Coronavirus (COVID-19)

I am fine with these restrictions to get things under control and get the most vulnerable etc jagged. But see if they think that this is sustainable for anything more than a couple of months they’re off their heads. We do have to get to a stage whereby we get the most vulnerable the protection they need and roll out the vaccine wider, but we cannot keep locking down like this forever more. 

5 minutes ago, effeffsee_the2nd said:

Had to laugh when you see the subs sitting 2m apart with masks on yet you can have man marking, shoulder challenges and walls when you’re on

It's different sitting next to someone for 90 minutes.

21 minutes ago, Perkin Flump said:

Complete nonsense driven by the mewling of a Government subcommittee with members desperate to get their names in the media. In their wee world it is fine for 18 players to be touch tight at a corner, but if a goal results then the players who have been tested regularly together cannot then celebrate for 20 seconds, populist, lets bash the rich football players drivel.

If players celebrating is such an issue then surely rugby has to stop completely then? You’re right it is just having a go at footballers.

1 minute ago, charlie king mvp said:

If players celebrating is such an issue then surely rugby has to stop completely then? You’re right it is just having a go at footballers.

It's all to do with reducing unnecessary contact.

Like it or not football, especially in England, has a massive space in the public consciousness and by showing them doing something different it reminds people that the virus is still there when complacency may be setting in.

28 minutes ago, Perkin Flump said:

Complete nonsense driven by the mewling of a Government subcommittee with members desperate to get their names in the media. In their wee world it is fine for 18 players to be touch tight at a corner, but if a goal results then the players who have been tested regularly together cannot then celebrate for 20 seconds, populist, lets bash the rich football players drivel.

There will be Tory MPs praying that Marcus Rashford bags an injury time winner for Man United today just so they can hammer him for the celebrations. 

13 minutes ago, charlie king mvp said:

Rugby is shite.

But the activity like tackling and scrums are part of the shiteness.

Remember football has an exemption from certain restricions. As you will be aware, supporting Brechin, the exemption can be removed.

Edited by Sergeant Wilson

It's all to do with reducing unnecessary contact.
Like it or not football, especially in England, has a massive space in the public consciousness and by showing them doing something different it reminds people that the virus is still there when complacency may be setting in.

England has also had a spate of games right through all the supposed "elite" levels postponed due to Covid outbreaks in recent weeks, so it's an attempt to limit any unnecessary contact.

There will be Tory MPs praying that Marcus Rashford bags an injury time winner for Man United today just so they can hammer him for the celebrations. 
There will be Tory MPs praying for considerably more horrific things to befall Marcus Rashford, having had the temerity to be black, working class and successfully show them in the light they deserve to be shown in.

Hopefully he continues to humiliate them.

Just now, Bairnardo said:

There will be Tory MPs praying for considerably more horrific things to befall Marcus Rashford, having had the temerity to be black, working class and successfully show them in the light they deserve to be shown in.

Hopefully he continues to humiliate them.

Agreed. It says a lot about the standard of opposition the Tories face from Labour that a 23-year-old footballer is one of the only people to have publicly highlighted just how horrific this Government has been at attempting to handle the social issues around a pandemic.

1 hour ago, Bob Mahelp said:

https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/19016435.coronavirus-ridiculous-bureaucracy-behind-vaccinator-recruitment-threatens-400-000-jags-week-plan/?action=success#comments-feedback-anchor

I realise that this is UK-wide, and that all NHS health boards suffer from suffocating bureaucracy, but this is the kind of thing that Nicola Sturgeon will stand or fall on.

People will be reading this story and asking why the most important mass-vaccination in history could be held up by red tape and insane regulations. Get it scrapped, and do it now. 

Personally I want people involved in health care to pass basic training but maybe that's just me

Given the training is online and apparently can be done in not much more than a morning, this looks like someone who is seeking out a grievance rather than a real problem.

It feels like the medical version of Us for Them tbh.

11 minutes ago, Jan Vojáček said:

Agreed. It says a lot about the standard of opposition the Tories face from Labour that a 23-year-old footballer is one of the only people to have publicly highlighted just how horrific this Government has been at attempting to handle the social issues around a pandemic.

Iv always felt the Labour party, andbthis goes hand in hand with the trade union movement, struggle to get their message across (especially in the face of a hostile traditional media) because they are stuck in the dark ages when it comes to publicity and communication. 

The truth is, the Covid-sceptics aren’t really sceptics at all. They engage in motivated reasoning; they make stuff up and double down on disproved claims. They are powerful figures, not used to being questioned. But the truth is that they have a hell of lot to answer for.

This from a Tory MP, Neil O'Brien.  There is at least one sensible one, in one area, it seems.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2021/jan/17/id-love-to-ignore-covid-sceptics-and-their-tall-tales-but-they-make-a-splash-and-have-no-shame

45 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Those are part of the game. A pile on after scoring isn't.

Thankfully the rona knows not to pass itself on during training drills, corners, tackles, or in a dressing room. Only during goal celebrations.

33 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Rugby is shite.

But the activity like tackling and scrums are part of the shiteness.

Remember football has an exemption from certain restricions. As you will be aware, supporting Brechin, the exemption can be removed.

The exemption hasn't been removed from Brechin, they are still legally allowed to play.

Thankfully the rona knows not to pass itself on during training drills, corners, tackles, or in a dressing room. Only during goal celebrations.

It is this kind of simplistic pish that kills the debate.

I don’t know if you think you are making some kind of edgy point, but you’re not.

21 minutes ago, Elixir said:

The exemption for sport as far as I understand it said minimise contact. Training was supposed to have changed to reflect that. The exemption recognised the game couldn't be changed.

There's a simple way to resolve all the conjecture. Stop all sport, problem solved.

Edited by Sergeant Wilson

21 hours ago, Detournement said:

Only cranks are against the current lockdown but when we get to March there are going to be some major debates and the Devis of the world are going to be painting anyone who doesn't want to keep restrictions as an extremist. 

Almost nothing is being said about lifting restrictions or any strategy for the Spring onwards. 

I think it’s a bit unjust to call people who are a bit pissed off that we've had 10 months of restrictions and yet really aren’t that much further forward (outwith the vaccine) cranks