Coronavirus (COVID-19)

It's what public health and The Science™️ demanded.

The Scottish government said its Covid rules had been "consistent with human rights principles, necessity and proportionality".

jose.png

15 hours ago, Wee Bully said:

I seem to recall that it was a “total minter” that Scotland was “just about the only” country retaining restrictions.  Was this a massive misstatement by the Main Players? 

Scotland was absolutely the last in our region of Europe to bin the mask charade, and in the last half dozen or so across the continent.

There's no doubt that Scotland's covid response was an utter minter, just incase you ever think about rewriting history.

17 hours ago, Wee Bully said:

I seem to recall that it was a “total minter” that Scotland was “just about the only” country retaining restrictions.  Was this a massive misstatement by the Main Players? 

No, that was the situation at the time and was absolutely correct. Subsequently though the UK and Scottish Governments have done well in holding firm and not going backwards like some other nations, that is fairly clear.

14 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

No idea how this woman ever gets any work done.

She seems to spend her entire day, every day, posting on Twitter.

Wouldn’t knock her for that.  Some people are the same on this forum.  Fannying around on the Internet > working.

So why do we only talk about cost-benefit of NPIs, like masks & ventilation as if they're of less value?

I'll tell you why deepti, cause going about with a mask strapped to your face at all times, keeping a distance from everyone as if they're a disease ridden leppur and never going anywhere to enjoy yourself is absolutely fucking wierd behaviour that only someone with high functioning autism would actualy think is reasonable. for everyone else it gets extremely tedious and tiresome after a while and causes longer term harm to society that is worse than the virus your so desperate to avoid in the first place.

away and sit doon

1 hour ago, Tynie Pecksniff said:

If only everywhere was as safe as churches.

Some of the shite they came out with was unbelievable, follow the science only when it suits their argument.

Of course the brilliance of covid knowing the difference between whether you were drinking a soft drink or alcohol as the SG did their best to destroy the hospitality sector.

Awful measures to achieve a frankly unachievable zero covid unless locked up for good.

Policies that damaged the mental health of people of all ages but especially the young.   

An nhs left in turmoil, businesses destroyed.

A road map out of lockdown  they just ignored when it suited them.

Draconian infrigements on peoples lives only halted when the furlough cash stopped.  We just down know blah blah blah.

A shower of imbeciles.

Thing is, I’d have forgiven them a lot of mistakes on the basis this was unprecedented and not what any politician will have worked their whole lives towards. Mistakes were inevitable and I was willing to be tolerant of that. 

It was the pig headed doubling down on all of it, the allowance of issues like masks to become ideological and tribal instead of based on fact. Decisions made on political basis masquerading as science. Targeting specific demographics just to be seen to be doing something, regardless of effectiveness or damage it caused.

Absolutely infuriating and whilst it’s all hopefully confined to the past it shouldn’t be forgotten. 

3 hours ago, Snafu said:

Ventilation.

The SG wanting to spending thousands cutting a few inches of the bottom of classroom doors. :1eye

Until it was pointed out to them that it was a fire risk.

5 hours ago, Snafu said:

Ventilation.

The SG wanting to spending thousands cutting a few inches of the bottom of classroom doors. :1eye

This was genuinely the most ill thought out idea of the entire pandemic. Fire doors (e.g. every single classroom door) have to have a threshold gap of under 10mm. Cutting the bottom off of these doors would’ve invalidated every single one of them, and would’ve cost hundreds of millions to replace if it was done across the country. Utterly hilarious stuff.

4 hours ago, Dons_1988 said:

Thing is, I’d have forgiven them a lot of mistakes on the basis this was unprecedented and not what any politician will have worked their whole lives towards. Mistakes were inevitable and I was willing to be tolerant of that. 

It was the pig headed doubling down on all of it, the allowance of issues like masks to become ideological and tribal instead of based on fact. Decisions made on political basis masquerading as science. Targeting specific demographics just to be seen to be doing something, regardless of effectiveness or damage it caused.

Absolutely infuriating and whilst it’s all hopefully confined to the past it shouldn’t be forgotten. 

This has been the biggest minter of the pandemic, it's awfy like celtic fans with the palestine flags and rangers responding with the isreali ones

21 hours ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

This was genuinely the most ill thought out idea of the entire pandemic. Fire doors (e.g. every single classroom door) have to have a threshold gap of under 10mm. Cutting the bottom off of these doors would’ve invalidated every single one of them, and would’ve cost hundreds of millions to replace if it was done across the country. Utterly hilarious stuff.

I mean, what ever happened to 'opening a window'?

21 hours ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

It was common sense though 😀

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-60246163

I know a lot of the SG's nonsense was ridiculed at the time (by the good guys, obviously; the simps not so much), but it's genuinely mindmelting to look back and consider the absolute nonsense that supposedly sensible people in positions of great responsibility spouted with such conviction.

And that's before we touch on the absolute distain anyone who dared to even hint at questioning their ideas was treated with.

Arrogant lunatics.

It's also scary to consider just how easy large swathes of the public (some of whom would have been far from thick) were willing to champion draconian things like lockdown because they happened to like the ideology of the person who is ordering them.

I suppose it shouldn't be that surprising - things like that have happened throughout history - but it's absolutely wild to see it up close in practice in 21st century Scotland.

Edited by Todd_is_God

On 07/08/2022 at 08:04, Tynie Pecksniff said:

If only everywhere was as safe as churches.

Some of the shite they came out with was unbelievable, follow the science only when it suits their argument.

Of course the brilliance of covid knowing the difference between whether you were drinking a soft drink or alcohol as the SG did their best to destroy the hospitality sector.

Awful measures to achieve a frankly unachievable zero covid unless locked up for good.

Policies that damaged the mental health of people of all ages but especially the young.   

An nhs left in turmoil, businesses destroyed.

A road map out of lockdown  they just ignored when it suited them.

Draconian infrigements on peoples lives only halted when the furlough cash stopped.  We just down know blah blah blah.

A shower of imbeciles.

You can add their hideous efforts to claw back the Covid cash via their exorbitant mark-ups on fuel prices under the veil of “the war in Ukraine”.

Edited by 8MileBU

1 hour ago, NorthernLights said:

At least one form of pandemic related inflation is in retreat - Scottish exam pass rate drops from pandemic high

"Exam pass rate" is a bit misleading given there were no exams.

Criticism of teachers overestimating their pupils' academic abilities justified then.

Edited by Todd_is_God