Coronavirus (COVID-19)

5 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Iv killed for less

Tell me about it. Sturgeon was a bit more positive yesterday, I think it will happen. As said by @renton I think there would have been stronger leaks that it wasn't going to happen by now if so. 

6 minutes ago, Left Back said:

I would assume from your earlier comment that the insurer trousering 90% of the premiums would be frowned upon as it would be viewed as profiteering?  I could understand this for products you have to have (like car insurance) but less so when it's entirely optional insurance.

Yes, products have to be designed to meet a customer need, and value is a consideration within that.

5 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

Foundy Boy definitely has pictures of Jason and Devi on his bedroom walls

Not knowingly read a single piece from Devi. 

You can see compliance in action on here from many posters, if folk can go back to how things were in pubs and restaurants in 2019 with a vaccine passport most would just suck it up and do it whilst having a wee moan on here, you included. 

2 minutes ago, ayrmad said:

Not knowingly read a single piece from Devi. 

You can see compliance in action on here from many posters, if folk can go back to how things were in pubs and restaurants in 2019 with a vaccine passport most would just suck it up and do it whilst having a wee moan on here, you included. 

Given that i'll have had both doses by the end of April, why would I moan about not getting to do things like go to the pub without being vaccinated?

Not really thought that through, have you?

40 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

Ah ken it’s a bit like locking the stable door after the has bolted ken.

I’m sure there’s a really good article being written somewhere about all the possible ramifications of a vaccine passport and how it will add on to the already mental ways we’re being surveilled by the government and private entities but off the top of my head I just don’t feel comfortable about this extending the border to hospitality venues and the likes. It was uncomfortable enough having university lecturers openly saying “yeah my job in some capacity is to do border control” without possibly extending that to bar staff.

I might be wrong and it might be possible for people with shaky immigrant status to get a vaccine passport but I’m fairly confident Priti Patel and the Hostile Environment party will be looking for any way to further extend the reach of the Home Office.

It's a fair point. It's one of these things though... is plan A good or bad? Well if plan A is used for bad purposes unrelated to the stated aim of plan A, then of course it's bad. If the vaccine passport app gently whispers Tory propaganda into your ear whilst you're sleeping then I'd agree it's a bad thing.

1 minute ago, Todd_is_God said:

Given that i'll have had both doses by the end of April, why would I moan about not getting to do things like go to the pub without being vaccinated?

Not really thought that through, have you?

I've thought it through fine unless you've always been ok with the idea of vaccine passports, if it comes to pass it'll be another wee boot in the baws for freedom of choice. 

39 minutes ago, Elixir said:

I see Gavin Newlands, whose constituency includes Glasgow Airport, has essentially admitted on Twitter he didn't understand the Scottish Government's quarantine plans. b9rreGI.png

My MP went off him when he criticised the staff at the childrens hospital down south a few years ago. Doesnt exactly strike me as the brightest MP.

16 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Stamping your foot while repeatedly mouthing the same irrelevance will not win the day I'm afraid.

Answer the question please:

It only very clearly implies this if you are foolish enough to consider peer distraction the main cause of a student's inability to complete tasks. Are you that foolish?

An arch-pedant proving incapable of supporting a basic argument in his own posts? You hate to see it happen. 

48 minutes ago, Jambomo said:

It’s not so much the having it on the phone and using it that bothers me. The point is what questions they ask to get the passport issued and what they then do with the data once pieced together. 

It may be that lots of agencies have bits of our data however they won’t all be sharing it between each other. Problems lie I. putting it all together to build a picture of the individual. Things like the passport can be the reason they say they need to gather or access data that they weren’t allowed to before.

That's a fair point. Whether it's a good, bad, or indifferent idea obviously depends pretty heavily on whether it's used as a trojan horse to do bad things. I'm not saying it definitely won't be, I just don't think it necessarily has to be.

41 minutes ago, 101 said:

@Todd_is_God looks like the pair of us could get a gig advising the Government :lol: 24 hours after our discussion it looks to be govt policy.

I think Glastonbury have really made their call far too early, unless they need a capacity crowd to make it viable.

While I highly doubt any festivals will be happening this summer anyway - even in the unlikely event that the governments allow live music to be back in the form of normal gigs with no distancing by June, I don't think they're going to allow tens of thousands of mostly younger people to pile into fields and camp for days in generally unhygienic conditions before they've had two doses - Glastonbury don't really have a choice with the sheer size of their site.

While they all may have other reasons for cancelling much further in advance, in terms of site infrastructure alone a big festival like Reading & Leeds could probably make the decision whether to go ahead or not a month in advance, and something much smaller in capacity or non-camping like TRNSMT could be even shorter notice because they don't need to start building the site up until so close to the start of the festival.

Obviously they'd all make the decision much earlier than that anyway because of the impact on ticket sales, contracts with suppliers etc, but Glastonbury takes so long to build the site that even if they wanted to they don't have the option to wait until May to see what the state of restrictions is before deciding.

15 minutes ago, ayrmad said:

I've thought it through fine unless you've always been ok with the idea of vaccine passports, if it comes to pass it'll be another wee boot in the baws for freedom of choice. 

If they mean I can live a normal life I really don't care. I'm certainly not worried about being tracked - I can check exactly where I was at any point from any day on Google Maps atm so i'm under no illusion that the UK Gov can't already do the same if they really want to.

Which is different from you being happy to sit spread out from your mates sipping a beer in a café bar on a Friday night because the government mandate you can't get too close to them.

Edited by Todd_is_God

6 minutes ago, virginton said:

Answer the question please:

What, this one:  
"It only very clearly implies this if you are foolish enough to consider peer distraction the main cause of a student's inability to complete tasks. Are you that foolish?"

No, I'm not that foolish.  Obviously, I'm not, as the point I was making was in fact quite the opposite.

What did you mean then by your reference to peers and distraction?  Remember that it was in response to my observation about current arrangements being very different from normal summer holidays, in countering a claim you'd laughably supported.

Just now, Todd_is_God said:

If they mean I can live a normal life I really don't care. I'm certainly not worried about being tracked - I can check exactly where I was at any point from any day on Google Maps atm so i'm under no illusion that the UK Gov can't already do the same if they really want to.

Which is different from you being happy to sit spread out from your mates sipping a beer in a café bar because the government mandate you can't get too close to them.

You've no idea what I'm happy with, socialising with SD last year was certainly far better than doing no socialising. 

41 minutes ago, renton said:

Suspect if it wasn't going ahead we'd have seen some government approved leaking to the press by now.

It sounded earlier this morning like it was indeed going ahead, although there are apparently some reservations in cabinet about it.

It's also suggested that some noises will be made about plans to admit all senior phase pupils to school at some point in the near future.  That's to be welcomed, but it would render the admitting of older pupils to practical subjects from this Monday, pointless and unnecessary.  

Ironically, the idea of doing so could scarcely be less practical.

1 hour ago, Gordon EF said:

It's a fair argument, but it's not the one I was responding to. Nobody will ever be forced to carry a vaccine passport. They'll only need it to do certain, non-essential, things.

There was talk it would be needed to enter shops. I’m pretty sure that falls into an essential thing 

10 minutes ago, ayrmad said:

You've no idea what I'm happy with, socialising with SD last year was certainly far better than doing no socialising. 

While anything is technically better than no socialising, the type of socialising allowed last year was absolute pish and should absolutely not be the blueprint for the future.