Coronavirus (COVID-19)

3 minutes ago, WhiteRoseKillie said:
26 minutes ago, Thorongil said:
What’s wrong with having a political agenda? Is it only you who’s allowed one?

Nothing wrong whatsoever. Neither is there any thing wrong, when someone's agenda aligns with the Tories, with calling them out as cűnts for it.

So everyone who didn’t want new restrictions to come into play today (which is aligned with what the Tories have done) is a c**t then?

Is that your position here?

Just now, Day of the Lords said:

How long are PCR test results taking to cone through? I had mine in Dundee on Xmas eve. Need confirmation that I'm positive before I bore myself shitless reading my employer's guidance in self isolation and WFH emoji58.png

Mate of mine had a PCR on the 23rd.  Still awaiting his result.

15 minutes ago, Clown Job said:

He’s not wrong 

I remember when the SG and Police would praise events such as T in the Park, despite people coming home from that in a body bags while it was full of alcohol, drug abuse and sexual assaults 

Yet at the same time they would be treating fans like thugs and bringing in that awful Offensive Behaviour at Football Act. 

Going to a football game is arguably one of the safest public events you can attend, and when you take in the number of games that are played across the senior leagues alone over a year, the police stats never really did support the treatment supporters received 

I think Celtic alone in a normal season will get over 2 million people  in footfall to the stadium, and the number of arrests are minuscule in comparison (averages something like 300 a season) 

I will still hear c***s argue that you can’t be anywhere near Glasgow City Centre when Celtic and Rangers are playing each other because it gets turned into a war zone or they’ll argue against the reintroduction of alcohol because of a game 40 years ago when football was essentially a bring your own booze event. 

Pretty much agree, although in it's later years the tide had turned against TITP as the line up changed and it started to attract a much higher number of neds, but then TRSNMT came catering to a middle class audience and normal celebratory service was resumed.

Anyway, over the last 20 years the snp and labour have tightened their grip on football and alcohol; you had the licensing law reforms of 2005 which got tougher up here at a time when england were loosening them, you then had the snp wanting to raise the off sales age limit to 21 ( their reasoning was bizare and quite condescending) and then implementing minimum pricing.

we've also seen things like the offensive behavior at football act as well as more  police involvement in fixture allocation ( the old firm can't both play in glasgow on the same day unless they play each other which is almost always a sunday lunch time)

Anecdotal evidence says that in England, going to the pub s enjoyed across a wide variety of social classes , up here going to your local is a working class thing, the middle class might go on occasional nights out but they mostly get wine from the supermarket and sit at home

Edited by effeffsee_the2nd

3 minutes ago, Day of the Lords said:

How long are PCR test results taking to cone through? I had mine in Dundee on Xmas eve. Need confirmation that I'm positive before I bore myself shitless reading my employer's guidance in self isolation and WFH emoji58.png

My flatmate sent his away Tuesday and got the results today. 

17 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

What I want is normality.  In order to achieve that it means people accepting personal responsibility and realising that their actions do not just affect themselves but affect others.  There’s a few posts today illustrating that there are still many people who see that as an alien concept.

I don’t want to be inoculated but accept it’s necessary, not just for me but for those I come into contact with.  I despise those who don’t AND their apologists.  I don’t want to wear a mask, or be denied entry to the football, but I don’t think those making the rules in Scotland have a wider agenda.

Hope that helps.

PS, it is a political issue and you’re aligning yourself with the rabid right even if you are unwilling to admit it to yourself.

None of that makes any sense really. Certainly not in the context of demonstrating how I am somehow a Tory because I think I should have been allowed to attend the football today. I mean, its not even hard for you. Your revered leaders have even TOLD YOU THEMSELVES that none of these restrictions are science or data led. 

4 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

None of that makes any sense really. Certainly not in the context of demonstrating how I am somehow a Tory because I think I should have been allowed to attend the football today. I mean, its not even hard for you. Your revered leaders have even TOLD YOU THEMSELVES that none of these restrictions are science or data led. 

I can understand how difficult it must be to accept your position aligns with the rabid tight within the Tory Party.  Denial is an understandable response.

And back to the kids logic for Granny.

Honestly, you are an absolute parody poster these days. Stick to supporting Utd mate, at least theres some credibility in your head in the sand, unwavering backing of your football team. Trying to shoe horn your own political bias into every single conversation and twisting the words of others to try and shame them into silence is fucking pathetic.

Once again, since you are hard of thinking and I might just accept that on boxing day, you're maybe still pished.

Covid response should be data driven. The pandemic now is at a different phase from the blunt force that made up our only credible response pre vaccines.

If there is no data suggesting hospitals are in danger of being overwhelmed, there should be no measures.

Further to that, each measure put in place should at least make sense, be proportionate and have a demonstrable impact.

If you can explain to me how any of that makes me right wing or a Tory, by all means crack on. Please note that "thats what the tories are saying!!!!!" Will not be accepted.

You are the sort of idiot who would call someone a Tory if they agreed with a tory that the sky was blue.

What is all the pish about being rabid right wing torry's?

I want restrictions done away with now that we're 2 years, 3 vaccines and half a dozen anti viral drugs into this shite . i'm not going to change my mind on this (what i think is a perfectly logical belief) just because I find myself agreeing with some people I wouldn't normally agree with, that's fuckin mental

johnson and rees mog like getting their hole, does that mean i should no longer enjoy getting my hole becuase rabid right wingers also do?

sit the f**k doon

19 minutes ago, GTee said:

Didn't realise the third bullet was correct 🤔. Thought it had 'mutated'.

Screenshot_2021-12-26-12-37-37-767_com.android.chrome.jpg

Think the third bullet point is dubious at best. Over time there is natural selection pressure for initially deadly viruses that have jumped to humans from other species to mutate to become more transmissible as herd immunity slowly emerges and this usually results over time in far less deadly strains that become endemic.

The second bullet point is also questionable where non-high risk groups are concerned. Boosters for healthy younger adults are probably more about politicians feeling a need to be seen to do something at this point. Giving a 25 year old in Blantyre in Scotland a third shot should not be taking priority over a 65 year old in Blantyre in Malawi receiving their first.

Just now, Snafu said:

Having half the population and their offspring all piling into the Tesco and Shopping Centers of this country at once, a day after everyone partied celebrating Christmas in the way they hadn't done in two years does not bode well for the blood pressure of the raging lesser spotted restriction loyal type.

So long as it is the essential social activity of shopping and not something so nefarious as football, drinking or the devil's music being allowed on the Sabbath then the lockdown loyal will be happy enough. 

Corbyn voted with Steve Baker on vaccine passports.
I must have missed you calling him out on it.
Mainly because you don't know me irl. I've disagreed with Jeremy on a few points over the years.
To suggest that left wing politicians voted on vaccine passports for the same reasons as the rabid wing of the Tory party displays a political naivete on a scale breathtaking even by the standards of this thread.

2 minutes ago, WhiteRoseKillie said:
44 minutes ago, Left Back said:
So everyone who didn’t want new restrictions to come into play today (which is aligned with what the Tories have done) is a c**t then?
Is that your position here?

I refer you to my reply above.

So if you want the same thing as someone else but for potentially different reasons you aren’t aligning yourself with them?

My word 😂

So if you want the same thing as someone else but for potentially different reasons you aren’t aligning yourself with them?
My word [emoji23]
Wait..... Dont tell me the "if you agree with a Tory you are a Tory" arguement is build on less than solid ground?

59 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

Careful now.  Questioning someone’s mental health on here is not a route you want to go down.

I think it’s sad to see someone hiding behind a serious issue like mental health in the way you have just done. Grow up perhaps?

1 hour ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

This is becoming a really interesting debate about how particular important events can transcend party political beliefs.

As a teenager at uni I was a member of the Scotland- USSR friendship society (communist) through ideological evangelical Christianity. There was a very charismatic Professor at Glasgow called William Barclay who influenced so many young people in their beliefs (not communism, I should add) but an alignment of Christianity to socialism in the truest sense.

Anyway, I became a Labour voter until I saw just how corrupt they had become through years of no opposition especially in the west of Scotland.

Once into the world of business and commerce I became a conservative and over time became UKIP then The Brexit Party finally moving back to the Tories.

I also donated to Wings over Scotland as I admired the journalistic prowess of Stewart Campbell although not his beliefs.

What all this is trying to say is that I reckon it’s right and proper to keep changing political alignments throughout life dependent on the circumstances. No harm at all in socialists supporting the right of the Conservative party over Covid.

Once that has passed, normal service can be resumed.

^^^Been an arsehole all his life.