Coronavirus (COVID-19)

I was speaking to a head teacher and she said there was no problem with the kids but parents and staff are causing her loads of issues. I guess it was too much for the wee mums and dads desperate for their kids to be back at school to behave and be a bit more cautious. As for teachers some of the stuff is just beggars belief

1 hour ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

Looks like it’s finally starting to become commonly accepted that schools are a hotbed of spreading. The fact that lots of cases in schools have probably also been missed (or covered up really) by things like this make it even clearer how many cases have originated from them.

Some on here are very quiet these days on the schools debate. I wonder why that is.

People were either in denial because that's what they wanted to believe, or they wanted "peace fae the wee man". Both of those are understandable but the moral grandstanding of "YOU JUST WANT A PINT YOU SELFISH ALKY!" wasn't a great look.

Todays top tip for employers to milk the system. If you have a standard Christmas shutdown and your employees are all on holiday for possibly 7-10 working days.
Furlough them all for just this period.
Top up their wages to 100% as required.
Free 80% wage subsidy for something that happens every year anyway.
I charge no fee for this advice.

14 minutes ago, superbigal said:

Todays top tip for employers to milk the system. If you have a standard Christmas shutdown and your employees are all on holiday for possibly 7-10 working days.
Furlough them all for just this period.
Top up their wages to 100% as required.
Free 80% wage subsidy for something that happens every year anyway.
I charge no fee for this advice.

Your employees would need to agree to be furloughed, but other than that I don't think there is anything in place to prevent this.

3 hours ago, flyingscot said:

I'm not sure why the focus so much on keeping schools open. I think it would be interesting if they shut the schools for a couple of weeks in Greater Glasgow. 

The reason why I think they're holding off on using tier 4 right now is because they're bricking it that it'll have next to no effect and will just piss off small business owners and the electorate in general. If they go to tier 4 and it achieves f**k all then all that's left is their sacred cow of shoving thirty weans into the same class like sardines which has fuelled the second wave all along. 

4 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

Has anyone thought about asking the elderly if they want such extensive measures taken to potentially extend their life by a year or so, if that year was to be spent essentially isolated and unable to do much with it?

They are also likely to be the biggest losers from the NHS shut down of normal procedures. 

8 minutes ago, D.A.F.C said:

This

"But the presence of the virus in a swab doesn't mean someone is necessarily capable of passing it on." 

is true for everyone, not just children. 

It's the same point that people have been making about PCR tests for months now.

27 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

Has anyone thought about asking the elderly if they want such extensive measures taken to potentially extend their life by a year or so, if that year was to be spent essentially isolated and unable to do much with it?

I have.  The answer was yes.

The inevitable by product of an effective Test and Protect App, like the one in use in Scotland, that it is downloaded by a sizeable percentage of the population is an increase in people having to self isolate.  That's the purpose of the whole thing, to try and slow down the rate of transmission by getting people who have been in contact with someone who tests positive to self isolate in case they  subsequently contract the virus before they can pass it on. 

I can see the sense in phones being switched off if the phones themselves are close proximity to each other for a significant period but the actual people aren't.  

But to switch them off in other circumstances defeats the whole purpose in downloading the App in the first place. 

If any workplace, school or otherwise, is instructing staff to turn the App off so as to avoid staff having to self isolate and being unable to work is genuinely scandalous.  

If I were told to do so then it's an issue that I would immediately raise higher. 

This sounds to me like individual schools who have done this on the qt. 

They'll be struggling with staff being off self-isolating but with no positive test result or symptoms. I think it's why they've reduced the self-isolation period to 10 days in England.

There will also be a sizable part of the population who don't want to use the app because self-isolating will mean little or no income because of the jobs they are in.

37 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

Do you mean the elderly who think they might have only a year or so to live, if they survive Covid? That would be quite a niche sample group, but the results would be interesting to hear. I doubt many of them are getting about much anyway.

Edited by welshbairn

2 minutes ago, Detournement said:

Because it's important to educate and socialise children?

Much more important than keeping the elderly alive?

Lots of things that are important are in the bin because they're not compatible with combating a global pandemic. As are lots of things that are not important but people have the right to do in a free society: again binned because pandemic.

There is absolutely no valid reason to exclude the weans!!!!!1111!!! from disease control measures and it is this kind of nonsense exceptionalism that help explains why we've made a rip-roaring c**t of it again. 

Three weeks schools shut and no mixing between families: infections in community burn out. Then you go to blended learning in which schools actually follow the same guidelines as all the other spaces that were more closely regulated and shut down anyway.

4 hours ago, H Wragg said:

I was told a couple of weeks ago (no evidence seen) that teachers in East Renfrewshire were told not to put the app on their phone.

If it's true, I'm surprised it hasn't made the news yet. It might now right enough.

I am a teacher in East Renfrewshire. I can confirm that certainly hasn't been an authority policy. I can't speak for individual schools.

Deutsche Bank suggesting that people who WFH post-pandemic should pay a 5% tax to subsidise the income of lower paid workers. Somebody earning £35k would pay £7 per day to WFH. They calculate that the average worker would be no worse off as the tax would offset other savings.

Interesting concept, will never ever happen.

2 minutes ago, Le Tout P'ti FC said:

Deutsche Bank suggesting that people who WFH post-pandemic should pay a 5% tax to subsidise the income of lower paid workers. Somebody earning £35k would pay £7 per day to WFH. They calculate that the average worker would be no worse off as the tax would offset other savings.

Baws to that, i'm already worse off by more than that! i don't live far enough from work to save very much in fuel but my gas and lecky are through the roof now!

as to schools, a 12 or 14 year old missing a whole year of education during their vital devlopmental stage is on balance worse than an adult not getting to the pub or football for the same period, or even being out of work for the same time frame.  But it's not worth it if the whole country grinds to a halt and theres nothing for said waens to go to when they leave school becuase the country is completely ruined financially

7 minutes ago, Le Tout P'ti FC said:

Money laundering c***s.

(DB)

1 minute ago, Le Tout P'ti FC said:

Why wouldn't it be the companies who employ the staff that pay the WFH tax?

Making individuals responsible is going to f**k over a lot of self employed and small companies. Where as if they target large companies like Deutsche Bank and make them responsible for paying the WFH tax of every employee (and contractor) who does not work in an office then it would be much easier to collect the tax. And of course these companies can deduct it from salaries.