St Mirren v Aberdeen

Frank Grimes

Did Jim really say we were the team trying to play the game the right way? The insinuation being Aberdeen were somehow anti-football? Sorry Jim, Aberdeen played last night’s match the right way. Scored early, then let us fanny around with the ball as much as we liked, knowing that against two banks of red shirts, we wouldn’t have the players to open them up. Jim doesn’t normally spout pish after games. Possibly just frustrated at the amount of running around we did with fcuk-all to show for it.

Watched some of the game on TV - listened to the last 5 minutes on the wireless as my picture kept freezing - but from what I saw the game went from snappy passing to hoofs up the park and back again. Didn't think either side was brutal, tbh.

2 minutes ago, Jacksgranda said:

Watched some of the game on TV - listened to the last 5 minutes on the wireless as my picture kept freezing - but from what I saw the game went from snappy passing to hoofs up the park and back again. Didn't think either side was brutal, tbh.

The midfield three are brilliant with the ball at their feet. We looked good when they played the ball in to the feet of the wingers or chest of Main. Where it falls down is when they have to play it to either full back who usually look to.play the ball down the line whether the target is isolated or not.

Just now, Jacksgranda said:

Aye, that's probably about right. The snappy passing didn't actually get anywhere...

I love Considine, absolute hero. He's never met a ball in his life. Slows everything down before he's even touched it. Hopefully Leigh is back soon but does not look like it.

That was a wonderful day oot. Saturday night games mean you can start your drinking at a much more civilised hour, and you can make use of your morning and noon! Went to the shops, had a nice lunch, and still made it to the pub approx 4 hrs pre-match. Davie Cormack if you’re reading (and I ken you are) sign me up!

Canna mind much of the game truth be told. Ferguson’s golazo looked good in person but holy f**k watching it back it’s a peach. Was convinced Main was onside for his diving header, made an arse of that een. Fair fucks to big Curtis btw, I was ready to chuck him in the Dee but he’s made himself quite useful in the last few games.

Pelanty looked a stick on, and you’re just so so confident when Sammy boi steps up these days. Hopefully gets him going on a wee run again. Ash Taylor my motm, he’s been immense since coming back from injury. Not a fashionable player to like, but just so well suited to the Scottish game.

Nae sure if it’s just my fried hangover brain, but did we sing that Ojo chant through the entire match? I mind also singing the Hernandez song which I’m no particularly proud of, it’s a lazy stereotype and we dinna really need to go there.

Shame the cup run ends here. I’m missing the semi which is at least a bonus.

The St Mirren fellas on here seem dead sound, so all the very best for the rest of the season. I sincerely hope you relegate Hearts.

14 hours ago, RussellAnderson said:

That was a wonderful day oot. Saturday night games mean you can start your drinking at a much more civilised hour, and you can make use of your morning and noon! Went to the shops, had a nice lunch, and still made it to the pub approx 4 hrs pre-match. Davie Cormack if you’re reading (and I ken you are) sign me up!

Canna mind much of the game truth be told. Ferguson’s golazo looked good in person but holy f**k watching it back it’s a peach. Was convinced Main was onside for his diving header, made an arse of that een. Fair fucks to big Curtis btw, I was ready to chuck him in the Dee but he’s made himself quite useful in the last few games.

Pelanty looked a stick on, and you’re just so so confident when Sammy boi steps up these days. Hopefully gets him going on a wee run again. Ash Taylor my motm, he’s been immense since coming back from injury. Not a fashionable player to like, but just so well suited to the Scottish game.

Nae sure if it’s just my fried hangover brain, but did we sing that Ojo chant through the entire match? I mind also singing the Hernandez song which I’m no particularly proud of, it’s a lazy stereotype and we dinna really need to go there.

Shame the cup run ends here. I’m missing the semi which is at least a bonus.

The St Mirren fellas on here seem dead sound, so all the very best for the rest of the season. I sincerely hope you relegate Hearts.

I was chatting to a lot of Dons fans on the train in from Central, and everyone was brand new. As always you made a lot of noise, and with the Northbank created a great atmosphere. 

Ferguson's goal was a worthy match winner, some curve on the ball. It wasn't the best of games, but you came, scored and then frustrated us. We just didn't show any creativity or flair; Goodwin was talking mince in the post-match interview, we had one shot on target in 90 mins, how can we possibly have deserved anything? Generally speaking I rate our manager as well, and think he's doing well for the club.

Anyway, just knock Sellick out, please!

Goodwin's interview had come and gone by the time I got to the car (and can't face listening to it on the BBC website) but if he insinuated we were the only team trying to play football, he's 100% wrong.

Don't think there was much football from either team on the night, and to be fair, the conditions weren't exactly helping.

I did catch Gordon and Miller being slightly bemused by the comments, though Miller did say "He was wrong about Aberdeen wasting time from the 20th minute, they were wasting it from the 8th minute."

As I said, I don't agree that we were the better team, but only defence I can give in Goodwin's favour is that it's a long time since I've seen a Saints team dominate possession in the way they did against the third best team in the country - and the time wasting from so early on was a sign of that.

I hoped the Dons' parking the bus would come back to bite them, but Saints just didn't have anything like the guile and creativity to break down a team that defended so deep and so well.

9 minutes ago, Bobby_F said:

Goodwin's interview had come and gone by the time I got to the car (and can't face listening to it on the BBC website) but if he insinuated we were the only team trying to play football, he's 100% wrong.

Don't think there was much football from either team on the night, and to be fair, the conditions weren't exactly helping.

I did catch Gordon and Miller being slightly bemused by the comments, though Miller did say "He was wrong about Aberdeen wasting time from the 20th minute, they were wasting it from the 8th minute."

As I said, I don't agree that we were the better team, but only defence I can give in Goodwin's favour is that it's a long time since I've seen a Saints team dominate possession in the way they did against the third best team in the country - and the time wasting from so early on was a sign of that.

I hoped the Dons' parking the bus would come back to bite them, but Saints just didn't have anything like the guile and creativity to break down a team that defended so deep and so well.

The conditions were awful and absolutely made it difficult to play pretty football. As you say, we were basically chasing the game from the eighth minute and created nothing. 

1331051194_AberdeenStats01.jpg.5a5e90d04469666c91791c1e7e415b12.jpg

As a neutral at this game who did not give one single f**k about the outcome, I can honestly say that I am a bit baffled by Goodwin's comment about playing the 'better football'. There were precious few genuine moments of quality in the game and I don't remember anything of the sort coming from St Mirren.

Obika seemed to be hopelessly isolated the majority of the time, there was no point in the game that Aberdeen seemed to be in any way under threat. That is not to say that they were outstanding. Their goal was outstanding, but after that they were not tested at all other than a strike from distance that Lewis managed to palm away fairly comfortably.

Would be absolutely gutted if I were a Saints fan, 'an opportunity missed' doesn't even begin to cover it.

On 02/03/2020 at 16:14, AyrTroopMajor said:

As a neutral at this game who did not give one single f**k about the outcome, I can honestly say that I am a bit baffled by Goodwin's comment about playing the 'better football'. There were precious few genuine moments of quality in the game and I don't remember anything of the sort coming from St Mirren.

Obika seemed to be hopelessly isolated the majority of the time, there was no point in the game that Aberdeen seemed to be in any way under threat. That is not to say that they were outstanding. Their goal was outstanding, but after that they were not tested at all other than a strike from distance that Lewis managed to palm away fairly comfortably.

Would be absolutely gutted if I were a Saints fan, 'an opportunity missed' doesn't even begin to cover it.

Yup.

I think it shows though how rarely we are the team with most of the ball playing against a team trying to just defend and run down the clock.

We're clearly not very good at it.

On 02/03/2020 at 16:14, AyrTroopMajor said:

Funny, I never felt remotely ‘gutted’. I remember a cup quarter final away to Gretna where we fcuked it up, and that was a sickener. The path to cup glory was right there for us that season. Felt gutted leaving that tinpot shithole team’s ground. Jeez, we really blew it that day. I just never felt that way about this Aberdeen  game. I went away kind of shrugging my shoulders, feeling that we put in plenty of effort, but had hee-haw cutting edge. The fact that St Mirren had hee-haw cutting edge should surprise no-one.