Coronavirus (COVID-19)

21 minutes ago, Rugster said:

I’ve asked this a number of times and not had an answer, but can anyone actually tell me, tin foil hatters aside ( that means you detournement) a Bona fide reason why the government would actually want to keep restrictions in place for longer than necessary in their mind, given the damage it is doing to all sorts of areas? 

They got so much wrong at the start with care homes etc and are now absolutely terrified to believe that the vaccines are cigaring the virus and pandering to Baul, Leitch and Devi. 
Dont think anyone’s suggesting that NS is sitting at home delighted everyone’s life is fucked, but most here at least suggesting that they are absolutely too slow to move and constantly looking for the negative in every development. 

Aye it’ll definitely be less that seasonal flu as the flu vaccine isn’t as effective, even with the yearly boosters. So effectively less people will die from Covid than from the flu.  Why do we accept the flu kills peoples but not Covid?

Probably just because we’re used to it and we know it well. Most people are shite at evaluating without having proper training in the subject so the brain is quite biased subconsciously
Flu - an everyday occurrence where the very sick and dieing are out of sight and out of mind
Covid- something from a horror movie where the dead are reported to us every day

1 minute ago, effeffsee_the2nd said:

Probably just because we’re used to it and we know it well. Most people are shite at evaluating without having proper training in the subject so the brain is quite biased subconsciously
Flu - an everyday occurrence where the very sick and dieing are out of sight and out of mind
Covid- something from a horror movie where the dead are reported to us every day

I’d bet there’s a decent chunk of the population entirely unaware that people die from flu because as you say it isn’t publicised widely.  They think the sniffles is the flu.  I’ve never heard of anyone I know hospitalised or dying from the flu.  Truth be told if anyone I knew had ever had actual flu I’d be surprised.

44 minutes ago, Rugster said:

I’ve asked this a number of times and not had an answer, but can anyone actually tell me, tin foil hatters aside ( that means you detournement) a Bona fide reason why the government would actually want to keep restrictions in place for longer than necessary in their mind, given the damage it is doing to all sorts of areas? 

I think a big element of it is not wanting to be criticised after they've clearly made an absolute arse of things(certainly in the initial stages of all this.). 

I think there's been a fair change in the general views of the public (and of course there's nutters on both sides) but it's not meaningful enough yet to stop those with the these restrictions are taking the piss now point of view being labelled as selfish or inpatient by those that agree with keeping them ongoing. 

I know plenty of people who'll always agree that this has been dreadful but are at an age where they don't socialise that much anymore and if the news said we'd be safer keeping things shut until early 2022 they'd give it the same well this is a bit shit line but if you speak to them a bit more you realise they're not really that bothered - or certainly nowhere near as bothered as others. These sort of folk are never going to kick up a fuss and those in charge know it.

I'm probably wording this really badly but IMO they'll be looking at two different types of criticism, they can keep these restrictions in place and get accused of doing this for far too long and being at fault for all the social, economic and mental health issues that it's to blame for but know that even those with very valid questions can easily get branded an anti-lockdown lunatic who doesn't care about those at risk. Or they can open things up, and if there hypothetically was a spike in deaths then all of a sudden they've got criticism for (more) blood on their hands which no-one's ever going to defend.

Edited by Louis Litt

Sky news just had a good wee segment ripping the pish out of the recent quotes from Boris saying I can see nothing in the data to prevent the June 21st unlock.  They basically showed that nothing has changed since those statements and speculated there is now a 5th test of “get everyone vaccinated”

Might be wrong but I kinda get the feeling that the public are beginning to get totally hacked off with these restrictions.

Listened to Boris but wasn’t convinced.

I think people will probably accept another few weeks of this nonsense but that’s it!!

Reports coming out that people are starting to abandon masks on public transport in England and hopefully this will be the start of some concerted civil disobedience. I certainly am up for it.

See if they were able to present data that showed why we needed to slow down they’d get backing from me.     If we were seeing high amounts of deaths or exoculating hospitalization then it would make sense.   We aren’t seeing that or anything close to that. 

What clear, properly scrutinized data are they seeing? note opinion polls don’t count.

Edited by parsforlife

12 minutes ago, Left Back said:

Sky news just had a good wee segment ripping the pish out of the recent quotes from Boris saying I can see nothing in the data to prevent the June 21st unlock.  They basically showed that nothing has changed since those statements and speculated there is now a 5th test of “get everyone vaccinated”

They covered this on Have I Got News For You a couple of weeks ago.

”I see nothing in the data” =/= “There is nothing in the data”

Lo and behold, he now sees something in the data after the scientists pointed it out…

2 hours ago, Thereisalight.. said:

Utter riddy that we'll still be preserving with 500 crowds at Prem stadiums when the season begins 

It certainly will be if there’s 15,000 at Centre Court for the final at Wimbledon.

19 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

I can only think of them being afraid to make a mistake, open too soon and see deaths go uncontrollably high.

I honestly think it's mainly fear driving this right now.

I think you really have to consider the role of IndyRef2 in all of this too. It might not be driving policy but it must be on her mind that any sign of incompetence at this stage would be devastating to the cause.

Finally, I think furlough is underpinning all of the caution. If that goes, restrictions absolutely have to go. We have no alternative unless the government want to watch our economy collapse overnight.

That ship has sailed in both Edinburgh and Westminster. Way beyond incompetence.

It’s extremely naive to think that IndyRef2 isn’t considered for every decision SG make.  They would do nothing they believe might harm that cause.  For too many people in this country it is the only thing that matters though so SG can do no wrong.

53 minutes ago, O_Kahn said:

It certainly will be if there’s 15,000 at Centre Court for the final at Wimbledon.

Very important in the social season Wimbledon.  Lots of Tory party friends and supporters won’t want to miss their debenture seats two years running.

1 hour ago, oaksoft said:

I hope Andrew Lloyd Webber follows through on his threat to open up his theatre fully next week He promised he would do so and said they'd need to send the police to close them down. We need more of that. Much more of that.

A mate was at a wedding in Glasgow over the weekend and the jobsworth manager apparently screamed at people for not distancing during the reception and phoned in the polis to clear the place and check rooms afterwards to make sure it was just actual guests staying over and no partying.

Tinpot hotels are probably less able to stand up against the rules than Lloyd~Webber and the likes, but there’s ways to go about it. Not convinced everybody is either willing or able to snap out of the officious attitudes either.

6 hours ago, anotherchance said:

A mate was at a wedding in Glasgow over the weekend and the jobsworth manager apparently screamed at people for not distancing during the reception and phoned in the polis to clear the place and check rooms afterwards to make sure it was just actual guests staying over and no partying.

Tinpot hotels are probably less able to stand up against the rules than Lloyd~Webber and the likes, but there’s ways to go about it. Not convinced everybody is either willing or able to snap out of the officious attitudes either.

We have got a wedding next week in England. Postponed from just before lockdown so no restrictions now in terms of numbers. Apparently social distancing must be adhered to and masks worn when not at tables. Looking forward to see someone pathetically trying to enforce social distancing.

8 hours ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

Might be wrong but I kinda get the feeling that the public are beginning to get totally hacked off with these restrictions.

Listened to Boris but wasn’t convinced.

I think people will probably accept another few weeks of this nonsense but that’s it!!

Reports coming out that people are starting to abandon masks on public transport in England and hopefully this will be the start of some concerted civil disobedience. I certainly am up for it.

100% true from being on trains at the weekend. Possibly something to do with the heat and the fact that they were full of young lads going to watch the England game together, but the percentage of passengers wearing a mask is down noticeably in recent days. This only seems to be happening on public transport for now and hasn’t spilled into the shops yet but worth monitoring. 

9 hours ago, Left Back said:

Because they made such a monumental c**t of it last year and caused thousands of un-necessary deaths they’re paralysed with fear of doing the same again.

They already have. The Delta variant is everywhere, despite forcing people to pay £1750 to stay in a hotel for 11 days  in order to stop the Delta variant circulating. I don't understand why more people aren't angrier about the failure of hotel quarantining.