Coronavirus (COVID-19)

23 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

That came from the dentist that. Was on BBC website earlier. Total charlatans now, with a pathological need to never, ever be wrong, even if it means implementing restrictions you previously said were required just to save face.

This is crazy times, with politicians in every house and every party totally losing the run of themselves. Sturgeon trying to score off Boris, Boris in the trenches against his own party, not a single one of them actually doing their job. All of them fighting proxy wars and telling lies. Blackfords tweet, for example earlier on as a great example. The words of a fucking snake.

Scientists are worshipped in modern public discourse despite their appalling track record. 

I respect scientists who actually produce things. Like vaccines. Or space rockets, or things like that. 

The academics who’s job it is to produce paid outcomes and opine in public life? Not so much. 

Climate science is probably the worst. Total gravy train with no consequence for every prediction they make being wrong. Lots of charlatans thing they have found a meal ticket in COVID.

Edited by Thorongil

It’s often misunderstood how UK government funding is allocated and what the impacts are.  Barnett may not be perfect and details could be argued about but in principle is fair.  Some things are contentious, like the Olympics.  UK gov said it was UK spending, the devolved administrations said it was English spending so they wanted a cut.  I’m not getting into a discussion about the details of it.

Basically though if UK gov decide to spend money in England they have to provide equivalent to be spent in the devolved administrations.  Those administrations can spend that money on whatever they like.

How the formula operates remains open to interpretation. For example, the UK and devolved governments have disagreed in the past on whether spending on regeneration projects linked to the 2012 Olympics should be classified as England-only spending – which would result in additional funding for the devolved nations – or UK-wide spending – resulting in no additional devolved funding. Currently, the UK Treasury exercises full discretion over this process, with no obligation to transparently publish its calculations.

The Treasury can choose to bypass the Barnett formula entirely, as it did for the £1bn funding package for Northern Ireland that was negotiated as part of the Conservative-DUP supply and confidence agreement after the 2017 general election.

1 hour ago, Genuine Hibs Fan said:

No not really every polis I've known personally has ignored the dafter fringe of the restrictions throughout tbh. Unless someone grasses pretending not to see flat parties etc. Could just be the folk I know though 

1 hour ago, Bairnardo said:
1 hour ago, Genuine Hibs Fan said:
No not really every polis I've known personally has ignored the dafter fringe of the restrictions throughout tbh. Unless someone grasses pretending not to see flat parties etc. Could just be the folk I know though 

It made the news and the Police heid yins had to tell them to calm the f**k down. I think it might have been easter eggs and wine that were targeted. Truly the mentalest of times.

That happened in England, well not really but the Chief of Northamptonshire police said it might come to that when answering a question but wasnt actually saying it should happen now. Derbyshire took some grief for using their force helicopter to take pictures of beauty spots with people obviously travelling outwith their area to attend, it seems to have been an attempt at getting a point across that was twisted somewhat into ‘the police are tracking us all with helicopters’.

Usually when legislation takes effect theres training and courses etc to help define parameters whereas this legislation was passed quickly and implemented in a manner that made it impossible to do anything other than make an abridged power point to start with. Genuinely the last thing, even from a selfish perspective, that any police officer wants to do in the midst of a pandemic where every other public sector worker (including people who werent dealing with the public) was vaccinater, is to have to go into flat parties or large groups etc when it can be avoided. If people got tickets 9/10 id imagine it was probably either for something that they refused to desist from, was reported by a neighbour, or they were probably an absolute outrage who could have been arrested for a BOP etc but were sent away with a covid ticket when playing facebook lawyer at a party during lockdown. 

The newspapers dont ever post the positive stuff that happened with police officers like ones I know who made sure to check in on vulnerable elderly people who had their only means of socialising remove from them. I know a boy who had his father die and after a few days offered to return to front line duties because the pandemic was placing a strain on the shift with absences etc. Or the impact dealing with so many deaths and having to put folk into body bags on an almost daily basis can have on people (especially when many had suffered loss around that time and hadnt had the chance to grieve or go to funerals themselves). 

1 minute ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

Not strictly true.

How the formula operates remains open to interpretation. For example, the UK and devolved governments have disagreed in the past on whether spending on regeneration projects linked to the 2012 Olympics should be classified as England-only spending – which would result in additional funding for the devolved nations – or UK-wide spending – resulting in no additional devolved funding. Currently, the UK Treasury exercises full discretion over this process, with no obligation to transparently publish its calculations.

The Treasury can choose to bypass the Barnett formula entirely, as it did for the £1bn funding package for Northern Ireland that was negotiated as part of the Conservative-DUP supply and confidence agreement after the 2017 general election.

Correct

Glenn Campbell hinting at restrictions for large events like Hogmanay and sporting events to be considered tomorrow.
Will be too much to ask for them to wait until the Premiership winter break in a week and a half of course.

Absolutely no chance they’ll let a 60k crowd at parkhead on the 2nd so of course all the other grounds will shutter accordingly.

3 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

Its incredible to me that nobody is bringing up this kind of data and challenging anyone. Every major media outlet meekly accepting the worst case scenario as fact and reporting as such.

I don't think I've ever been as disheartened with the government and media in my life. Embarrassed with myself that I'm looking to tories and gb news for a bit of balance 

30 minutes ago, Squalor Vic said:

Its incredible to me that nobody is bringing up this kind of data and challenging anyone. Every major media outlet meekly accepting the worst case scenario as fact and reporting as such.

I don't think I've ever been as disheartened with the government and media in my life. Embarrassed with myself that I'm looking to tories and gb news for a bit of balance 

Bad news out sells good news.

7 minutes ago, Elixir said:

All 'for the greater good' to the 'zero covid' psychopaths. Never forget the creatures who pushed this here, but failed. They'll fail in Western Australia as well.

At the time it seemed the sensible thing to do but Australia backed itself into a corner can't get out of 

There is no answer as anyone who dies from a change of approach and opening up family will also say you have blood on your hands 

1 hour ago, Thorongil said:

Scientists are worshipped in modern public discourse despite their appalling track record. 

I respect scientists who actually produce things. Like vaccines. Or space rockets, or things like that. 

The academics who’s job it is to produce paid outcomes and opine in public life? Not so much. 

Climate science is probably the worst. Total gravy train with no consequence for every prediction they make being wrong. Lots of charlatans thing they have found a meal ticket in COVID.

I’d guess the ones in academia are probably ‘failed scientists’.

Appears every Tom ,dick and Harry is a professor.

15 minutes ago, Elixir said:

All 'for the greater good' to the 'zero covid' psychopaths. Never forget the creatures who pushed this here, but failed. They'll fail in Western Australia as well.

The mother of a lass who works with my wife passed away recently, her brother lives in Australia, has been there for a while but isn't yet a full Australian citizen. Under the terms of his visa he would have been able to come home for the funeral, and was willing to do so, but he wouldn't have been allowed back into the country. He had no choice but to watch his mum's funeral on what is basically the feed from a security camera.