. If you looked at his goals and assists at Livi and then watched him actually play then you would know his call-up is merited. Amount of folk on here claiming to support Scotland but apparently haven’t watched any scottish league games is absolutely roasting.

I was very underwhelmed when the dykes thing first surfaced, but now I'm quite looking forward to seeing how he fits in for us.
He's positive and hungry to do well, which helps [emoji106]

To be honest though I felt the same way about Jason Cummings getting a run out for Scotland [emoji53]

10 hours ago, John Lambies Doos said:

*insert fat Garry O'Conner face here*