Coronavirus (COVID-19)

I see there are now 134 'infected' employees from the chicken factory who, collectively, have managed to infect just 18 others (which I assume includes family members living in the same house).

I, personally, for reasons I have already mentioned, find that unlikely.

Edited by Todd_is_God

Some Dundonian idiot whinging on STV there because she can't waltz inside a care home to see a relative. She could however see her outside but doesn't want to do that because her old relative 'would get ill from the cold' - in fucking August - so the government should obviously change the restrictions to suit her.

There should be a truncheon to the face delivery model for every gormless member of the public putting their idiotic hot take on national TV.

4 minutes ago, virginton said:

Some Dundonian idiot whinging on STV there because she can't waltz inside a care home to see a relative. She could however see her outside but doesn't want to do that because her old relative 'would get ill from the cold' - in fucking August - so the government should obviously change the restrictions to suit her.

There should be a truncheon to the face delivery model for every gormless member of the public putting their idiotic hot take on national TV.

A fine example of tautology...

To put the above in to context, let's imagine a scenario where my wife worked in the chicken factory.
If, at any point since restrictions were eased, either of us had been exposed to the virus but shown no symptoms, then we could both have viral RNA still in our system, and be unaware. We'd currently be uninfected and not contageous.
But, by testing all the workers in the factory, she'd show as a positive and be added to the cluster, and, as a contact, I'd get a test and so would I.
Now we'd both be isolating, and test & protect would work their way through where we were over the weekend. Anyone contacted through that who gets tested and tests positive, is then linked to the chicken factory cluster (despite this being impossible), and panic sets in about how it has spread so far and so quickly. NS and JL use it as a reminder that the virus hasn't gone away, the two hospitality venues we visited likely close for a deep clean, and restrictions in general remain in place longer. Given how widespread exposure must have been back in February, March & April to produce the hundreds of people per day sick enough to need to go to hospital, it wouldn't take too much to identify a large 'cluster' once you started digging.
I've no doubt this is largely what happened in Aberdeen, given the lack of increase in hospital admissions from what was a relatively large number of cases.
If the plan is to eliminate Covid-19, then it's incredibly important that we are able to differentiate live, infectious virus, and dead / partial virus, as blanket isolating of people solely on the back of a positive PCR test, however strong or weak, isn't an efficient or sustainable way.
A very localised outbreak is much easier to control - and track & trace - than one across multiple outlets in a locality.

Whilst that could be true as well, it would not explain why 80+ staff in a single factory would be 'infected'
Any food processing factory I have been in has had incredible attention to detail with regards to hygiene, before Covid-19 was even a thing. It would seem incredibly unlikely to me that that level of transmission could occur in that environment, which is what leads me to believe that the majority of these cases are the result of detecting remaining strands of RNA picked up previously from elsewhere.
There is also the possibility that, like most bugs and viruses (especially SARS) before it, it has run its course and is fizzling out.
We don't tend to go looking for virus RNA in people without symptoms, so there is nothing really to compare it to.
The factory has a really bad reputation - minimum wage, unsociable hours, generally poor working conditions - a lot of the staff will be bussed in - sharing the same vehicle - not surprised it has happened.

There is no conspiracy here so, for that at least, you can stick the tin foil back in the drawer. 
The journalists are interested in pretty much one thing; getting the headline (and online clicks) that they've already decided is their given angle. 
An example: 
Hack: If infection rates were to rise to something approaching March/April levels would you introduce a second Lockdown?
NS: We shouldn't speculate about future infection rates or the impact of them. 
Headline: FM REFUSES TO RULE OUT SECOND LOCKDOWN IF SECOND WAVE HITS
There you have Lockdown and Second Wave included in the same Headline in what, technically, would be an accurate summary of the FM's reply. 
 You can debate whether the above reflects on the standard of journalism and/or our collective attention spans. 
John Beattie's programme tonight was indulging in this sort of click bait journalism - actively looking for people facing issues getting a test today - but failing to look at the possible reason for the increase in demand - parents swamping the system because their child has a sniffle.

47 minutes ago, Snafu said:

No mention of the horrific germ filled minefield that is the underside of a school desk or table.

Does that still happen?

Yes.

As bad as the attention seeker whose GP has barred her because she refuses to wear a face mask in the surgery.

She complained about having a heart condition yet somehow managed to speak to reporters at a hundred miles an hour to voice her complaint.

Just now, DeeTillEhDeh said:
4 hours ago, John MacLean said:
There is no conspiracy here so, for that at least, you can stick the tin foil back in the drawer. 
The journalists are interested in pretty much one thing; getting the headline (and online clicks) that they've already decided is their given angle. 
An example: 
Hack: If infection rates were to rise to something approaching March/April levels would you introduce a second Lockdown?
NS: We shouldn't speculate about future infection rates or the impact of them. 
Headline: FM REFUSES TO RULE OUT SECOND LOCKDOWN IF SECOND WAVE HITS
There you have Lockdown and Second Wave included in the same Headline in what, technically, would be an accurate summary of the FM's reply. 
 You can debate whether the above reflects on the standard of journalism and/or our collective attention spans. 

John Beattie's programme tonight was indulging in this sort of click bait journalism - actively looking for people facing issues getting a test today - but failing to look at the possible reason for the increase in demand - parents swamping the system because their child has a sniffle.

My kids half sister developed a cough and temp so we all have to get the all clear before anyone can go back to school/work (my ex is a technician in school and I’m in Council nursery).
My results aren’t back and my wee one needed retest. 
Helpline To call after 48 hrs been down all afternoon.

52 minutes ago, Snafu said:

No mention of the horrific germ filled minefield that is the underside of a school desk or table.

Does that still happen?

It’s pretty much the only source of nutrition some kids get these days.

Anyway, bairn come home today with the story that someone in her class was wheeched away for a test at playtime today and never returned.

Already a case at her school. Thoroughly expect another 2 weeks of home schooling soon.

My kids half sister developed a cough and temp so we all have to get the all clear before anyone can go back to school/work (my ex is a technician in school and I’m in Council nursery).
A cough clearly does need tested - unfortunately some parents are asking for tests when it's clear their child just has a dose of the cold - it's worse now because schools are just back so there will an increase in non-Covid illnesses.

Aye, in fairness that is all Beattie does. That or just take a contrary position to whatever the person he is interviewing says.

Today was particularly infuriating as even had that fucking gasbag Tomkins on.

22 minutes ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:
28 minutes ago, RH33 said:

A cough clearly does need tested - unfortunately some parents are asking for tests when it's clear their child just has a dose of the cold - it's worse now because schools are just back so there will an increase in non-Covid illnesses.

Aye wee soul was pretty poorly and needed steroids. Probably standard upper respiratory virus. Both trips to test centres there were loads cars full of kids.

It’s pretty much the only source of nutrition some kids get these days.
Anyway, bairn come home today with the story that someone in her class was wheeched away for a test at playtime today and never returned.
Already a case at her school. Thoroughly expect another 2 weeks of home schooling soon.
The Chinese whispers around schools is rife just now.

"Such and such has covid..." is a discussion point for every class.

13 hours ago, Todd_is_God said:

Whilst that could be true as well, it would not explain why 80+ staff in a single factory would be 'infected'

Any food processing factory I have been in has had incredible attention to detail with regards to hygiene, before Covid-19 was even a thing. It would seem incredibly unlikely to me that that level of transmission could occur in that environment, which is what leads me to believe that the majority of these cases are the result of detecting remaining strands of RNA picked up previously from elsewhere.

There is also the possibility that, like most bugs and viruses (especially SARS) before it, it has run its course and is fizzling out.

We don't tend to go looking for virus RNA in people without symptoms, so there is nothing really to compare it to.

https://www.sbs.com.au/news/the-feed/why-are-meatworks-covid-19-hotspots 

10 hours ago, MP_MFC said:

Aye, in fairness that is all Beattie does. That or just take a contrary position to whatever the person he is interviewing says.

Today was particularly infuriating as even had that fucking gasbag Tomkins on.

To be fair, he'll be doing that to create balance in that special BBC way.

You may or may not have missed a naturist being interviewed yesterday. The interviewee managed to slip in the phrase "doesn't come up very often".

56 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

We need to protect childrens mental health by er, keeping schools closed?

https://www.bbc.com/news/amp/uk-53884401?__twitter_impression=true

To me, primary and secondary are totally opposite in this. Not socialising primary kids, especially younger ones, will be pretty disastrous long term. Secondary schools seem like a quite different situation. I'd have been happy to see the initial blended learning idea tried out.