Coronavirus (COVID-19)

9 minutes ago, Bob Mahelp said:

For me, I see some of his socialist views as too extreme for my liking. I also didn't trust the Momentum nutters that were in the background pulling his strings. That's my personal opinion, and apparently it was shared by a vast number of voters. 

That, and the fact that he's a scarecrow-like mumbleclown with the personality of a dead sheep. I fucking hate Labour, but I given that somebody has to be in power in Westminster I'd rather it was them than the Tories....but honestly there was a snowball's chance of hell of that ever happening under Corbyn. 

It's rather sad that some people on here find that hard to accept, and keep on looking for reasons to blame for Labour's failure...other than the one single, obvious fact that Labour under Corbyn was an unelectable shambles.

And I'm not a racist, last time I looked. I have friends who have spoken to black people. 

What policies did Labour under Corbyn  propose that YOU disagreed with?

As an aside, during my time in the Labour Party, many years ago, I was continually told that ‘the electorate’ would not support an anti-nuclear position as it was “extreme”.

Yet the SNP, whose support has continually outstripped every other party in Scotland, is anti-nuclear.  Go figure.

Edited by Granny Danger

2 minutes ago, Savage Henry said:

I’m assuming there is some medical evidence that suggests it wouldn’t make any difference. It seems counterintuitive, but there must be a reason why almost no airports are closed.

I thought there was some financial evidence that closing airports would not good for the economy. That being more important.

It’s not just here, though. The majority of countries kept their airports open, albeit with testing in some cases. That raises another question, of course.

46 minutes ago, Perkin Flump said:

I understand all that, I have today, probably belatedly given what happened previously said what I actually think politically even though it is not a subject I really devote much time & effort to. I live in England & probably will do until I cark it so the Scottish aspect doesn't apply to me, when I lived back home I voted Labour in Council & Scottish Elections but SNP in General Elections, take from that what you will. Johnson & his merry band of vague incompetents are nowhere near extreme right wing thankfully, they're just not very good at their jobs.

My apologies. I didnae ken ye bided in England so your post makes a wee bit sense.

2 minutes ago, Savage Henry said:

It’s not just here, though. The majority of countries kept their airports open, albeit with testing in some cases. That raises another question, of course.

This comes down to the balance again between protecting the economy and good, safe, social distancing practices.

It seems bizarre to be insisting that people practice social distancing whilst effectively ignoring it at airports.

This comes down to the balance again between protecting the economy and good, safe, social distancing practices.
It seems bizarre to be insisting that people practice social distancing whilst effectively ignoring it at airports.

It does. Absolutely it does. Don’t get me wrong. But they aren’t just going to do it for the sake of doing it - they could have kept pubs open if it was pure economic profiteering. There must be some medical evidence to suggest this was a manageable outcome.

6 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

What policies did Labour under Corbyn  propose that YOU disagreed with?

As an aside, during my time in the Labour Party, many years ago, I was continually told that ‘the electorate’ would not support an anti-nuclear position as it was “extreme”.

Yet the SNP, whose support has continually outstripped every other party in Scotland, is anti-nuclear.  Go figure.

But that is in Scotland and no in the UK.

And obvious with Trident being in Scotland then we have a vested interest (sic)  in the bloody thing.

Course if Trident was situated down in Plymouth or Portsmouth I would enthusiastically approve.

In fact I would clap!

2 minutes ago, MixuFixit said:

I am glad we don’t have gun laws like the USA.  If we did then no doubt we would see hoards of Wetherspoons employees storming government offices demanding the right to return to their minimum wage employment.

24 minutes ago, Savage Henry said:

I’m assuming there is some medical evidence that suggests it wouldn’t make any difference. It seems counterintuitive, but there must be a reason why almost no airports are closed.

It would probably be safer for the citizens of Inverness to have a planeload of Germans arriving than a train load of Cockneys or Weegies. Don't see why planes should be treated any different from other public transport when you have a global pandemic and the UK being in a worse state than most countries people would be flying from, and they'd be going straight into lockdown like the rest of us anyway. 

Edited by welshbairn

Aye i get your point but if you force those viewpoints off the air like they didwith David Icke and co would that not just play right into their hands “ see the government is trying to shut us up so it must be true”

I think that’s better than some 84 year old watching that on his telly and thinking “well, that may be true”. This isn’t a debate. These people are wrong and what they are doing is literally extending the lockdown. Ordinarily I’d agree with you, but in this case (and anti-vaccination) the danger is so severe, there’s more damage in letting this nonsense disseminate that them creating martyrs of themselves.

Whose in?

CF868E6C-2858-4087-836C-444523CE75F4.thumb.jpeg.7b0e936f1680aa4ccc3dfef8a6bbe0c5.jpeg

11am Turn on Pie and Bovril
3pm First beer of the day
4pm Last of any leftover Easter Egg
6pm Pointless or some other rubbish on the iPlayer
6.30pm Fourth beer of the day
9pm Some Danish murder drama or Michael Portillo telling us how fucked up the British empire was.

I win.

26 minutes ago, Savage Henry said:

It does. Absolutely it does. Don’t get me wrong. But they aren’t just going to do it for the sake of doing it - they could have kept pubs open if it was pure economic profiteering. There must be some medical evidence to suggest this was a manageable outcome.

As far as I can tell, airports are pretty much dead  - at OHare everything's closed bar the McDicks. Mate works for the British Consulate and had to go down to Miami a few weeks back to get folks off cruise ships and back to Blighty and she reckoned there was less than 10 people on the flight.