Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Most people who are resistant to returning at my work are as Scott described, but I would say there are some people from all sort of backgrounds who do genuinely seem to be still worried about everything. I've heard two people (one colleague and one person who works in a different industry completely)say in the last week that they had just been on public transport for the first time in 18 months or whatever.

I think there are a lot of folk out there who have essentially mostly been able to go about a happy, content and probably to them fairly normal life over the last wee while, where their only "risk" has been a trip to the supermarket (if even that, maybe they get it delivered). They go out walks, they drive to various outdoor beauty spots (beaches, hills etc) with their picnic or maybe grab takeaway lunch from a local cafe and they go back home to their nice house with their pets and their big garden. They have maybe started having friends and family over for barbeques and/or outdoor dinners, or occasionally let people in but keep the doors open. They didn't get their week in Greece or Italy but they drove to Skye or St Andrews or something instead and had a lovely time in their cottage.

That life seems pretty boring to me but they're probably happy enough and genuinely don't understand and/or care that other people are missing out on things and therefore wonder what all the fuss is about.

Edited by craigkillie

Guest Bob Mahelp
7 minutes ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

Scottish media are useless.

Unlike the English media, you mean ? 

The hard hitting, anti-government press who won't let the Tories off the hook ?

It was almost as if the overwhelmingly right wing press aren't in bed with the Tory party, or that Johnson wasn't employed by The Telegraph, and will be again when England realise that he's a fat, cowardly, cheating, populist khunt. 

Edited by Bob Mahelp

37 minutes ago, scottsdad said:

This is absolutely the case with one colleague I am thinking of. She was teaching in the spring, and the nurseries were shut. So she came to staff meetings with her toddler who was invariably bawling his eyes out during the calls. She was saying that she couldn't offer online classes as she had childcare issues - her husband worked from home as well and they could have managed something. In the end she recorded some lectures and offered nothing more that some email correspondence. The students were naturally up in arms about this.

This same woman has just returned from a holiday to Dubai and is kicking up a fuss that teaching a class is dangerous to her. She has no teaching this semester but is planting a flag now.

Meanwhile all the other staff members in our teaching team are getting on with it.

Truncheon in the face for this woman. If you're comfortable going to Dubai and everything that entails, there's no excuse.

There will be a lot of people like this who simply don't want to go back and will need to be dragged kicking and screaming. 

54 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

Couldn't care less what you think about me but I will say this.

You should, I joined in 2010, making me a respected poster.  

At least those other guys post opinions and contribute to the subject, whether I agree or like what they say or not.

I  have and my have also, to shot down.

By comparison, I'm struggling to think of any constructive post you've made on anything.

Here's one. Yer da said naw one day....

Except for seemingly "hilarious" drug-fuelled incomprehensible guff from time to time.

The people who whine most about this thread are those who contribute least to it.

You have proved my point.

It really is very odd behaviour. Haven't you got a life to be getting on with?

Suck my dick

Thanks for the positive feedback, however few comments 

21 minutes ago, Bob Mahelp said:

Unlike the English media, you mean ? 

The hard hitting, anti-government press who won't let the Tories off the hook ?

It was almost as if the overwhelmingly right wing press aren't in bed with the Tory party, or that Johnson wasn't employed by The Telegraph, and will be again when England realise that he's a fat, cowardly, cheating, populist khunt. 

That’s nonsense.

Did you see the Andrew Neil interview with Johnston? He got done over so much he wouldn’t do another one.

Even the other day, Beth Rigby of Sky gave him a hard time.

The Guardian, Observer, Independent, Mirror, Star all give the Tories a rough ride.

Even the Daily Mail rips in to Johnston on a regular basis.

Dont know what you read?

1 minute ago, SlipperyP said:

You should, I joined in 2010, making me a respected poster.  

At least those other guys post opinions and contribute to the subject, whether I agree or like what they say or not.

I  have and my have also, to shot down.

By comparison, I'm struggling to think of any constructive post you've made on anything.

Here's one. Yer da said naw one day....

Except for seemingly "hilarious" drug-fuelled incomprehensible guff from time to time.

The people who whine most about this thread are those who contribute least to it.

You have proved my point.

Suck my dick

Can’t understand what you’re saying?

4 hours ago, SlipperyP said:

Today is the day. watches lookin the time as come

Posters to watch out on this thread...because.. they are lunatics

@Todd_is_God

@Left Back

@oaksoft

@Detournement

@Elixir

Personally  feel sorry you can PM me for more details

I have now watched that video 47 times and still dont get the relevance.......maybe i will on the next watch?

1 hour ago, BigDoddyKane said:

Whens the next announcement from NS/SG, Id be interested to hear more about the testing for people arriving to Scotland and what their final desicion is and some facts and data behind their desicion. Do the media ever question her about the obvious questions you would think to ask over their statement last week, they never seem to be answered.

Thought she was pretty transparent yesterday, decision this week.

The UK Government has also announced that for people travelling to and from England, it intends to change the requirements on taking tests before and after international travel.

Scotland - like Wales and Northern Ireland – has not yet taken a final decision on this, though we will do so within the next couple of days.

We do have real concerns about easing the requirements on tests. That’s because we still need to guard against new variants of the virus being imported into the country - and also have a way of identifying quickly if a new variant does enter the country.

Testing – both before someone’s departure to travel to Scotland, and soon after their arrival – can help us to do that. Without that, we will have much less ability to pick up the presence of new variants.

We also believe that the PCR tests – and other highly sensitive tests – currently required for testing, are more effective at guarding against the risk of new variants than alternative tests.

They are more likely to identify positive tests than most lateral flow tests – although lateral flow tests are valuable -  and PCR tests also make it easier for new variants to be sequenced and identified.

However, on the other hand in terms of this consideration, we also fully understand and agree with the desirability wherever possible of adopting a 4 nations approach to travel restrictions. And we have to recognise the reality, however difficult this may be for us, that if Scotland adopts more stringent requirements than England, then people living in Scotland, who want to go abroad, may decide to fly from airports based in England. In those circumstances, we would potentially face the economic cost of stricter travel rules, without gaining enough public health benefit to justify that cost. 

So we must weigh up the public health risks of making this change - and I will be discussing this further with the Chief Medical Officer - with the pragmatic considerations I have just frankly set out and the understandable concerns of the travel industry. It’s not an easy decision and will have implications either way.

As I indicated earlier, we will confirm our decision in the next day or so.

Edited by welshbairn

7 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Thought she was pretty transparent yesterday, decision this week.

My question for the SG if I was media is, if they plan on keeping the tests for that “identifying variant” reason that would suggest they are keeping it long term in place

Edited by BigDoddyKane

21 minutes ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

That’s nonsense.

Did you see the Andrew Neil interview with Johnston? He got done over so much he wouldn’t do another one.

Even the other day, Beth Rigby of Sky gave him a hard time.

The Guardian, Observer, Independent, Mirror, Star all give the Tories a rough ride.

Even the Daily Mail rips in to Johnston on a regular basis.

Dont know what you read?

Kuensberg was trying to give Johnson a hard time on the news last night.  He completely ignored the question and started prattling on about something else to do with his US trip.  She pressed him more than I've ever seen her attempt to press anyone from the government before and he still completely dingied her.

No idea when she suddenly grew a backbone but after years of being soft with them there's no way she can suddenly become a hard-hitting journalist and expect them to actually answer the question she's asking if they don't want to.

7 minutes ago, BigDoddyKane said:

My question for that SG if I was media is, if they plan on keeping the tests for that identifying variant reason that would suggest keeping it long term in place

My question would be, given that if you get a positive LFT result on day 2 you would need to take a PCR test to confirm it, how does that stop them sequencing for new variants?

Edited by welshbairn

1 hour ago, oaksoft said:

Stop you right there motherfucker, respect is not to the talker, but to person you talk to. carry on.... 

You talk to me, motherfucker. don't bring no chick into this.

You not reading bro.

I've got more

No shit cunto, with wanks like you and  the 5 fingers, who the f**k wants to engage. 

Suck my cock

Look up kids.

13 minutes ago, Left Back said:

Kuensberg was trying to give Johnson a hard time on the news last night.  He completely ignored the question and started prattling on about something else to do with his US trip.  She pressed him more than I've ever seen her attempt to press anyone from the government before and he still completely dingied her.

No idea when she suddenly grew a backbone but after years of being soft with them there's no way she can suddenly become a hard-hitting journalist and expect them to actually answer the question she's asking if they don't want to.

I agree he ducks the questions but they do, at least, ask the hard questions,

In Scotland everything is nice and cosy.

53 minutes ago, Michael W said:

Truncheon in the face for this woman. If you're comfortable going to Dubai and everything that entails, there's no excuse.

There will be a lot of people like this who simply don't want to go back and will need to be dragged kicking and screaming. 

Plenty like that at my work. Fatties who are content struggling out of bed in the morning, doing their shift and then just play games all night. And repeat. That is their 'life'.

Chancers.

2 minutes ago, TheScarf said:

I mean, when you're being constantly threatened with legal action over the threat of job losses, is it not about time to reign in the 'we care more than the Tories' act a bit?

Especially when they discriminate against the most vulnerable in society. The Scottish Government has no shame.

That's my middle wean been pinged as a close contact, so has to go for a test.

If she comes back positive that's me off work (again) to get another test done. That's possibly another three days off while awaiting results. I'm only just back after missing the last eight working days!

1 hour ago, Left Back said:

There's only 100 nightclubs in Scotland according to the industry body. Apart from proving how daft these measures are it also shows how much the night time economy has changed since the financial crash. Young people have been priced out of socialising. 

Edited by Detournement