Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Daily Infections per 100K in 7 days Update:   The UK in particular had a huge 48 hours dropping over 13% (Error me claiming 24 hours yesterday. All in timing of figures)

Another decent day for Scotland.  Highlights are Renfrewshire, East Lothian, West Dunbartonshire & Edinburgh.    Lowlights are Glasgow and the large gap then down to North Ayrshire.   Some area that sounds like it should be in Wales is now Scotland's most dangerous neighbourhood. 

I am going to do a 14 day review tomorrow, from the figures at the 1st announcement of the Road Map to Levels at the end of April. I can exclusively reveal we have had a 40% reduction in those 2 weeks, and infectivity has dropped 34%.  Surely some decent roadmap changes possible now.

Scotland peaked at 301.9 for figures 29th Dec to 4th Jan,    Cases that day were 16,496 and test rate was 11.9%

Total cases  7 days from 26th Feb to 4th March are down from 3558 to 3489. The positive test rate goes from  3.3% to 3.3%.  Cases per 100k goes from  65.1 to 63.9 down 1,94%  Overall cases are now down 78.83%.

UK Figures 

England  86.4 to 74.4 down 13.89% in last 48 hours.  Wales  54.6 to 49.6 down 9.16% in last 48 hours , Northern Ireland 84.6 to 77.9 down 7.92% in last 48 hours.   UK Average is now 84.4 to 73.1  down 13.39%  in last 48 hours.

In Europe (Above 2 Million Population) the Czech republic is still rising at 792, next worst is Serbia at 353. Hungary 304, Sweden 269, France 222, Italy 212.

NHS FIGURES (Ignoring Islands) : Forth Valley 132.7 to 125.2 ,  Lanarkshire 93.7 to 95.9, Greater Glasgow & Clyde  87.1 to 86.7 ,  Lothian 68.2 to 62.7,  Ayrshire & Arran 58.2 to 56.3,  Tayside 53.9 to 51.7, Fife  40.2 to 42.3, Highland 30.8 to 29.5, Grampian 24.2 to 25.4 , D&G 16.1 to 17.5 ,  Borders 16.4 to 17.3 

Council progress in last 24 hours as follows.

Click cases by neighbourhood to see the spread on the geographical map. 
https://public.tableau.com/profile/phs.covid.19#!/vizhome/COVID-19DailyDashboard_15960160643010/Overview
Clackmannanshire  153.3 to 149.4  
Falkirk 130.5 to 122.4   Thanks to@Bairnardo a daily drop of 6.21% 
Stirling  125.3 to 116.8  Daily drop 6.78%
West Lothian  113.6 to 109.8
Glasgow City  104.1 to 107.1  Bad day, Carnwadric West now Scotland's official No go area.
Sub 100 Club
North Ayrshire 83.1 to 86.8  4th day of rises in a row. Irvine is the problem.
East Renfrewshire   83.7 to 84.8
Renfrewshire   85.4 to 78.2  Great 48 hours down 25%
South Lanarkshire  83.6 to 81.7
Midlothian 80.0 to 74.6  Nice down 6.75%
Dundee City  70.3 to 69.0
NOW ALL BELOW SCOTTISH AVERAGE of 63.9
East Lothian 71.9 to 63.5  Huge falls last 4 days. Another 11.68%. Joins the below average good guys.
West Dunbartonshire  68.6 to 56.2    Astonishing down well over 50% in 4 days and joins the below average good guys. 
East Ayrshire 59.0 to 53.3 Another near double digits daily drop
Hamlet & PInts Club @ 50.0
East Dunbartonshire  46.9 to 45.1 
Angus 49.1 to 44.8  Excellent near 10% day.
City Of Edinburgh  49.0 to 43.4  Brilliant 11.43% 24 hour drop.
Fife  4 0.2 to 42.3  
Perth & Kinross   41.5 to 39.5 
Moray 3.4 to 34.4
Western Isles  22.5 to 33.7  Well cant be oil workers in North West Lewis
Highlands 33.1 to 33.5 
Aberdeen City 27.6 to 31.0  Relegated back to Hamlet & Pint 
Inverclyde  30.8 to 30.8 Not quite getting into the best guys club.
Havana  & Single Malt Whisky club @ 30.0 
South Ayrshire  27.5 to 23.1  Unbelievable 16% drop after 27% yesterday.
Argyll & Bute  23.3 to 17.5
Dumfries & Galloway 16.1 to 17.5 
Scottish  Borders 16.4 to 17.3 
Aberdeenshire 18.0 to 16.8
Shetland Islands   4.4 to 4.4  1 case circa 250 tests.
Orkney Island   0.0 to 0.0
Good to see North Lanarkshire seems to have eradicated covid completely in the space of a day or so.

Maybe Devi is onto something with this zero covid malarkey.

2 minutes ago, Ron Aldo said:

Good to see North Lanarkshire seems to have eradicated covid completely in the space of a day or so.

Maybe Devi is onto something with this zero covid malarkey.

I appreciate the help in correcting my startling eradication of Motherwell.

Now reinstated up near the top where they always live.

4 minutes ago, Jan Vojáček said:

I've not been able to see my grandparents inside since September. 

"I think those of us living in Scotland are in quite a privileged position compared to what’s happening in a lot of parts of the world right now."

Patronising pish. Given we can currently do *checks notes* absolutely nothing other than stay at home, in what way are we in "quite a privileged position" 😂 These people are so far removed from the reality for many, and it's quite incredible they don't seem to realise.

10 minutes ago, Jan Vojáček said:

I've not seen my parents at all (and thus they've not seen their grandchild) since September. (Live in a different LA)

But aye, it's not been strict enough. FFS

I should add, I got a few red dots (not that I could care less) for my earlier comments, but this woman is directly advising NS. How are the hell are we ever going to get completely out this shit, when Sridhar is coming away with shit like that. I'm furious reading that to be honest.

Edited by Steven W

I still haven't seen any expert properly explain why we're facing a third wave despite a hugely successful vaccination programme.

9 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

She truly is a cretin.

I'm going full throttle da' here. UoL, SoH etc.

Her problem is she has no concept of what life is like below the middle classes. She doesn't realise sunshine isn't the same on a balcony, 4 up surrounded by the shite there's no room for in the flat, and school is a fucking midden with more rats than otters.

Edited by Sergeant Wilson

2 minutes ago, Ron Aldo said:
15 minutes ago, Jan Vojáček said:

I still haven't seen any expert properly explain why we're facing a third wave despite a hugely successful vaccination programme.

The longer lockdown will be rolled out as the reason it didn't happen, though.

Not just her though, this is the latest "Doom" story on BBC,

Top scientists and medics have warned that restrictions to curb Covid infections could continue into next winter.

Mask-wearing and working from home could be among "baseline" measures expected to continue until then, the government's chief scientific adviser Sir Patrick Vallance has said.

1 minute ago, WATTOO said:

Top scientists and medics have warned that restrictions to curb Covid infections could continue into next winter.

Mask-wearing and working from home could be among "baseline" measures expected to continue until then, the government's chief scientific adviser Sir Patrick Vallance has said.

Woo Hoo!

4 minutes ago, WATTOO said:

Tbf he said may be required next Winter, rather than expected to continue throughout. Essentially just not ruling anything out.

He also made those remarks 2 weeks ago.

My personal feeling is that once mask mandates go then they won't be back.

Edited by Todd_is_God

If you ignore the headline in the tweet, it's not all bad from Sridhar. 

The epidemic is either increasing or it’s decreasing so if we can keep R under 1, we can keep it decreasing into the summer months and that means we can open up much more. The basic principle is the less prevalence we have of the virus - where we were last summer - the more freedom we have expect this time we can vaccinate a large percentage of the population and therefore have a more sustainable exit than we did last summer.

25 minutes ago, Jan Vojáček said:

She's right in this case but not for the reasons she thinks she is. It was impossible to keep case numbers down last year with schools being open and the narrative being they had a magic force field round them.

10 minutes ago, Steven W said:

I've not seen my parents at all (and thus they've not seen their grandchild) since September. (Live in a different LA)

But aye, it's not been strict enough. FFS

My niece turns 1 in less than a month, they live about 400yds from my house and ive been legally allowed to visit them for less than a third of her life. My wee boy is 2 almost 3, hasnt had the chance to go out and go to the soft play and football classes he absolutely loved which help with not only his socialisation skills but even just the life experiences and introduction to sports etc. He asked for a birthday party, doesnt want presents, wants a wee party for his friends with his grandparents there (my wifes parents have seen him twice since December), yet he cant have that. Wife’s knocked her pan in with work, taking on extra days for vaccine clinics and we’ve had no support from the government yet in Devi’s eyes this hasnt been harsh enough? Shes stressed out her nut and cant even go a swim or whatever to unwind. What does Devi want to do? Lock every c**t in a fucking cage? Make your own sunshine in a 6x4 cell Devi? You know I get that she is obviously a book smart intelligent person but thats certainly not the same for her emotional intelligence and self awareness. 

3 hours ago, Steven W said:

Social distancing.

Limits on attendance at sporting events (including travel)

Travel restrictions.

There'll still be a lot of 'local' restrictions, i.e., parents won't be able to watch their kids play football. Schools, for example, will still feel compelled to have some kind of restrictions. That kind of shit is going to be on the go for a very long time.

We'll see.

Foreign travel might still be curtailed a bit, but I can't see the rest of it beyond the summer to be honest.