Coronavirus (COVID-19)

54 minutes ago, Wildrover said:

We booked Portugal for beginning of October back in March, as far as I'm aware we haven't booked tests, I'll have to do some further investigations!!!

You have to buy a Day 2 PCR test before flying back, as you need the reference number to add to the Passenger Locator Form.  You're effectively buying a reference number.  When Day 2 comes along you get a couple of texts from the SG/Test&Protect reminding you to take the test, nothing else.  I took mine, but a mate completely forgot to do it and he heard nothing further. Nobody followed up.  It's a complete con.

Scotland - if they don't follow England - will have probably the most draconian test requirements for travel in Europe.

Just now, Burnieman said:

You have to buy a Day 2 PCR test before flying back, as you need the reference number to add to the Passenger Locator Form.  You're effectively buying a reference number.  When Day 2 comes along you get a couple of texts from the SG/Test&Protect reminding you to take the test, nothing else.  I took mine, but a mate completely forgot to do it and he heard nothing further. Nobody followed up.  It's a complete con.

Scotland - if they don't follow England - will have probably the most draconian test requirements for travel in Europe.

Sounds like a waste of time, money for nothing, if they are that bothered why don't they offer free tests on the NHS?, seems pretty pointless to me bearing in mind we are the most infected country in the world!!

14 minutes ago, BigDoddyKane said:

If thats not a fair question, then some snp supporters who think you cant question the SG need to have a word with themselves

This is the problem, Granny and some others on here are the fucking worst of the worst. The type who slap down any type debate and discussion by squealing 'echo-chamber' and all the usual pish. But they are extraordinarily selfish people hiding behind that fake veil of caring.

Bear in mind that this is a guy who freely admits on here that he voted for the UK to leave the EU. Such a dyed in the wool nationalist he is, that he actually SIDED with the Tories on the question of leaving Europe. His morals and scruples hang by most frayed of threads at the very best of times and he has the gall to brand other folk 'Trumpian'. You couldn't mark the old codger's neck with a fucking blowtorch.

The only way the SG could practically and politically get away with keeping the day 2 PCR tests would be to cap the cost at £25-30, about the same as an LFT. It would make no difference to travellers using Scottish or English airports. Don't see the point though.

2 minutes ago, djchapsticks said:

This is the problem, Granny and some others on here are the fucking worst of the worst. The type who slap down any type debate and discussion by squealing 'echo-chamber' and all the usual pish. But they are extraordinarily selfish people hiding behind that fake veil of caring.

Bear in mind that this is a guy who freely admits on here that he voted for the UK to leave the EU. Such a dyed in the wool nationalist he is, that he actually SIDED with the Tories on the question of leaving Europe. His morals and scruples hang by most frayed of threads at the very best of times and he has the gall to brand other folk 'Trumpian'. You couldn't mark the old codger's neck with a fucking blowtorch.

Danger is as clear a “Tory in left wing clothing” as you’ll get. Likes to pretend he hates the Tories, but actually votes for Brexit and supports Draconian Tory style restrictions.

35 minutes ago, williemillersmoustache said:

MAGA hats slipping all over the place here. 

Aye its really the snp sceptics who are backing the maga stuff… 

Jason Leitch is the my pillow guy of Scottish Public health, Scotland last month with Trump America levels of covid infections and backwards policies which the rest of the world can’t comprehend which are applauded and begged for by the faithful, like those creepy weans who behave badly because they like getting spanked, the only thing missing is the Make Scotland Great Again rallies. But no its definitely us.

Edited by Inanimate Carbon Rod

6 minutes ago, Wildrover said:

Sounds like a waste of time, money for nothing, if they are that bothered why don't they offer free tests on the NHS?, seems pretty pointless to me bearing in mind we are the most infected country in the world!!

I was in Austria and the LFT I had to get before getting on the plane to fly home was absolutely free, funded by the Austrian Govt and also free to visitors to help boost tourism.

The English plan seems entirely sensible to me, scrap this requirement and the Day 2 PCR, but require an LFT to replace the PCR on Day 2.  If the LFT is positive then follow the normal process of an NHS PCR test and they can genome the f*ck out of it if they want.

This absolutely smacks of the SG wanting to be different for the absolute sake of it.  Surely nobody swallows the BS of "we need to keep sequencing PCR tests for the sake of the UK and the World"........

3 minutes ago, Burnieman said:

I was in Austria and the LFT I had to get before getting on the plane to fly home was absolutely free, funded by the Austrian Govt and also free to visitors to help boost tourism.

The English plan seems entirely sensible to me, scrap this requirement and the Day 2 PCR, but require an LFT to replace the PCR on Day 2.  If the LFT is positive then follow the normal process of an NHS PCR test and they can genome the f*ck out of it if they want.

This absolutely smacks of the SG wanting to be different for the absolute sake of it.  Surely nobody swallows the BS of "we need to keep sequencing PCR tests for the sake of the UK and the World"........

Clearly judging by some of the responses on this thread some people do.  It’s a sorry state of afairs to be that blindly ideological..

6 minutes ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

Danger is as clear a “Tory in left wing clothing” as you’ll get. Likes to pretend he hates the Tories, but actually votes for Brexit and supports Draconian Tory style restrictions.

I previously voted for SNP for the past 3 or 4 elections prior to this year's (where I didn't vote at all).

I've said it at least half a dozen times over the course of this thread. Too often nowadays, having the gall to be criticising the party you voted for is seen as a massive taboo by large sections of a party's followers, this isn't limited to the SNP but they too have a large and honestly dreadful, unbearable element of it. I expect a party to be challenged most fiercely and uncomfortably by it's own members and voters. The opposition will always challenge because that's what their job is but real criticism comes for your own members.

Challenging decisions from within and disagreeing is seen by too many of these types as a bad thing whereas it is the only way to truly drive progress. This is why the SNP have floated along for several years now and lets be honest, underperforming on just about every metric, because there's too many folk from within who'll first tell them their shite doesn't smell and believe it or are too afraid to upset the apple cart as they know that the most rabid defenders of them won't have it.

Or be chasing IndyRef2 and f**k the consequences of what we have to suffer through to even get there.

1 minute ago, Left Back said:

Clearly judging by some of the responses on this thread some people do.  It’s a sorry state of afairs to be that blindly ideological..

I support Independence and vote SNP, but their attitude over the last 18 months to foreign travel absolutely stinks.  Is there nobody in the SG cabinet to challenge these decisions or are they all nodding dogs?

1 minute ago, Burnieman said:

I support Independence and vote SNP, but their attitude over the last 18 months to foreign travel absolutely stinks.  Is there nobody in the SG cabinet to challenge these decisions or are they all nodding dogs?

I fully support independence and genuinely still hold out some hope that it happens in my lifetime.

At this point in time, I would still vote yes but with definite reservations and worries. Far more so than in 2014 when I voted yes with total conviction in BOTH Independence and the party who would be tasked with delivering it.

1 minute ago, djchapsticks said:

I fully support independence and genuinely still hold out some hope that it happens in my lifetime.

At this point in time, I would still vote yes but with definite reservations and worries. Far more so than in 2014 when I voted yes with total conviction in BOTH Independence and the party who would be tasked with delivering it.

I'm just concerned at the lack of quality in Scottish political circles, I mean most of the SG cabinet are just useless nodding dogs, Swinney FFS.

Somebody should be challenging the views of Leitch & Co from within Govt, I'm not sure anyone does.  Christ even the Tory slimeballs in London have dissenters from within.

2 hours ago, williemillersmoustache said:

I realise this thread contains strong opinions but are we really still at the stage of putting the opinions of hairdresser's and gym owners on the same page as people with qualifications? 

I see the answer is sadly yes. 

All Linda Bauld can offer advice on is public health. There are other considerations, like ones to do with the economy, that she is far less qualified on that need to be heard too.

21 minutes ago, djchapsticks said:

This is exactly where I am. Pre-Covid I was so set on independence and would happily have had the SNP in charge of an independent Scotland. Now I’m still in favour of yes, but I’m frankly terrified of the idea of the current SG having more power than they currently do, as it’s been clear over the last 18 months that if they were capable of doing it we’d have had some of the most draconian measures in Europe. We’ve had to actually rely on the Tories to force their hand on a lot of things, which has made me feel incredibly uncomfortable. I now don’t want to vote for anyone, as they’re all both incompetent and not in alignment with my views.

Independence supporters always come out with ‘once we’re independent you can vote for anyone so the SNP could get voted out’ but the reality is that their supporters are large enough in numbers that they would undoubtedly be in charge, which is actually turning me away from it altogether.

Shite state of affairs.

This is exactly where I am. Pre-Covid I was so set on independence and would happily have had the SNP in charge of an independent Scotland. Now I’m still in favour of yes, but I’m frankly terrified of the idea of the current SG having more power than they currently do, as it’s been clear over the last 18 months that if they were capable of doing it we’d have had some of the most draconian measures in Europe. We’ve had to actually rely on the Tories to force their hand on a lot of things, which has made me feel incredibly uncomfortable. I now don’t want to vote for anyone, as they’re all both incompetent and not in alignment with my views.
Independence supporters always come out with ‘once we’re independent you can vote for anyone so the SNP could get voted out’ but the reality is that their supporters are large enough in numbers that they would undoubtedly be in charge, which is actually turning me away from it altogether.
Shite state of affairs.
Thats you putting your political leanings aside in the biggest crisis you have ever known, in favour of trying to get your life back. I agree its umcomfortable to agree with the Tories because I fucking hate them, but I dont have to like them to look at this issue and see right through what the SNP are doing and how damaging it is. The people who are defending literally everything they do on this thread are a good window into how you end up if you are pathologically incapable of ever putting party allegiance to one side.

55 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Aye its really the snp sceptics who are backing the maga stuff… 

Jason Leitch is the my pillow guy of Scottish Public health, Scotland last month with Trump America levels of covid infections and backwards policies which the rest of the world can’t comprehend which are applauded and begged for by the faithful, like those creepy weans who behave badly because they like getting spanked, the only thing missing is the Make Scotland Great Again rallies. But no its definitely us.

What i can't fucking stand and this also is why the Trump/Brexit comparisons are absolutely spot on is the undermining of bone fide, quantifiable, internationally recognised and often world leading authority to suit narrow and utterly selfish ends. 

Folks like Leitch and Bauld have worked their fucking arses off to get to where they are and are demonstrably very very very smart. Their walls are plastered with bits of paper with "x is a very very smart c**t, lots of love, Harvard" but, for various reasons, it's not convenient for some to hear their opinions and ignore the weight that they carry versus the comparative man on the street. And that tallies absolutely with the MAGA/Vote Leave experience.

Far be it from me to quote Oaksoft but you boys are literally taking your cues from gold-plated, copper-bottomed, diamond-encrusted, hazard-c***s like Steve Baker. 

6022e8a853fa5.image-removebg-preview (2) (1).png

9 minutes ago, Stellaboz said:

I'm not so sure about how strong the SNP would be post indy. They're a means to an end for a lot of people I know. 

This is the dream scenario where independence happens and the SNP cease to exist instantly and we can hopefully get a proper government in, but I'm not as confident as you.

40 minutes ago, sparky88 said:

All Linda Bauld can offer advice on is public health. There are other considerations, like ones to do with the economy, that she is far less qualified on that need to be heard too.

Aye, but she's just about as qualified to speak on the economy as that dick who runs the garage, for example and you can't compare independent academic expertise with individual business owners.

Edited by williemillersmoustache

1 minute ago, williemillersmoustache said:

What i can't fucking stand and this also is why the Trump/Brexit comparisons are absolutely spot on is the undermining of bone fide, quantifiable, internationally recognised and often world leading authority to suit narrow and utterly selfish ends. 

Folks like Leitch and Bauld have worked their fucking arses off to get to where they are and are demonstrably very very very smart. Their walls are plastered with bits of paper with "x is a very very smart c**t, lots of love, Harvard" but, for various reasons, it's not convenient for some to hear their opinions and ignore the weight that they carry versus the comparative man on the street. And that tallies absolutely with the MAGA/Vote Leave experience.

Far be it from me to quote Oaksoft but you boys are literally taking your cues from gold-plated, copper-bottomed, diamond-encrusted, hazard-c***s like Steve Baker. 

6022e8a853fa5.image-removebg-preview (2) (1).png

Those guys in the pics look very much like yer average snp march participants with different flegs.

So tell me then, for Jason Leitch and his fancy Harvard degrees, why has he been so wrong on almost everything? Why did Scotland go full blown safety theatre and end up with the highest case rate in the entire world? Plenty equally qualified folks informing other governments to the contrary and getting better results all around the world. People like you should go and speak to families failed by policies informed by Linda Bauld and Jason Leitch et al and just explain to them, sorry your family member died, but its ok because he’s got a degree from Harvard. 

You’re clearly trolling. Fucking dont dare have an opinion to the contrary because some c**t’s been to Harvard.

How much of the snp coolaid have you been drinking?