Coronavirus (COVID-19)

5 minutes ago, Steven W said:

Can only echo your thoughts on Traveling Tabby. Really quite remarkable what that lad is putting together on a daily basis.

You can be sure the politicians of the country are casting their eye on it too. And if not, they most certainly should be.

Well, all the data comes from the Government.

I mean, it's a nice resource and much easier to navigate than comparable governmebt dashboards, although the PHS one is pretty decent.

It would be funny though if the public health statisticians were trying to give Sturgeon the updates prior to her press conferences but she was like "no, no I'll wait for Travelling Tabby at 3pm"

Edited by renton

2 minutes ago, renton said:

Well, all the data comes from the Government.

I mean, it's a nice resource and much easier to navigate than comparable governmebt dashboards, although the PHS one is pretty decent.

I was going to say that.

It is, however, much easier to read / see trends than the raw data, though.

I doubt any MSPs read it with any great purpose tbh. There's an election in May and no one will be queuing up to rock any boats.

Edited by Todd_is_God

20 minutes ago, virginton said:

I expect a large number of 'wet-led pubs' to never recover properly and will eventually throw in the towel, unless this endless social distancing drivel is punted. The only winners will be 'family-friendly,  glorified barns serving food to Coldplay backing music. Very much a clownshoes Leitch and the gang's sort of place.

I said already , reading this forum you would hardly believe that Scottish  pubs have been in decline for some 30 odd years now,  you'd think all we did was go to the pub .  what happened to all those rural pubs once they stopped turning a blind eye to drunk driving? half of them gone. What happened to all those pishy hovels with the same dozen auld men nursing a pint for 2 hours after the smoking ban? gone!

What is it they are suggesting is going to happen long term? and by long term how long do they mean?

No large groups or partys? wedding? ever?

No standing at the bar?

no interacion with those not at your table?

No music & dancing? ever?

no standing in front of the big screen?

Theres no way THAT many places can operate by simply turning into low ish end restaurants with a large selection of draft beer and "pub grub" food, that's an already massively over subscribed market.

Also we have seen from countries where going out is prohibitively expensive that people simply switch to doing the majority of their socialising at home which 1, they can't keep prohibited forever and 2, they can't really enforce anyway

TL'DR

get new normal tae f**k

In fact. something we all understand. many of us have spent time on this forum lamenting the taylor report for how it changed the experience of going to watch football irreversably. modern newly built standard stadiums like ours at falkirk, make for a much less enjoyable matchday experience than there far more basic predesessors . now granted many clubs had allowed their grounds to fall into such a poor state that they were no longer safe or suitable to host large crowds. but many were forced to scrap areas which were hugely popular with supporters and replace them with facilities which were not wanted ( most old grounds already had seated areas for those who wanted that)  So ask yourself, is this what you want for hospitality and entertainment X10 ?

Edited by effeffsee_the2nd

3 minutes ago, Steven W said:

Can only echo your thoughts on Traveling Tabby. Really quite remarkable what that lad is putting together on a daily basis.

You can be sure the politicians of the country are casting their eye on it too. And if not, they most certainly should be.

His stats are very well put together.   Interestingly the R number in Scotland has been below one for over three weeks, the last time that happened we dropped down a tier.

10 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

You seem to be taking a Standard Grade concept of business studies and applying it fairly simplistically.

Yes, it is the case that businesses must adapt to circumstances, and the most successful ones are agile in that regards.

No, that doesn't mean the government have a blank canvas to set policy that completely re-shapes an entire industry, particularly if it's based on speculative modelling by scientists over a short term period, and the new industry that emerges from it is not what the public want. The adapted model could quite easily end up being a massively downscaled version of what we had before.

Don't forget that Tim Martin is one of these entrepreneurs who adapted to the modern hospitality industry prior to Covid-19 by creating a business model that completely undercut local pubs in pricing. Industries 'adapting' can be a bad thing.

Standard grade as opposed to p1 levels of "hospitality will be gone" where this all started. 

Knicker-wetting is just the norm on here nowadays, it's like reading posts from Bonnie Langford at times. 

Edited by ayrmad

2 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

Boasting about being "Standard Grade" is definitely what a freak would do tbh

It's better than some of the doom and gloom end of the world pish that some like yourself churn out on here. 

Just now, Burnieman said:

So fly via Dublin to Scotland and you avoid the blanket hotel quarantine?

This is an absolute minter for NS btw, after the example she gave yesterday as to why she just had to "go further" to prevent people flying in to Scotland from a "High Risk" country via somewhere else...

20201218_211513.jpg

4 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

Such a Foundation reply. Keep going and you might make General.

You've struggled to reach Foundation quite a few times on here, if you keep churning it out you'll eventually get it correct. 

7 minutes ago, Burnieman said:

So fly via Dublin to Scotland and you avoid the blanket hotel quarantine?

Read this and couldn’t stop laughing.  The guy was on the news yesterday and seemed 100% happy to hotel quarantine (i wonder how many people they interviewed to find someone so positive) and he doesn’t actually have to.  

So is Sturgeon going to ask Ireland the same thing she’s asked of the UK or basically unilaterally remove the CTA?

21 minutes ago, ayrmad said:

Standard grade as opposed to p1 levels of "hospitality will be gone" where this all started. 

Knicker-wetting is just the norm on here nowadays, it's like reading posts from Bonnie Langford at times. 

I agree with you on knicker wetting but a fingers in the ears 'industries just adapt' mentality is equally unhelpful.

I would like life to return to normal quite quickly. I'm not going to claim it's for mental health reasons or wider economic reasons because I think that's a bit of a smokescreen people use to hide behind when really they just want their old life back. 

Come winter, more people than usual may die due to vaccinations not stopping all severe disease. I'm happy to admit that I see that as acceptable.

4 minutes ago, Left Back said:

Read this and couldn’t stop laughing.  The guy was on the news yesterday and seemed 100% happy to hotel quarantine (i wonder how many people they interviewed to find someone so positive) and he doesn’t actually have to.  

So is Sturgeon going to ask Ireland the same thing she’s asked of the UK or basically unilaterally remove the CTA?

It's quite bizarre, some gadgie from the Airport knocks on his door and tells him he's free to go.

What actual difference is there between arriving in England or Dublin?  NS wants border checks if UKG don't quarantine those heading for Scotland, what is she going to do about Ireland, gunboats?  Needless posturing bites you on the bum eventually.

The Dublin Dodge is back in play.