Coronavirus (COVID-19)

10 minutes ago, MixuFixit said:

So what? Folk moderate their behaviour all day despite going weeks without seeing a policeman. It's the effect of the images on telly and the odd pair of soldiers being seen.

Hopefully a big majority of people are already taking the advice, making it criminal not to follow it would encourage more. Putting the army in an impossible position trying to enforce it would just encourage idiots to take the pish imo.

Edited by welshbairn

There isn't but im from aberdeen and there was a mass descension on the shire to places like loch muick etc with people saying it was mobbed. That is just idiocy or don't you agree?

There are loads of walks all over Aberdeenshire - plenty scenic ones without mobbing all the usual day out spots like Bennachie, Scolty, Clachnaben and Loch Muick - which has happened this weekend.

I am hoping to use this spell to get more cycling in - without the ability to stop at my usual half way target of a coffee in the likes of Ballater. There are plenty routes where you will hardly see another person.

However, I am expecting even pursuits such as this to be banned over the coming days.

3 minutes ago, virginton said:

While the overall case against traveling or setting up shop in the countryside is undoubtedly true, you have to admire the brass neck of all the teuchter bumpkins who want to set up a wicker man and burn all outsiders just to be on the safe side, when in any other March they'd be furiously turning their backwater into a shortbread tin scene to screw as much money from outsiders as possible during peak tourist season.

'Let London/Glasgow suffer so long as oor wee Barra is secure' is an understandable yet still distasteful sentiment IMO.

"Two scones,  that'll be £11.00 please. If you don't mind hurrying we shut at 2."

3 hours ago, Moomintroll said:
3 hours ago, DA Baracus said:
People just are not taking a telling.
The government has to help here, and most likely they're already discussing this issue.

I hate to be that person but we really do need the Army to get involved to bring it home to these idiots how serious this is.

3baa64ea164986047b51790290e416e1.gif

7 minutes ago, dorlomin said:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/world-51994675?ns_mchannel=social&ns_source=twitter&ns_campaign=bbc_live&ns_linkname=5e7770bc9ea9fc0673e7b071%26What to do if you go for a walk and it's crowded%3F%262020-03-22T16%3A13%3A48.130Z&ns_fee=0&pinned_post_locator=urn:asset:e0d94615-212c-4855-936d-54154c1794b8&pinned_post_asset_id=5e7770bc9ea9fc0673e7b071&pinned_post_type=share

This may last many months, perhaps even well over a year. 

People placed in near house arrest with failing relationships, super grouchy children, having a shitty bedroom in over crowded shared accommodation, with noisy neighbors, in a damp studio flat, moved back in with parents from uni where you had had a home of your own... all kinds of unpleasant cramped conditions. 

I honestly can't envisage it being anywhere close to a year. Complete lockdown on a massive scale such as this is not a long term strategy that will work. 

Even with so many lives on the line, the negative effects of doing this would  far outweigh the positives on all fronts. The protection of the NHS from being overwhelmed with covid cases would lead to it being overwhelmed with mental health issues, possibly alongside covid cases. 

Just now, superbigal said:

Video showing the dundee zoomers all descended on tentsmuir today. Busier than a summer afternoon. 100s of cars parked tail to tail.

Justified IMO - probably just having a walk with the wife to get a minutes peace from the mother in law and the wean. The government would do well to permit that during a lockdown scenario too.

Imagine the whole country having to go into lockdown because an arsehole minority cannot follow simple advice.

It will be infuriating.

The amount of sensible people that are using solitary walks/running to make this bearable are going to be denied it by these utter c***s.

2 minutes ago, superbigal said:

Video showing the dundee zoomers all descended on tentsmuir today. Busier than a summer afternoon. 100s of cars parked tail to tail.

You’re sure they’re all from Dundee?

Just now, Dons_1988 said:

It will be infuriating.

The amount of sensible people that are using solitary walks/running to make this bearable are going to be denied it by these utter c***s.

Could we have made the message of which activities are acceptable and which ones aren’t any clearer?

“Jogging - good.  Dogging - bad.”

2 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

Could we have made the message of which activities are acceptable and which ones aren’t any clearer?

“Jogging - good.  Dogging - bad.”

I remember the days when that meant you were skipping school.

28 minutes ago, MixuFixit said:

So what? Folk moderate their behaviour all day despite going weeks without seeing a policeman. It's the effect of the images on telly and the odd pair of soldiers being seen.

On the other hand different people take drugs everywhere and loads of people walk past sniffer dogs carrying to get into festivals/clubs because they know the odds are stacked in their favour. 

As you were saying earlier it's about personality. If you are a flapper who is scared of his own shadow this is manna from heaven.  All the weirdos that hate their partner going out without them will be loving it. 

13 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

Imagine the whole country having to go into lockdown because an arsehole minority cannot follow simple advice.

Which reminds me, in the ‘matches you could watch in their entirety’ thread, did anyone suggest the 1980 Scottish Cup Final?

12 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

Justified IMO - probably just having a walk with the wife to get a minutes peace from the mother in law and the wean. The government would do well to permit that during a lockdown scenario too.

You’re an utter moron.  I specifically said we went to places we knew would be empty.