Coronavirus (COVID-19)

17 minutes ago, invergowrie arab said:

One thought that I had had, which I don't think anyone else has had the intelligence to realise yet, why is it ok to go and sit in a pub with dozens of other people but not go to someone's house. Mental !!

In theory, pubs etc are controlled with social distancing, masks moving about, table service etc. You lose all of that when it's just folk meeting up in a house.

13 hours ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

Some courses are virtually impossible to teach remotely or have significant elements that are impossible to teach.

N5 Admin & IT is almost 85% practical skills - at Higher it is 58% practical skills - trying to teach those skills remotely or on reduced contact time is almost impossible. Apart from the whole issue of pupils having regular access to a computer (often sharing with siblings) there is the reality that even during contact time this may not be with a specialist due to the nature of blended timetables.

If students can't remotely learn how to use technology in an Admin and IT class then they should be withdrawn from the exam and the teacher punted into remedial training over the holidays until they can work out how to fucking screen-share. Producing 'qualified' students who need someone hovering over them to click a mouse every two minutes for them is really not what Scottish society should be expecting in 2020 tbqhwy.

10 hours ago, pandarilla said:

I think it's less about actually education and much more about the social role that's increasingly played by schools in communities now. Getting good to kids, having them in some sort of normal routine with healthy conversations, getting them away from horrendous home conditions etc.

Because in the middle of a global pandemic it's obviously better to 'keep the weans in a normal routine' by shoving them into crowded indoor spaces for 30 hours per week and put the health of themselves, their family as well as the people actually working in the school at risk. 

This is all utter nonsense. 

I see folk this morning calling yesterday's changes a 'government U-turn', which I suppose it technically maybe is.

Not sure what else they could do, tbh. (I'm no fan of Boris, btw)

Anyone think these latest measures aren't the result of folk not behaving? (not a punishment, but just a reaction)

12 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

In theory, pubs etc are controlled with social distancing, masks moving about, table service etc. You lose all of that when it's just folk meeting up in a house.

It's also about balance.

Stopping people from meeting at home doesn't royally **** the hospitality industry, and the other industries which depend on it. 

And as you say, provided pubs etc. follow what I believe will soon be the law, rather than just "guidance", then it's more controlled environment than at people's homes. 

21 minutes ago, invergowrie arab said:

Are people still not getting that the only reason pubs restaurants and small businesses are open is the economics of shutting them aren't workable without extension of furlough. 

I don't know how many FT employees some M8 commuter town ex junior team has . 

If that’s a thinly veiled dig at my post then I think you need to look beyond or even forget about the number of employees/furlough etc and consider how clubs reliant on gate money are supposed to cover their operating costs (i.e. electricity bills if floodlights are used over winter etc) if the season is to go ahead as planned. 

Edited by 8MileBU

18 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

In terms of women supporters at the level I watch we have 3 toilets which are accessible to women, given average crowds of 200 and around 10-15% of that being female then provision is actually quite good. 

Oh yeah, I’m not saying they are all bad at all. It’s still quite a lot of people going into the same 3 toilets though, over a 90 min period.

1 hour ago, Jambomo said:

The problem with any large crowd (and the majority of clubs would have a very sizeable crowd for this purpose) is you can’t control them or enforce the social distance rules whilst they move about. 

How do you keep the crowd socially distanced when entering and leaving the stadium, going to the toilets during games etc? It’s fine once your sitting down but people won’t behave properly when moving around (similar to supermarkets where you see people wandering back and forward and chatting with their mates in the aisles etc). 

Pubs where you have table service and fewer numbers are easier to manage from that perspective. Tables and other surfaces are more easily cleaned on a regular basis etc. 

Social distancing at full time. Every one stays in their seats until their row is called out. Row A please leave the stadium, Row B ...

Just now, HeartsOfficialMoaner said:

Social distancing at full time. Every one stays in their seats until their row is called out. Row A please leave the stadium, Row B ...

There comes a point where the level of control required over the crowd means you're effectively removing everything that makes attending a game enjoyable.

If people need to arrive at a specified time, wear a mask, stay near-silent throughout, then wait for however long until their row is allowed to leave, I can see many preferring to stay at home and watch their club's streaming offering. 

There comes a point where the level of control required over the crowd means you're effectively removing everything that makes attending a game enjoyable.
If people need to arrive at a specified time, wear a mask, stay near-silent throughout, then wait for however long until their row is allowed to leave, I can see many preferring to stay at home and watch their club's streaming offering. 
I dont think any of that would apply to people who have already shelled out for a season ticket tbh. They would go.

Looking at that graph the only obvious solution is to send most English people to prison.

That would solve a lot of problems in addition Covid imo.

2 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:
16 minutes ago, The Master said:

I dont think any of that would apply to people who have already shelled out for a season ticket tbh. They would go.

I know this is a tangent but if we're only talking about ST holders attending then clubs are still fucked financially. In fact, you're likely increasing their costs with no additional income.

Looking at that graph the only obvious solution is to send most English people to prison.

That would solve a lot of problems in addition Covid imo.
Or send them to school and have a curriculum based largely on what Tories really are, and why you shouldnt fear someone because they were born on a different part of a spinning space rock from you.

I know this is a tangent but if we're only talking about ST holders attending then clubs are still fucked financially. In fact, you're likely increasing their costs with no additional income.

Yeah, that's true. Hut how many clubs will be handed a reduced allocation that allows not only for all season ticket holders but also PATG? The first few months of any fan return is going to be chiefly ablut data gathering and slow ramping up. Season ticket holders are first, and probably alone for a good spell however you want to cut it

3 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:
17 minutes ago, The Master said:

I suppose it depends on whether you can run the stream in parallel with having folk in the ground. In other words, if the authorities decide that people can attend, does that mean no PPV would be available?

2 minutes ago, renton said:

I suppose it depends on whether you can run the stream in parallel with having folk in the ground. In other words, if the authorities decide that people can attend, does that mean no PPV would be available?

No ppv for UK based IP addresses.... 🤫

1 minute ago, Bairnardo said:
3 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

Yeah, that's true. Hut how many clubs will be handed a reduced allocation that allows not only for all season ticket holders but also PATG? The first few months of any fan return is going to be chiefly ablut data gathering and slow ramping up. Season ticket holders are first, and probably alone for a good spell however you want to cut it

Obviously ST holders need to be a priority as crowds increase but from the clubs point of view it needs to be a means to an end.

It'll vary from club to club obviously. I could see possibly Kilmarnock being able to allow fans in beyond their ST base as crowds grow, but selfishly Aberdeen will struggle to get anymore in beyond our ST holders so long as social distancing measures remain in place. That's a real worry for clubs, even worse for any lower league side who can't even sell PPV streaming rights.

1 hour ago, Bairnardo said:

Going into the toilets etc is flashing past someone in a matter of seconds. A contact according to T and P or the app is 15 minutes within 2 metres. There is absolutely no reason why you would reach that level at the football. Passing someone briefly, standing pissing next to them, passing them in their seat.... All of these are very brief encounters that are happening presumably masked up and outdoors.

I honestly dont see why these things are being made into an issue at football.

00124d9e-1600.jpg

You're pretty much spot on, going to the fitba could be easily workable within the social distancing rules. Football clubs are employers too and should be treated in the same manner that other businesses are.

58 minutes ago, invergowrie arab said:

Are people still not getting that the only reason pubs restaurants and small businesses are open is the economics of shutting them aren't workable without extension of furlough. 

I don't know how many FT employees some M8 commuter town ex junior team has . 

Ye cAnNy gO to YER gRanNieS HoOsE bUt YoU CaN mEet Her IN  thE Pub

Is my new favourite thing 

9 minutes ago, doulikefish said:

Ye cAnNy gO to YER gRanNieS HoOsE bUt YoU CaN mEet Her IN  thE Pub

Is my new favourite thing 

See if folk really commit to this, it could lead to some fucking fantastic days in the pub. A whole generation of young team finding out their gran is like the granny with the war stories in Chewin' the Fat

Edited by Bairnardo