Coronavirus (COVID-19)

A good point.
Given that it's outside, crowds are not banned in England and football stadia and the darts are crammed every night, they'd be as well just letting people in now if they do turn up.
Absolutely however they won't be visible from the ground remember...[emoji28][emoji28][emoji28]

5 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

What an utterly futile piece of virtue signalling there. Everyone on that plane would have been exposed regardless of her actions.

Made sure she got her wee bit of media fame by telling all and sundry about her courageous "selfless" act too.

I absolutely loathe this aspect of modern society. 😆

Is that on this year. Can’t wait to explain how shite it was. 
I just realised that it's not on - last year's was the final show.

Thank f**k.

Normally we'll watch Jools' Hootenanny - but Ed fucking Sheeran and Lulu are the stars this year.

Hearing Lulu's fake posh accent is like hearing nails down a blackboard to me. And I can't stand Sheeran bland shite

6 hours ago, Trogdor said:

A pandemic and public health crisis should transcend politics. A view on restrictions is not left versus right wing; or SNP v Tory; or good v evil.

Its really frustrating that everything is viewed through a political prism and that a huge chunk of the populace are so tribal in their outlook they seem to have lost the ability for original thought and to think critically. 

Think the issue is that amplifying people who might be correct on this but generally horrendous gives them a credence to push insane shit down the line. Politics for Ali specifically is annoying because while he ostensibly just shares news from other outlets he does frequently add spin that is clearly either false, supposition, or pushing a specific line. The China stuff he posted for example that was shared on here the other day made claims that are almost definitely unverifiable especially when it comes from a 19 year old Tory from England. 

1 hour ago, superbigal said:

Scot gov must want max jag numbers today.
Walk in centre open for 12-15 year olds at St Andrews today.
Great get young lad his second and let's jet of to Spain half term.
What is it with public sector ?
Tea break time.
Why does everyone take them at the same time.

Ps there are no seats
04ad9435c6fd5b1c89c75f1e886bfbad.jpg

Personally, I think we should shoot every public servant that isn't working 24/7 through this.

18 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:
19 minutes ago, NotThePars said:
The signal's better in the church. Not that difficult to grasp.

The church has that rapid pay-in window too, where your wedge hits Gods account within two hours guaranteed.

A good Catholic recognising the primacy of the church as a method of communicating with God. You love to see it.

55 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

AEF2EC68-E9CF-4D8F-97B2-AA12DC4D909F.thumb.png.6d8fea907f389c6854a1bd7f19aaeaa6.png

What on earth was the point in this?! The journey had started and if positive (which she was) then everyone in the vicinity had been exposed anyway. Tough luck if you're bursting for a pish and the queue at the back is ten deep, there's a woman that's got covid and you'll just need to wait. 

Do it before the flight FFS. 

Edited by Michael W

23 minutes ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

I just realised that it's not on - last year's was the final show.

Thank f**k.

Normally we'll watch Jools' Hootenanny - but Ed fucking Sheeran and Lulu are the stars this year.

Hearing Lulu's fake posh accent is like hearing nails down a blackboard to me. And I can't stand Sheeran bland shite

I was listening to an old Richard Herring podcast the other day, where he was talking about the time he was on the same table at the Hootenanny as Mo Mowlam.

He recalled how he spent Hogmanay watching it alone, getting shitfaced in his flat, as it had been filmed in November.

9 minutes ago, Michael W said:

What on earth was the point in this?! The journey had started and if positive (which she was) then everyone in the vicinity had been exposed anyway. Tough luck if you're bursting for a pish and the queue at the back is ten deep, there's a woman that's got covid and you'll just need to wait. 

A wonderful bit of pointless theatre. 

Quite the coincidence that her tickly throat started mid flight, too. 

1 hour ago, WATTOO said:

This is across the board in current politics and indeed society and is not just a symptom of the covid situation.

In society we are currently in an era where people are being tried by who shouts the loudest on social media, time after time we're seeing people lose their jobs or being vilified without any actual evidence against them or any sort of trial / right to reply.

Yes, of course some will indeed be guilty of what they've been accused and some will deserve everything they get, however there's also lots of innocents being taken down and the "innocent until proven guilty" has gone right out the window in recent years, yet nobody is willing to stand up and challenge this for fear of being the next victim.

Without a doubt this is the worst period of history that I've lived through and while many want you to believe that society in general has become more tolerant and much more civilised, I'm afraid the opposite is true as we've become a society of stepford wives afraid to challenge anything or anyone for fear of the repercussions which I actually find very, very worrying.....

you spoke out too much mate, you're cancelled

(i fully agree by the way, living in this age is fking terrible and will only get worse until complete censorship)

Edited by red23

43 minutes ago, pozbaird said:

Ironically, while I am someone against current restrictions, all I want to do on Hogmanay anyway is to stay home. I also don’t want to socialise with any kunt. Is ‘Only an Excuse’ on? Her fae’ Capercaille warbling? Phil Cunningham & Ally Bain still with us? Jackie Bird at the Old Fruitmarket wearing a sparkly outfit that makes you think ‘FFS Jackie, get some cheeseburgers into you, you look awfy’ thin’? Is Ricky Fulton on? Dougie Vipond freezing his nuts off on Princes Street? The Red Hot Chilli Pipers in red kilts?… and no-one giving a fcuk what shite STV have on.

What do you mean no? What a shite New Year I’m about to have.

That’s my typical New Year’s Eve described to a tee. Couldn’t think of anything I’d enjoy less than wandering around outdoors with some tins of beers or exuding “faux bonhomie” to random folk who would barely say hello at any other point of time in the year. 

53 minutes ago, pozbaird said:

Ironically, while I am someone against current restrictions, all I want to do on Hogmanay anyway is to stay home. I also don’t want to socialise with any kunt. Is ‘Only an Excuse’ on? Her fae’ Capercaille warbling? Phil Cunningham & Ally Bain still with us? Jackie Bird at the Old Fruitmarket wearing a sparkly outfit that makes you think ‘FFS Jackie, get some cheeseburgers into you, you look awfy’ thin’? Is Ricky Fulton on? Dougie Vipond freezing his nuts off on Princes Street? The Red Hot Chilli Pipers in red kilts?… and no-one giving a fcuk what shite STV have on.

What do you mean no? What a shite New Year I’m about to have.

Is an interesting question as to why the live ITV/BBC hogmanay programs have to be so low key and just utterly depressing. It's so boring it sucks any fun right out of new year.

Was at a party 5 years back about 30 of us, booze, tidy birds. But the music was turned off so we could watch only an excuse and watch the TV coverage of new year. Utterly woeful.

Half the folk left before the bells and were just looking at each other saying wtf 🤣

Edited by red23

1 minute ago, red23 said:

Is an interesting question as to why the live ITV/BBC hogmanay programs have to be so low key and just utterly depressing. It's so boring it sucks any fun right out of new year.

My dear mum, who passed away a couple of years ago come February, was 89 years of age. Every single Hogmanay, she complain without fail, how tv was utterly rotten unless it was 1970s style; Alexander Brothers, Jimmy Shand, Jack McLaughlin’s Thingummayjig, Rickie Fulton. Basically the full Tartan shebang. 
As I get older, I have come round to agreeing with her, as the current offerings are dross.

35 minutes ago, Michael W said:

She got to film the experience for her tik tok account tho....

1 hour ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

And anyone who's been in Dundee City Centre at New Year knows that it really isnt fun being surrounded by gangs of drunken teens.

FTFY

37 minutes ago, red23 said:

The BBC show isn’t even live anymore. It’s recorded live, then carefully timed to start exactly half an hour before midnight. 

I’m pretty sure the STV one is the same, except it’s been like this far longer. 

This chart is mindblowing tbh.

An insane amount of tests, the average of which must be hovering around 1% of the population, per day, over a 4 month period. Essentially, we've tested the equivalent of our entire population over this period.

It's only going to go up as well - how much does each test cost to carry out?

20211231_154050.jpg

59 minutes ago, red23 said:

Was at a party 5 years back about 30 of us, booze, tidy birds. But the music was turned off so we could watch only an excuse and watch the TV coverage of new year. Utterly woeful.

Half the folk left before the bells and were just looking at each other saying wtf 🤣

In your element then.

Speciment date data is also very interesting. That the 27th and 28th are absolutely miles ahead of the preceding days I very much doubt is a coincidence.

A combination of reduced availability of tests, coupled with people not wanting to miss Christmas over a cold, has undoubtably skewed figures a bit.

Day 2 cases by specimen date are currently 10,000 lower than the previous day - adding the equivalent number (if today's results were replicated) to it would still leave it around 5,000 short of matching it.

Of course, we now need to wait five days for these figures to be updated again, so can read nothing more from it till then.

Edited by Todd_is_God

Speciment date data is also very interesting. That the 27th and 28th are absolutely miles ahead of the preceding days I very much doubt is a coincidence.
A combination of reduced availability of tests, coupled with people not wanting to miss Christmas over a cold, has undoubtably skewed figures a bit.
Day 2 cases by specimen date are currently 10,000 lower than the previous day - adding the equivalent number (if today's results were replicated) to it would still leave it around 5,000 short of matching it.
Of course, we now need to wait five days for these figures to be updated again, so can read nothing more from it till then.
Are there not issues as well in delays in figures with it being the holidays?

2 minutes ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

Are there not issues as well in delays in figures with it being the holidays?

f**k knows. How they expect to be able to "interrogate the data" when they can't even produce the data, though, I've no idea.