Coronavirus (COVID-19)

37 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

It's actually tailed off a fair bit.

Some people in the outside world have spotted it.

When your "some people" includes any elected SNP politician then it may matter.  

Looking forward to the referendum in 2029, when we finally see Covid down to single digit infections annually in Scotland and Nicola finally suggesting that the pandemic is over.

1 hour ago, Monkey Tennis said:

I think you're maybe imposing your own perception on everyone else.

Imagine actually holding this view, though. We have quite literally been unable to travel, socialise or have the same type of experience in bars and restaurants etc for two full years in Scotland. If you're someone in your mid (now late) 20s, this is soul destroying. It's what you work hard for and makes life worth living. Perhaps less so if you're a retired geriatric old duffer, right enough.

'Your own perception'. The genuine fucking audacity of it.

3 hours ago, KingswellsRed said:

How much do we reckon keeping free testing going would cost Scotland? Is it a realistic possibility like Nicola tweeted when it was first mooted free testing would end? Genuinely interested.

See to be honest I’d rather the cash went towards helping people with the cost of living going through the roof 

What good is a free testing kit if you can’t put the heating on 

2 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Really? Even @Dawson Park Boy has been away at least a couple of times, and was staggered to learn that Scottish restrictions have been pretty light touch in comparison.

As I am constantly being pulled up for minor discrepancies I better, for the record, confirm I have been abroad 3 times.

It was a bit of a hassle but certainly well worth the effort.

13 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

This is what rank entitlement looks like.

Aye Deepti, the Prime Minister should stop running the country so he can tell you how to deal with your own personal health problems.

Like he's got nothing better to do with his time.

Maybe she thinks he should design all policies around her personal illness.

The world revolves around this woman by all accounts.

So what is her actual solution then?

Another lockdown?

Close down schools? 

The only guaranteed 100% protection is to avoid human interaction and reading that reply makes me think that’s exactly what she wants 

How simply awful that her child has to remove her mask in order to do very basic things necessary to keep her alive. 

Also, surely the so-called 'expert' should know how to keep herself safe...

Edited by Michael W

17 minutes ago, Michael W said:

How simply awful that her child has to remove her mask in order to do very basic things necessary to keep her alive. 

Also, surely the so-called 'expert' should know how to keep herself safe...

Doesn’t have to remove her mask for this.  If she wasn’t a selfish wee c**t intent on killing her maw she’d be getting her nutrients through a tube like a coma patient.  

2 hours ago, Clown Job said:

So what is her actual solution then?

Another lockdown?

Close down schools? 

The only guaranteed 100% protection is to avoid human interaction and reading that reply makes me think that’s exactly what she wants 

I hope she has at least sawed off the bottom of all her doors at home

NICOLA Sturgeon is facing calls to ditch vaccine passports and remaining schools curbs ahead of a long-awaited statement on the pandemic on Tuesday.

The First Minister will update MSPs on Tuesday on her government’s plan to “live with Covid” in the coming months and has vowed a less restrictive approach.

The Lib Dems insisted the use of domestic jab passports - brought in last October for nightclubs and large events - had been a “complete failure” and should be scrapped in Ms Sturgeon’s statement.

Meanwhile, a parents’ group urged SNP ministers to take Scotland’s schoolkids back to “2019 normal” after we told how, even despite the end of masks in classrooms, schools must still abide by a 94-page virus rulebook.

SNP ministers have faced sustained criticism in recent months for their vaccine passport scheme, which requires Scots to show jabs proof or a negative test to access venues - considered intrusive and illiberal by opponents.

Deputy First Minister John Swinney admitted last year there was no evidence they’d reduced virus transmission.

Scottish Lib Dem leader Alex Cole-Hamilton said it was “time to end the illiberal assault” of vaccine passports, adding: “Scotland’s Covid ID cards have been a complete failure.

“At just the point that the government should have been reaching out to sceptical Scots and convincing them of the benefits of vaccination, they chose to use strong arm tactics instead.

“These measures have put people in fear about how their personal data could be misused, distracted efforts away from the vaccine programme and pushed people into the arms of conspiracists.”

Other curbs still in force in Scotland include face coverings in indoor public places and on public transport, self-isolation rules and hybrid working guidance.

It comes after it was announced that after the February break, secondary-age school pupils will no longer have to wear masks in classrooms after months of controversy over the requirement.

But other rules will remain like one-way systems and curbs on parents’ evenings as part of a 94-page schools rulebook.

Campaigners reacted with anger at schools being subject to red tape not applied to the rest of society.

Last night, Jo Bisset, organiser of parents’ group Us For Them Scotland, hit out: “Kids need to go back to normal immediately.

“Not a new imagined normal by those who want to keep them under miserable and meaningless restrictions – but the 2019 normal.

“We now have children who’ve been at school for two years and never fully experienced what that is supposed to be like.

“No sports days, no parents nights, no traditional celebrations at key stages of the year.

“That has caused huge social and educational damage, and it has to stop.”

A Scottish Government spokesman said: “The pandemic is not over. Measures are only kept in place for a long as they are necessary and proportionate.

“The First Minister will set out the Scottish Government’s approach for managing Covid more sustainably and less restrictively to Parliament on February 22 with an updated strategic framework.

“Covid-19 certification is a proportionate way of encouraging people to get vaccinated, and has helped businesses to remain open and to continue to trade .”

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/8462300/nicola-sturgeon-urged-ditch-curbs/

Having spent some time taking part in leisure activities this weekend I think at least some of the petty little changes are permanent. I took my boy to a soft play and they have imposed hour long pre-booked slots with everyone turfed out on the dot, as the staff sanitise all the tables. While we were packing up we were barked at by a humpty employee, who also spoke unbelievably rudely to a woman who was breastfeeding a baby (“Hurry up!”) and was therefore taking a bit longer to leave. They actually started wiping up around people.  This was a council facility, none of the private soft plays have this attitude or these restrictions. I took him swimming as well over the weekend and the first place we tried was queues out the door - I have never seen a swimming baths queued like that in my life. I know they have had some restrictions still in place and have also been hit with a lot of isolating staff so it could’ve been either of those. 

I also have a family member who was taken into hospital, for non-Covid reasons. He has dementia but his partner and de facto carer wasn’t allowed ti accompany him for any appointments or consultations. Luckily he was only in overnight so it was manageable but if he’d been in for longer it would have been very difficult for him.

People who are still terrified of Covid despite being triple jabbed need to shield for the rest of their lives.  The responsibility needs to be on them and not the rest of society.

It was a wonderful experience walking through the Eastgate shopping centre on the way to the pub on Saturday with my facemask firmly still in my jacket pocket.  No one looks twice at you.

I was at a gig on Saturday night. Like most of the gigs I'd been to the vast majority of folk, including staff weren't wearing masks.

The thing that really made me laugh though was the folk who'd not be wearing a mask in the middle of the crowd, but when they left that area to go to the bar bit towards the back which was much quieter, less people, more space etc would pop on a mask. Just seemed to lack any real logic - either wear a mask at all times or not at all.

More and more people ditching the masks, was at braehead on Saturday for the hockey and in and around the arena I’d say compliance which a few weeks ago was about 90% was down to maybe about 60 and yesterday when out with the wean at a soft play (M&Ds) I’d say it was more like 25%.