Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Secondary school kids will have to wear face coverings in corridors and communal areas from next week.

What has happened to prompt this?  Why not just mandate it for the return to school?

12 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

Secondary school kids will have to wear face coverings in corridors and communal areas from next week.

What has happened to prompt this?  Why not just mandate it for the return to school?

The emphasis from current reports seems to be on the problem of having lots of weans move from one lesson to another - often inside cramped and completely outdated buildings - while not being able (or willing) to comply with the government's beloved social distancing. Which of course could have been foreseen by any logical person weeks in advance of reopening but we have clownshoes Leitch and the gang calling the shots instead. Not sure how many schools are adopting a staggered approach to not only the start/finish times but also breaks between lessons, which would at least mitigate that problem as well.

We've now moved on to the fresh nonsense line in the sand where it's apparently vital that people wear a mask while walking down a corridor for five minutes at a time because infection risk but not at all when they're actually sitting in the same room as thirty other people for nearly an hour at a time, five hours per day. And the FM suggested yesterday that this might also be binned on a case by case basis in the event of a local outbreak, which when the first school does that is just going to be the first domino in that chain as well. 

Edited by vikingTON

4 minutes ago, virginton said:

The emphasis from current reports seems to be on the problem of having lots of weans move from one lesson to another - often inside cramped and completely outdated buildings - while not being able (or willing) to comply with the government's beloved social distancing. Which of course could have been foreseen by any logical person weeks in advance of reopening but we have clownshoes Leitch and the gang calling the shots instead. Not sure how many schools are adopting a staggered approach to not only the start/finish times but also breaks between lessons, which would at least mitigate that problem as well.

We've now moved on to the fresh nonsense line in the sand where it's apparently vital that people wear a mask while walking down a corridor for five minutes at a time because infection risk but not at all when they're actually sitting in the same room as thirty other people for nearly an hour at a time, five hours per day. And the FM suggested yesterday that this might also be binned on a case by case basis in the event of a local outbreak, which when the first school does that is just going to be the first domino in that chain as well. 

Was speaking to my dad, who is a teacher, last night and he was saying that's what they're doing at his school. Every year group has completely staggered class times so that there's no more than one set wandering the corridors at a time, and they also have different entrances for each year group. It also sounded like pretty much all of their classes were now being taught as double periods to reduce the amount of movement the kids were doing.

He seemed to be fairly happy with how it was going up to now. He does teach in one of the slightly newer school buildings which probably makes this a little easier, and it's also in a relatively posh area which probably means there are less kids acting up. I'm not sure how it would have gone down in my school, which was none of the above.

Wearing a mask whilst walking between classes yet not whilst actually sat in the classroom is illogical. I'm convinced there's more stupidity to come out of all this, but this is just about the ultimate so far in terms of doing something pointless so that you can be seen to be doing something. 

1 minute ago, Michael W said:

Wearing a mask whilst walking between classes yet not whilst actually sat in the classroom is illogical. I'm convinced there's more stupidity to come out of all this, but this is just about the ultimate so far in terms of doing something pointless so that you can be seen to be doing something. 

I have no idea if it has scientific evidence behind it, but surely the point is that when you're walking along the corridors you're moving amongst lots of people at once and probably going to be packed together at points, while sitting in the class is more organised and structured.

Wearing a mask whilst walking between classes yet not whilst actually sat in the classroom is illogical.

It’s just a variant of the “bubble” or “extended household” logic.

You accept the risk of an outbreak hitting a group but look to contain any potential outbreak to that group.

.It’s questionable how workable it is in practice but the logics sound

7 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

Was speaking to my dad, who is a teacher, last night and he was saying that's what they're doing at his school. Every year group has completely staggered class times so that there's no more than one set wandering the corridors at a time, and they also have different entrances for each year group. It also sounded like pretty much all of their classes were now being taught as double periods to reduce the amount of movement the kids were doing.

He seemed to be fairly happy with how it was going up to now. He does teach in one of the slightly newer school buildings which probably makes this a little easier, and it's also in a relatively posh area which probably means there are less kids acting up. I'm not sure how it would have gone down in my school, which was none of the above.

Yeah, my wifes school has staggered break times for year groups and are having double periods to avoid too much mixing.  Her school isn't new though and is a bit pokey - when the plan was to have 2m social distancing in classrooms it would have been farcical in hers, you probably couldn't fit more than ten kids in.  They've also changed the teaching to stop group work, all pupils are in desks ina  row facing the front and children aren't allowed to come and stand at her desk, thereis tape in all the classrooms setting a boundary around teachers desks.  

I read an article by Zeynep Tupefcki on ventiliation and mask wearing, I think I shared it in here, that if you look at the evidence for what causes spread then having kids who are stiting working wearing masks while a teacher who is talking to them not wearing a mask is the wrong way round.  It should be the teacher wearing the mask as by talking relatively loudly they'll be expelling droplets.  Teachers have been told that if they are in close contact with a pupil for more than a few minutes, ie they have to sit with a pupil to help them they should wear a mask but not when teaching.  Also, keeping air flow in rooms and buildings is important but some schools have issues with not being able to open windows wide or at all.  Also, on a day like today it might not be possible to open windows if rain was to get in.

To be fair, he'll be doing that to create balance in that special BBC way.
You may or may not have missed a naturist being interviewed yesterday. The interviewee managed to slip in the phrase "doesn't come up very often".

Oh aye, he's just overly aggressive with it but not in a hard hitting Paxman way, just in a baw bag way at times.

Couple of weeks ago he had a father on who's daughter had been killed by a drunk driver and got a really short sentence, obviously treated him with care and then he had a law professor on explaining why the sentence was what it was and he started attacking him like he had personally killed the lassie 'so the best way to murder someone is to just get drunk and run them down so it's only death by dangerous driving' was his line. No John, that would still be murder as you've confirmed it was premeditated you cretin.

6 minutes ago, topcat(The most tip top) said:

It’s just a variant of the “bubble” or “extended household” logic.

You accept the risk of an outbreak hitting a group but look to contain any potential outbreak to that group.

.It’s questionable how workable it is in practice but the logics sound

You need to consider practicality in determining a logical solution and the idea that teenagers are going to socialise only within their magic bubble class group is a giant stack of nonsense that would put paid to that. 

Edited by vikingTON

My guess is they had always had it on the back burner but knew making wee darlings wear masks would be taken poorly by parents as evidenced by some idiot from Us for Them on radio Scotland just there but now the WHO have recommended it they have got the 'scientific evidence' card to play in making it go ahead.

8 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

I have no idea if it has scientific evidence behind it, but surely the point is that when you're walking along the corridors you're moving amongst lots of people at once and probably going to be packed together at points, while sitting in the class is more organised and structured.

It's a fair point, although even if distancing is in place in the classroom that it in itself won't prevent transmission when sat there for an extended period of time.  

Corridors are invariably going to be busy, but on the other hand time spent in close proximity will be low. I'm not sure also whether taking the mask on and off several times a day is also counter-productive and negates the protection it provides. 

It seems that if you're going to mandate it in corridors that they should be worn in class as well. 

32 minutes ago, Dunning1874 said:

A tremendous success on all levels.

EgMCaz3WAAI5U4S.png.1d86245563baf9413d2a4a390ea0605c.png

Assuming Scotland's 2020 GDP Forecast is the same as the UK as a whole (it may be slightly worse due to some sectors being closed longer), we would be here.

20200825_102149.png

Edited by Todd_is_God

We have staggered breaks and lunch - pupil are also limited by year group to certain areas of the school during breaks. We also have a one-way system in operation.

9 minutes ago, Snafu said:

If they are smart they will have a stagger system to make sure there aren't to many in the corridor at one time and they will ask the pupils not to hang around the corridors either.

How practical is that, in reality?

Thinking back to my school, there were a finite amount of classrooms, of which most were in use each period.

Factor in that your class group is not always the same for each subject (and therefore, by extension, period) and a staggered system would require a tremendous amount of planning, and either a reduction in time spent teaching each period (reducing the amount of learning time), or an extension to the school day to allow for 'longer' periods.

We have a staggered system. It was really easy to implement. No impact on teaching time. S1-S3 have their breaks and lunches at one time, then S4-S6 have theirs at a different time.

I actually prefer it as the school is more settled. Breaks and lunches (where a lot of flashpoints occur) are a lot quieter.

3 minutes ago, Gaz said:

We have a staggered system. It was really easy to implement. No impact on teaching time. S1-S3 have their breaks and lunches at one time, then S4-S6 have theirs at a different time.

I actually prefer it as the school is more settled. Breaks and lunches (where a lot of flashpoints occur) are a lot quieter.

I was over thinking it it would seem!